We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm little boutique hotel with stunning gardens and view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Calm little boutique hotel with stunning gardens and view”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had just flown in from a week in frenetic Morocco and fell in love with this charming hotel. Be sure to get a room on the first floor with a private terrace. You will be glad you did. One night was not enough and we will be sure to visit again. Rooms were a tad small but made up for in charm and location. The owners are on site and could not be more accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jennie0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    169
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
90
540
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

A chance finding thanks to Tripadvisor ! our overnight stay in Ronda couldn't have been more perfect. Beautiful room with a lovely terrace, pretty gardens with a fountain and pool, looking out over the countryside. The drive up to Ronda is winding and can be tiring so to arrive here, and sit out in the sunshine with a glass of wine and a light snack of cheese, bread, tomatoes and grapes was heavenly. We ventured out for an evening stroll and for a meal - it is quite a steep walk up into the town but its not far. The honesty bar on our return was a nice touch before we retired to bed and the breakfast out on the terrace the next morning was wonderful - fresh fruits and freshly squeezed orange juice , bread, cheese (meat also available), pastries , coffee ... When I'm at home and need to escape from the stresses and strain, and the wind and the rain, I will think of my time here and smile ...

Room Tip: room 2 was lovely - ground floor with a terrace out into the courtyard garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane65_and_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I first stayed in this hotel in 2001 with my family and remember it being really lovely, so I was very pleased to come back and see that it has not changed. I stayed for 2 nights with my partner and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. The hotel has really beautiful gardens with views over the countryside. It is located at the bottom of the hill about 10 minutes walk from the town centre. The walk up to the town is easily manageable for an able-bodied person and offers some of the best views in Ronda, over the gorge. I highly recommend it and hope to visit again in the future.

Me quedé en este hotel por la primera vez en 2001 con mi familia y recuerdo que era un lugar encantador, así que me alegró mucho visitarlo de nuevo y ver que nada ha cambiado. Me quedé por 2 noches con mi pareja y realmente disfrutamos de nuestra estancia en el hotel. Los empleados/dueño del hotel eran simpáticos y nos recomendaron un buen restaurante en el pueblo. La habitación era limpia y cómoda y el desayuno delicioso. Tiene jardines muy lindos con vistas del paisaje. Está situado en la parte baja del pueblo así que hay que caminar por unas calles muy inclinadas para llegar al centro histórico. Esto es fácil para una persona no discapacitada y el camino ofrece vistas muy espectaculares del cañón. Lo recomendamos mucho y esperamos volver en el futuro.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardconnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Situated at the bottom of the hill on the edge of the old town looking out to farmlands, this is the perfect place to relax after a big day of exploring Ronda. It's an easy 10 minute walk up into town. Lots of character, clean and a great breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is situated in a calm, secluded setting, near the entrance to the Banos Arabes (Arab Baths). Outside we could see horses, occasional sheep and goats, and local residents walking their dogs. The residents across from the hotel also had a rooster, adding to the bucolic setting. Our reception was welcoming, with helpful information being given. Breakfast was sufficient and served to people staying at the hotel inside the dining area or outside in a courtyard overlooking the property. There's also a pleasant inside sitting area on the ground floor of the hotel.

Our room was one of the smaller rooms on the second floor. Although space was limited, there was sufficient shelf space, closet space, and hooks to put everything in its place comfortably. Because we were in Ronda in April, our preference would have been to sleep part of the night with the windows open.

However, we did not do so because our particular room was situated overlooking the street, just above the sewer tie-in, and less than pleasant odors wafted into our room. Even with the windows closed and the door shut, the limited sound proofing in the room meant we could hear, sometimes distinctly, conversations taking place at street level--and even downstairs at the hotel. We did not think to ask for another room but realized we could have, since at least two rooms were unoccupied during the time of our stay.

Finally, in the rush to get everything packed on the day we left, we spilled some drinking water on the tile floor. When we went to wipe it up, an enormous amount of dirt was on the paper towel we were wiping with. We used about four paper towels before the amount of dirt and grime taken up was minimal. We then noticed a corner of the room had accumulated dust and dirt, making us wonder exactly how often the floors were cleaned. We probably would have given this hotel a higher rating were it not for the condition of the floors.

Room Tip: If you're not satisfied with your room, definitely ask to be moved to another, especially when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junio, Inhaber at Hotel Alavera de los Banos, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Nevertheless we would like to emphasize a couple of clarifications. Our house is located away from the tourist hustle and bustle on the edge of the old town. Better said, almost in the country. You can not say that it is too loud, apart from a few nocturnal voices. Also inside the hotel, it is never noisy at night. Also our guests are very cultured and civilized people. No fiestas, no loud music.
Of course, we are always willing to offer our guests changing rooms whenever it is possible. But please understand that we should know this in advance.

As for the allegedly dirty floor : This is an old terracotta floor. It needs every few months a special treatment with products which are not poisonous and which includes special natural pigments. We briefly applied prior to your arrival this treatment in your room. Unfortunately, we have disregarded the prescribed drying time. When humidifying the soil it may happen that the product dissolves and this leads to a discoloration. We regret this incident and will make sure that this does not happen again in the future.

To put it bluntly : It was not a question of dirt! We pay great attention to the cleanliness of our rooms and had no complaints about it till today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed two nights with friends, this is a great location and a very interesting building, immaculately restored, great gardens and rooms. There is an honour bar, chairs outside and a great sitting area inside. Wonderful breakfasts, some parking, great view and a 10 plus minute steep walk into to town. You are in the countryside, very peaceful yet within easy reach of all the sites if you don't mind the walk. The staff couldn't be more helpful it's a very homely welcome.

Get clear directions, it may not come up on your GPS so ask the hotel for pointers!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junio, Inhaber at Hotel Alavera de los Banos, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks ever so much for your kind and favourable observations on our hotel. We would also like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your remarks. It is appreciated. It gives us
further encouragement to make each customer´s stay as comfortable, happy and memorable as we can. We look forward to your coming back.
Best regards. Christian and Inmaculada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough nice things about Alavera de los baños - but I'll try! The location is perfect, next to the Arab Baths on a very quiet cobbled street, and a short climb up some old steps to get to the town centre. Parking was easy and free. Christian and Inma were very friendly and helpful and speak many languages. The interior decor was awesome - Morroccon themed, very clean and cosy with gentle Flamenco music in the background. The gardens and pool were lovely too and looked out into fields of horses! Room was very charming (check out the photos) and the honesty bar was a nice touch. We had a few lovely glasses of Ronda wine.

I have never considered returning to the same town or hotel after a holiday, but we loved Ronda and Alavera de los Baños so much that we will definitely return!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Owain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 40 in Ronda
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 40 in Ronda
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,807 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alavera de los Banos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alavera de los Banos

Property: Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Address: Calle Molino de Alarcon S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ronda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alavera de los Banos 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medieval jewry of Ronda "Alavera de los Banos" is a small family business offering affordable accommodation.Alavera's eleven rooms are all fitted with central heating and en suite bathrooms, and have superb views of the Serrania de Ronda and the city walls surrounding Ronda. At the back of the hotel is a split-level garden complete with swimming pool and garden furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alavera de los Banos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alavera De Los Banos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing