We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent reason to visit Ronda”
Review of De Locos Tapas

De Locos Tapas
Ranked #4 of 274 Restaurants in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Spanish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Small tapas restaurant with a nice atmosphere. And modern tapas fusion andalusian, basque, with a nice prices. English speaking and different tapas all days. Full Sunday and Monday lunch closed. Not bar service. Open 1 pm to 4 pm for lunch and 7:30 pm to 11 pm.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“Excellent reason to visit Ronda”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This is indeed a very special "restaurant"; worthwile any trip to Ronda. Don't expect the usual tapas here though, instead expect delicious little gems on your plate and a cook and staff that are sharing their passion for food.

The small tapas are not very expensive each, but if you are hungry and like to get a large plate for a reasonable price or if you are not open for a different experience of unusual food, don't go there. Please note also that you cannot make any reservations and that there are no more than 4 tables. Depending on the time of the year and the time of the day you may have to wait a while.

As always not each tapa has been equally specially, but overall ist has been a perfect end-of-holiday dinner. We will definitely come back the next time we will be in Ronda.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,367
    138
    34
    25
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like ’Selfridges sale’ – get there early or you’ll lose out!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I would happily starve myself for a week, go to the best tapas restaurant in the world, order every tapas from the hand written menu and then do it all over again. Thinking about this four table little restaurant will put a smile on my face forever.

The quality of the food is Michelin star, service wonderful and the price unbelievable. If you do one thing in Ronda, get a table at de Locos tapas.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab-u-lous”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Four of us were visiting Ronda and wanted to have tapas for lunch. We had looked on TA before we got there for ideas as to where to go and found that De Locos was number 1 - There were only 2 reviews though.

We eventually found the restaurant about 5minutes walk over the bridge. It is a very small place with only the bar/cooking area and seating for about 4people downstairs. We hadn't booked and were told that they were full but that we could go for a drink next door and they would tell us when there was space. We had a beer next door and were called after about half an hour. We had to go upstairs where there are just 4 tables for 4 people. The menu consists of about 25 different tapas -all quite different from the usual selection. We chose about 12 different ones to share. They were brought to the table mostly one at a time and were each one a feast for the senses. They were on the whole served on a slate plate, simply but beautifully garnished. Many with a shot glass of what can only be described as savoury ice cream. One was Parmesan flavoured, one tomato and basil a one mushroom. Many of the dishes were flavoured with truffle oil or sitting on truffle mashed potato. All of the tapas were really tasty and unusual. One or two were not to my taste - I don't like strong cheese which some of the dishes had in them, but my husband thought it was great.

We had 4 glasses of wine, 2 glasses of sangria and one beer as well as the food and the bill was just under 50 euros! A feast indeed.

If in Ronda and you can find it, then I highly recommend this restaurant.

The restaurant has no bar as the "bar" is the cooking area, so the rating below is simply because it cannot be left blank. Also, I think that there may be outdoor seating in the summer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful experience! It was well worth the effort to get a table, and on the third go we had the most talked about meal ever. The standard is excellent, and well presented, and the atmosphere warm and friendly. Diners end up talking to one another as we tried out the different tapas. Price is very reasonable too. Looking forward to going again when we retirn next year. If you can't get in, there are plenty of other places nearby, so not a wasted journey. But if you are lucky enough to get one of the 4 tables, you will have an unforgettable meal!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rendell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“That's what I call tapas”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Really impressed with the tapas served here could not get enough even my 5 year old daughter that is fussy with her food loved it, will come back here every time I am in the area keep it up

From Paul

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Locos Tapas also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to De Locos Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing