We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern take on tapas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Locos Tapas

De Locos Tapas
Ranked #4 of 265 Restaurants in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Small tapas restaurant with a nice atmosphere. And modern tapas fusion andalusian, basque, with a nice prices. English speaking and different tapas all days. Full Sunday and Monday lunch closed. Not bar service. Open 1 pm to 4 pm for lunch and 7:30 pm to 11 pm.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Modern take on tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just prior to visiting the breathtaking views of Ronda we walked down the hill to De Locos Tapas where we experienced their modern take on tapas. The owner kindly translated the menu for us and made some suggestions.
Highlights were kofta with salsa yoghurt, sliced chicken on toast, Moroccan chicken skewers, salmon with goat’s cheese & dill.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Berliner_Frankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,346
    127
    32
    22
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tapas to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Fantastic tapas in a small little joint. They have a tiny kitchen and it is unbelievable that they can make such good tapas. My respect for their cooking skills is sky high. The owner explained all the dishes and after picking a few, we let the owner pick the rest. The foie gras was amazing with the ginger ice cream. The Moroccan lamb was delicious and full of flavor with some great hummus and cous cous. The garlic soup was flavorful and the truffle dish was very nice. The cheesecake finished off the meal perfectly. We paid 15 euros per person. The capacity of the restaurant is about 20-25, so get there early.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful creative and delicious small dishes. Seared foie gras with ginger ice cream amazing, seared tuna with seaweed and wasabi ice cream, scallops wrapped in bacon with truffle n mushroom sauce garnished with salad! Owner/chef and his wife are warm and wonderful hosts. A complete delight, highly recommend!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielLucien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Original tapas, great host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Went here twice during our trip to Ronda, once for dinner, once for lunch - both times were delish. Our hosts were chatty and lively and had obviously worked hard to come up with an original selection of tapas. The drinks too - my gin and tonic had different tonic water with a hint of rose (I think). Our favourites were the seared tuna with wasabi ice cream, risotto tapas with mushrooms, the curry lamb with rice and the duck on toast. Really nice evening and a nice surprise when getting the bill, all the tapas were so reasonable between 1.5 - 3 euros a dish. We did have to check with our host half way through the meal that we weren't going to get landed with an enormous bill as the food was so fantastic!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chandlax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
1 review
“the best tapas in spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

thankyou trip advisor, this resteraunt is not to be missed me and my better half are both reasonable cooks but i would have no idea how to emulate any of the dishes we tried at de locos.
we were the only english people in the place(witch is usually a good sign) but we were made to feel very welcome, the owner suiggested we have a selection of the most popular tapas dishes and us being carnivourous types i asked for all of the meat dishes,between us we had 10 tapas starting with the smoked duck breast then onto the foir gras , i have never tried foir gras before and was a bit dubious , IT WAS DELICIOUS!! the owner continued to bring tapas out for us until we had had our fill, spanish black pudding moroccan chicken smoked slamon and goats cheese, we also had two glasses of white wine and a bottle of red , i genuinely thought that they had made a mistake on the bill when he produced a slip of paper whth the meager sum of 38 euro, i was expecting it to be around 70 and was pleasantly surprised to say the least, the resteraunt is in the old town of ronda near the castle and is out of the way of the tourist traps, witch i would avoid especially the ones in ronda main square as the tapas was very poor. it was a 10 minute walk from our hotel over the bridge but we followed our iphone map and found it easily
all in all the best tapas i have ever tasted could not fault anything , i wouldnt normally review a place but for de locos i have made an exeption.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Locos Tapas also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to De Locos Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing