We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Charm and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Full of Charm and a great location”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We loved our stay at Alavera de los Banos and would stay again if were back in Ronda. The hotel is tucked away where the river exits the gorge and for us the location was great because it's on a very quiet road but is just a short (albeit steep) walk to the centre of town.The building is adjacent to the Arab Baths (well worth a visit) and has all the same charm.
As the weather was still warm, the very nice breakfast was served on the terrace which is lovely, overlooking some horse gallops and a small valley. We opted to upgrade to one of the rooms with its own terrace and enjoyed a couple of pre-dinner 'snifters' on it. The hotel runs an honesty bar, so although small, the bar is effectively always open! The bed was very comfortable and wi-fi worked well in our room - good enough to Skype home.
The room itself was comfortable and clean. As some reviewers have noted the en-suite bathrooms are small but that they were able to fit them into an old building was an achievement. Christian and his team were all very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Pay the small upgrade for a room with a private terrace. If the weather is nice its a great place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExPunkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    169
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
90
540
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We are so glad we found this listing in the internet. The lodging has great atmosphere. Beautifully decorated. Acess to and from the old town is by a series of steps but not a difficult climb. Breakfast is served in the main room or in the garden area and it is excellent, including fresh juice, fruits and home made breads. Beautiful mini garden areas with soothing waterfall and a small pool are perfect to relax after a day of hiking aroung town. The owners and rest of the staff are very friendly and helpful. We would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMC828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Room was very small, in particular the bathroom which was tiny. Plumbing was noisy so you could hear everything going on in the bathroom above and to the side. Kept me awake and then woke me up first thing so I started the day shattered.

The location is nice, the decor of the breakfast area is charming and the staff friendly. Like the honesty bar concept. The pool is welcome but tiny. There is no a/c.

Overall the quality of the facilities here do not justify the price they charge. Sure I like the Moroccan decor but I'd prefer some sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midlanderabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Thoroughly lost on trying to find our hotel in ronda we found this hotel where the lovely girl in charge fed, watered us and put us on the right road which we arrived in within 15 mins! It had a lovely garden and we will remember if if we go back; sorry we didn't get her name but thank u!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lovely Lovely Hotel.

The pool outside is a trough but it fits in beautifully with the charm of the hotel.

Horse farms at the back. parking was easy.

The hotel was well located. Cute honesty bar concept at night. Lovely breakfast in the patio.

Really cute definitely recomended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumbaiK-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel in a good location in Ronda. There is parking right outside the hotel and all of the sights are within walking distance. We enjoyed our two night stay here. We arrived late and the staff were really helpful. Nice room. The lobby, sitting area and terrace are well decorated and very comfortable. Since we were traveling in August wished there was AC, but the ceiling fan was good and I'm sure this wouldn't be an issue in any other month of the year. Gardens are lovely and it was really nice to have a pool to cool off in at the end of the day. Breakfast was the best we had during our 17 day trip. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ronda.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a really lovely hotel - lovely communal areas, lovely people, pleasant location. So much so I took photographs of a lot of the features, and yet.....so many things conspire to make it not really worth the price. Firstly our bathroom was too small for comfort (don't you just hate it when the shower curtain clings to your back) the pool looked a little unwelcoming, like it could do with a replacement filter, and the walk up to Ronda (admittedly in August!) is a killer. The absence of air conditioning is another reason for the average score when you account for the price. Overall a pleasant experience, could have been so much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 40 in Ronda
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 40 in Ronda
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,808 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alavera de los Banos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alavera de los Banos

Property: Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Address: Calle Molino de Alarcon S/N, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ronda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alavera de los Banos 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medieval jewry of Ronda "Alavera de los Banos" is a small family business offering affordable accommodation.Alavera's eleven rooms are all fitted with central heating and en suite bathrooms, and have superb views of the Serrania de Ronda and the city walls surrounding Ronda. At the back of the hotel is a split-level garden complete with swimming pool and garden furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alavera de los Banos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alavera De Los Banos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing