We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance and Old World Charm - LOVED RONDA!!!!”
Review of Hotel Montelirio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Montelirio
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed for one romantic night at this charming historic hotel in the heart of Ronda, Spain. If you are searching for a room with a priceless view that goes on forever overlooking the gorge with inspiring romantic ambiance and a truly European old world charm, then this hotel is for you. The hotel is a boutique hotel in a historic mansion. The rooms are large with balconies that allow the Mediterranean air to surround you. Ronda is a beautiful medieval “white” village and should not be missed. The dinner is truly flavorful and at a good price with a million dollar view of the gorge. The roasted lamb – delicious!

Room Tip: Pay for the balacony it is truly worth the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 536 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2011

Hotel with one of the best views over the Puente Nuevo of Ronda and to the sierra. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. After a rainy afternoon walk we enjoyed the possibility of drying of humid clothes with the electrical towel heater in the Bathroom. Our car was parked by the hotel employees in a secured and closed garage. Furniture and decoration of the hotel are also great. Free Internet.

Room Tip: ask for a room with view on the Puente Nuevo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger1Winterthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Very good looking rooms with old, stylish furniture. Very clean.
Ideal location in center. Great views.

Be careful - Ronda has small roads, and it can be difficult to get to the hotel. But once we got there, they took care of everything and even parked our car.

We took breakfast to enjoy the great view from the hotel - choice of breakfast was medium breadth, but what was there was mostly great.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reise21at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stumbled upon this hotel whilst passing and were far from disappointed.
The welcome was warm and we were offered a beautiful room with a stunning view across the bridge at Ronda.
The hotel itself has an air of serenity about it, tastefully decorated and immaculately clean.
We didn't eat in the restaurant, but the buffet breakfast was good with fast and friendly service and again - what a view to sit and look out at!
We checked in out of season, so the rate was an absolute bargain.
The only reservation I would have is that all of the halls and rooms have tiled floors, so if there is someone above you in high heels it can be a little noisy, but all in all, I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanomog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I've noticed that the reviews of this hotel are somewhat mixed, although its ranking has risen from #11 (May) to #9 currently (November). My experience at the hotel was excellent (I can't imagine that there are 8 better values in Ronda than Montelirio).

At the desk, we were greeted by Rocio, very friendly and personable, who scurried up the street ahead of us to show us where to park our car (small garage) -- very convenient, albeit pricey. When you go to Andalusia in the summer (100+ degrees F), a pool is always a welcome sight -- Yes, it is tiny, but it feels just as refreshing as a large one when you jump in -- although, as noted previously, the water is COLD even in the summer.

We thought that the hotel had nice rooms and an overall nice ambiance, especially the restaurant. And the deck by the pool has a magnificent view of "the bridge" (there can't be a better view in all of Ronda). Ronda also surprised us with a nice park, a very nice long pedestrian shopping area and a nice plaza with abundant restaurants. And the hotel is within easy walking distance of all of these sightseeing areas, of course including "the bridge."

Since Ronda is a medium sized city, the hotel can be a little difficult to find; however since it's virtually adjacent to "the bridge," it's easy to ask directions to that spot which everyone knows, and, once you get there, any vendor can tell you where the hotel is -- about 100 meters away.

All in all, if I were to go back to Ronda, I wouldn't bother to look for another hotel. Montelirio was just what we were looking for.

Hi Rocio -- if you're still there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJTCHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We were not sure exactly what to expect when we booked this hotel on-line, but could not have been more pleasantly surprised. The receptionist when we arrived, Angela, was extremely pleasant and helpful as was the rest of the staff throughout our stay. We stayed two nights, one night in the Marbella junior suite and the next night in the Granada junior suite. Both were beautifully and individually decorated and both had stunning views over the gorge which is the main reason to visit Ronda. The hotel has a nice restaurant (also with beautiful views) and bar as well as a small pool which would be nice in warm weather. Hiking into the gorge is easier than it looks and well worth the effort.
This hotel turned out to be one of the most pleasant surprises of our three week stay in Spain

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roachnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Small hotel but staff are excellent.
Rooms are nicely furnished. View from restaurant of bridge and surrounding countryside is amazing.
Pool is very small = refreshing plunge pool but not suitable for children
Parking in local car park is expensive but in the old part of city street space is at a premium and therefore you have to expect to pay for parking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rigsy0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,917 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#5 of 40 in Ronda
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#10 of 40 in Ronda
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montelirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montelirio

Address: Calle Tenorio 8, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#6 Family Hotel in Ronda
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: $110 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montelirio 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Montelirio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelirio Hotel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing