We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very peaaceful lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very peaaceful lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

A piece of peace and glorious setting, we really enjoyed our stayed. Facilities were excellent,our hosts charming and friendly. Breakfast was to die for. It has its own lovingly created garden. The lobby and the sitting area were wonderful. Alavera de los Banos offers seclusion and only ten minutes walking from the historic city centre. We definetely stay again if were back in Ronda.
Gilbert

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilbertVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    159
    28
    12
    6
See reviews for
73
486
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hotel is tucked away below the old city, next to the Arab baths. From the windows of my bedroom, and from the secluded little patio outside to the side of the pool, I could see horses grazing nearby. Very calm and peaceful. There was also a nice common area, with couches and chairs and books (and interesting guests). The owners were lovely and helpful, and I liked the concept of the "honesty bar" in the evenings. Also, the included "continental plus" breakfast was delicious (bread that I think was homemade!, along with cheese, ham, fruit, juice, coffee...) The room, on the second floor, was good sized with two twin beds even though I was a solo traveler, and would have been fine for two people. The bathroom was a little small, as others have noted. It was cool weather when I was there, so there was no need for air conditioning. Not a "budget" hotel, but a great respite during a busy trip to Spain!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karynr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We loved our stay at Alavera de los Banos and would stay again if were back in Ronda. The hotel is tucked away where the river exits the gorge and for us the location was great because it's on a very quiet road but is just a short (albeit steep) walk to the centre of town.The building is adjacent to the Arab Baths (well worth a visit) and has all the same charm.
As the weather was still warm, the very nice breakfast was served on the terrace which is lovely, overlooking some horse gallops and a small valley. We opted to upgrade to one of the rooms with its own terrace and enjoyed a couple of pre-dinner 'snifters' on it. The hotel runs an honesty bar, so although small, the bar is effectively always open! The bed was very comfortable and wi-fi worked well in our room - good enough to Skype home.
The room itself was comfortable and clean. As some reviewers have noted the en-suite bathrooms are small but that they were able to fit them into an old building was an achievement. Christian and his team were all very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Pay the small upgrade for a room with a private terrace. If the weather is nice its a great place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExPunkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We are so glad we found this listing in the internet. The lodging has great atmosphere. Beautifully decorated. Acess to and from the old town is by a series of steps but not a difficult climb. Breakfast is served in the main room or in the garden area and it is excellent, including fresh juice, fruits and home made breads. Beautiful mini garden areas with soothing waterfall and a small pool are perfect to relax after a day of hiking aroung town. The owners and rest of the staff are very friendly and helpful. We would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMC828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Room was very small, in particular the bathroom which was tiny. Plumbing was noisy so you could hear everything going on in the bathroom above and to the side. Kept me awake and then woke me up first thing so I started the day shattered.

The location is nice, the decor of the breakfast area is charming and the staff friendly. Like the honesty bar concept. The pool is welcome but tiny. There is no a/c.

Overall the quality of the facilities here do not justify the price they charge. Sure I like the Moroccan decor but I'd prefer some sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midlanderabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Thoroughly lost on trying to find our hotel in ronda we found this hotel where the lovely girl in charge fed, watered us and put us on the right road which we arrived in within 15 mins! It had a lovely garden and we will remember if if we go back; sorry we didn't get her name but thank u!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lovely Lovely Hotel.

The pool outside is a trough but it fits in beautifully with the charm of the hotel.

Horse farms at the back. parking was easy.

The hotel was well located. Cute honesty bar concept at night. Lovely breakfast in the patio.

Really cute definitely recomended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumbaiK-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alavera de los Banos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alavera de los Banos

Property: Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Address: Calle Molino de Alarcon S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ronda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alavera de los Banos 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medieval jewry of Ronda "Alavera de los Banos" is a small family business offering affordable accommodation.Alavera's eleven rooms are all fitted with central heating and en suite bathrooms, and have superb views of the Serrania de Ronda and the city walls surrounding Ronda. At the back of the hotel is a split-level garden complete with swimming pool and garden furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alavera de los Banos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alavera De Los Banos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing