We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing gem in Ronda”
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Gabriel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing gem in Ronda”
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Staying at the San Gabriel in Ronda was one of the best hotel experiences ever! This boutique hotel is unbelievable. Right from the time we booked this hotel, everything was perfect. We had extremely efficient e-mail communication with the hotel during the booking process and after staying there, I can't believe how inexpensive it was!

We stayed here for 3 nights in August and had two beautiful guest rooms on the second floor that overlooked the courtyard (rooms 7 & 8). The rooms were very spacious, clean, quiet and nicely decorated. The rooms were very comfortable and the rooms were also equipped with air conditioning that you could control your self.

This hotel had so many wonderful features - it's beautifully decorated, with a lovely library/lounge area, a mini movie theatre with dvds that you can screen, and a cozy little courtyard to relax in. There is also a computer with free internet access for guests to use. Something else that we discovered during our stay was that there is also a wine cellar - at one point during our stay we noticed a small sign that read "fancy a glass of sherry? let us know". One sweltering afternoon, we arrived back at the hotel to relax, and we enquired about the glass of sherry. We then got a tour of the cellar, learned about some history of the house, and then were told to help ourselves to a bottle of sherry and if we needed more, just to help ourselves to another bottle!! and there wasn't even a charge for this!! It was fantastic!!

As well, we also really loved the breakfast every morning that was included with our stay. The breafast room was very cute and the set up for breakfast was really nice. It was basically a continental breakfast with a selection of yoghurt, cereal, cakes, toast with preserves and cheeses. Not to mention the best freshly made cafe con leche!!

I could go on forever about how amazing this hotel is. The location is perfect - on a quiet street in the "old town" very convenient to all of the major sites in Ronda, and not too far from the new bridge. The staff was very friendly and the service was excellent. I wish that we could have stayed longer. I would love to return for another stay and highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_nut24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    275
    36
    6
    5
See reviews for
154
888
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

This is truly one of the most lovely hotels I have come across in Spain, and having lived there, I have seen many. it is an eccentric's delight - without any of the unpleasant surprises that can go hand-hand-hand with eccentricity!

Every element has charm and quirk, while the small size creates a seductive atmosphere and gives you a strange illusion of presiding over your own manor house for a day or two. The manager was extremely friendly and helpful (at least in Spanish!), and I must admit that it was one of my greatest regrets that we had only booked a single night there. I really could not fault this experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabmunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Having stayed in the San Gabriel last year I couldn't wait to return to Ronda or the hotel when I was back in Andalucia again this year. I was not disappointed. The hotel is an oasis in the heart of the old town of Ronda, perched just a minute's walk from the Porta Neuva and the breathtaking gorge. The San Gabriel staff are as friendly as a family welcoming back returning family, the hotel itself is beautiful full of old world traditional charm and even features quirky additions including a wine cellar where you can an enjoy a local glass of vino and its own private cinema. Their breakfast is lovely and the carpark is conveniently situated less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel. This hotel really is perfect and is a real find. I wish there could be a San Gabriel in every destination I visited.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyGoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

A once in a lifetime find! Can't believe we found it on the net without recomendations and that it could be this good. This small hotel (23 bedrooms) is very quiet, very central to all activity in Ronda and is positively bewitching. Classical music floats around the sitting room and one just can't resist curling up on the sofa with a good book when the sun is scorching the sky in the middle of the day. There are books everywhere and even a tiny private cinema (5 seater!). A dozen or more classic dvd's are free for guest enjoyment and there is a tiny but lovely back garden where one can have a coffee/ relax. It's not the type of place one would lie out sunbathing in..too small and shady for that.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful/ approachable.
They allowed us have a quick peek at the honeymoon suite and it was an absolute delight and was also huge.Breakfast was very nice indeed but their one failing was that they didn't have croissants. Overall this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed inand I would rank it along with the best of the 'stately homes' type of hotel in Ireland. Small, old fashioned, charming and magical spring to mind and I am looking forward to telling my friends about our great find.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The San Gabriel in Ronda was an absolutely beautiful hotel in an absolutely beautiful town! There was so much character and a real family feel to the hotel with all the history and photographs of the owners and previous guests displayed throughout! We chose to stay in a superior room and we far from regretted our choice when we saw the jaccuzzi bath, the lovely courtyard view and the quintessential Spanish styling!
The staff are however the making of this hotel, they couldn't do enough for you, giving routes around the village and even maps for us to get to the airport when we left.
My boyfriend and I loved this hotel and this town and would go back in a shot given half the chance!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hells1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Hotel San Gabriel is truly a jewel set into a picturesque town. It's perfectly located in the quieter old town but only minutes away from all the attractions. As you enter the reception area, you are greeted by an old world atmosphere in this family establishment that goes back generations. The staff is uniformly knowledgable and helpful with a wide variety of recommendations from restaraunts to interesting environs outside the city. Upon our departure, the off-duty manager actually took it upon himself to drive our family to the bus station. The rooms are nicely appointed and certainly reasonably priced. Upon their suggestion, we visited the working class area just down the hill from the hotel and ate with the locals in the Barrio San Francisco at the Bodega in the plaza. The tapas and bebidas were delicious and the ambience and prices not to be beat. For a more upscale restaurant, in the same Plaze San Francisco, try Almocabar for tasy cutting-edge meals- a little pricier but well worth it! All in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Wow! I felt like I was staying at a friend’s lodge/home for the weekend! This hotel defies description for both hospitality and comfort. We were welcomed with open arms into the elegant library, adorable courtyard, and comfortable room. Also, the location is perfect for exploring the city by foot. We enjoyed wine in the courtyard at night and their delightful breakfast in the morning. (They had amazing preserves, and they even had yogurt and cereal.) We slept like babies with air conditioning under the yummy sheets. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in beautiful Ronda!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lathemgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 40 in Ronda
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
2.7 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#6 of 40 in Ronda
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Property: Hotel San Gabriel
Address: Calle Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#3 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing