We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again perfecto ”
Review of De Locos Tapas

De Locos Tapas
Ranked #4 of 279 Restaurants in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Spanish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Small tapas restaurant with a nice atmosphere. And modern tapas fusion andalusian, basque, with a nice prices. English speaking and different tapas all days. Full Sunday and Monday lunch closed. Not bar service. Open 1 pm to 4 pm for lunch and 7:30 pm to 11 pm.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Once again perfecto ”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Not our first time here and won't be our last .. Great service great food ... Don't change a thing and now you can book it makes it even better .. Keep it up de loco .. Maybe you should open de loco tapas in Glasgow ....

Helpful?
2 Thank 180Jonnym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo J, Propietario at De Locos Tapas, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you once again, and you know you´ll have here always a friends and a house. Hope you ever feel the same visiting us.
De locos team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,378
    138
    36
    26
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This restaurant genuinely does elevate Tapas to a new level”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I think that tapas is overrated and has been elevated to a cuisine way beyond what was originally provided but this restaurant does provide a new level of tapas that is both interesting and well cooked. My wife and I sampled a number of Tapas on the terrace on a warm summers evening in Ronda and has a wonderful experience with mine-host - more Scottish than me!
We did enjoy all the tapas but particularly like the beef. Only minor criticism in the overuse of the Parmesan ice cream - with the carpaccio it worked - but not with the risotto. When you have to explain - 'dont try them together' - it is because they are not meant to be together!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerry2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Add this to your culinary bucket list!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited here twice on our holiday and each time were treated to stunningly delicious tapas! This is no ordinary tapas restaurant. The quality of the food is second to none and on par with any good fine dining restaurant! That said do not expect a formal dining evening! The owner/chef takes you through each dish on his colourful menu and explains each plate with passion and enthusiasm. There are too many outstanding dishes to mention here but a few favourites were the Tuna Ta Taki - totally delicious with a killer wasabi! Carpaccio with Parmesan ice cream - melt in the mouth! Toast with foie gras - exquisite and the scallop wrapped in pancetta with Parmesan sauce which was also amazing! Each dish is presented in a innovative and colourful way and all taste as good as they look! This is a dining experience that you will remember for some time!

Helpful?
1 Thank ixyplixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Attentive, exclusive, delicious”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I see this venue has received some polarising reviews which is to be expected for somewhere with a no 1 ranking.
Location: let google maps guide you to the main square, then ignore the rest or you'll be wandering all day. Tapas is through the old archway, to your right.
Setting: We went for lunch and there were only 6 tables outside. My partner and I took a lazy 2 hours so if they appear to be full I suggest chin up and go elsewhere. Those attempting to go inside and wait at the bar were told not to - I think this is ideal - leaving those seated to take their time, and managing the expectations of those hoping for a table.
Staff: The owner is lovely. He spoke to us in English and took time to explain the entire menu. He serves all the tables himself and does so wonderfully.
Menu: I'm no tapas expert, but I felt these were a modern/inventive interpretation of what I've experienced so far. We had gazpacho, asparagus with Parmesan sauce, chicken satay, scallops, mini burger, roast beef, duck toast and blank pudding toast, followed by chocolate truffle (don't be frightened by the poppy seed coating) and blackberries with white chocolate.
Company: The street has a resident cat called John Wayne. John will quietly sit beside you with his sleepy azure eyes. I was greedy and gave him nothing, but for the price of Tapas, you could afford to by him a full meal and still feel you'd got a bargain. Deign trot recommended. Ariba!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“As good as ever and now you can book!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

First trip to de locos this year - we took a foodie friend with us and he loved it as much as we do. Bookings are now accepted which is great when you have a long drive to get there. We worked our way through most of the menu in a couple of rounds of food and it was as delicious as before. Value for money is still outstanding, given the quality and presentation of every single dish. Guillermo continues to be a fantastic, fun host and his enthusiasm for his food never dims. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jsmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Locos Tapas also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to De Locos Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing