We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret in southern Spain !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Gabriel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in southern Spain !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

As a lifelong travel professional, I must say...the San Gabriel in Ronda is a true GEM and if you are heading to Ronda, this is aboslutely the finest spot in town to stay.
Perfect in every aspect....comfortable rooms, ambiance, cleanliness, service, food(Continental breakfast)...you name it...it's simply an ideal resting spot with a SUPERB location - easy walking distance to the Bridge and the Bullring ! The property is FAR superior to any 2 star...actually, it should be re-ranked closer to a 4 star for Europe standards ! Parking is a bit tricky as the roads are so narrow- but still worth it unless you happen to be touring Spain in a Hummer ! Rates are amazingly low for the level of comfort and quality as well. You will NOT be disappointed !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank widget13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    268
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
149
854
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

Stayed here for one night and found the hotel to be a wonderful place. Hotel manager is extremely nice and room was lovely. Its a converted former grand old house. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Businesstravellerr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed here for my husband's 30th birthday as a surprise and it exceeded any expectations, even after reading the wonderful TripAdvisor reviews. The hotel is charmingly decorated and the staff goes well beyond the norm to provide any help and advice. They recommended an incredible, off-the-beaten-track restaurant for our celebratory dinner and helped arrange a side-trip for the day. They clearly strive to make their guests' stay perfect and they certainly achieved this goal with us!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abg257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed here 7 days, using Ronda as a base for hiking and sightseeing in the area. The staff was incredibly helpful, from excellent restaurant recommendations to assistance with a messed-up plane reservation. Our nice-sized room (#10) had two twin beds which we pushed together, a sitting area separated from the bedroom by a screen, large bathroom, large towels, luxury toiletries, room safe. Breakfast (included in our rate) was a bit more than simple continental, including cheeses, cereal, juice, yogurt, breads. Free WiFi and free computer usage in the living room. Parking in a public lot was not too inconvenient, and probably easier than a parking garage in the main part of town. Be sure to pay attention to directions on the website, but our recommendation is to use the directions from the south, even if you are coming from the north. We arrived on a festival day, so absolutely could not get into the old city without driving back out and around. Completely enjoyed this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dayhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

A highlight of our trip around Andalusia. From the moment you arrive, you are treated like family. The house is lovely and is still owned by the original family. The rooms are well cared for and beautifully decorated. You enjoy relaxing in the room. Lots of surprises as you wander the mansion. Great location for exploring the historic area. The price is very reasonable considering the level of comforts.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellen5181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

Based on the recommendations from other TA reviews we booked two nights at an excellent 'web special' rate on the Hotels web site. We certainly were not disappointed - in fact San Gabriel was way more than expected. We had a little trouble finding it but only because we weren't paying attention to the directions - it is actually well sign posted.
Parking is a little tricky. There is a small parking space in front of the hotel for loading and unloading, but the public parking lot is a short walk away - (9 Euro a night through the hotel.)
As soon as you enter through the door - it just says 'welcome , make yourself at home'. The fireplaced living room, open staircase and antiques creat a bright but cosy atmosphere. Our room - 'a standard with double bed' -was a little on the small side but fine for the price. The San Gabriel really stands out in service. The staff are totally decicated to ensuring you enjoy your stay and get he most out of the beautiful town and countryside. They have prepared their own maps, suggested itineraries, directions to everywhere, dining suggestions etc in several languages.
The hotel is perfectly located in the midle of the old town. Turn left after coming out the door and you are at the main street in a few yards. Turn right and you have a warren of peaceful and picture pretty alleyways, squares and parks. A few yards will bring you to the park at the top of the path that leads down to the favorite vantage point for the famous New Bridge. There are art galleries, museums and a beautiful church (can't remember the names) within a hundred yards and yet the hotel is tucked away in a quite spot off the beaten path. Five minute walk to the busy restaurants and shopping areas in the New Town and - in the opposite direction - the quieter less touristy square surrounded by excellent 'local' restaurants at the bottom of the hill.
Ronda has so much to offer. We had only intended to stay there as a 'pit stop' to tour the 'white villages in the surrounding countryside. We ended up spending most or our two days in the town. Nevertheless, with the hotels help we were able to plot a circuit to see some of the prettiest 'pueblos blancos' in one afternoon. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on as well.
We have no hesitation in recommending Hotel San Gabriel to anybody looking for a peaceful, comfortable friendly place to stay in Andalucia.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank repleo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

Stayed 2 nights, lovely old style quiet hotel with fantastic staff - so helpful with everything. Gorgeous library/reading room to relax in, lovely breakfast room and "honesty bar" area, but a word of warning about the beautiful courtyard, careful you don't get locked in like my husband did!!! It's hard to open it from the inside but impossible to open it when you're out there!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalaboing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Property: Hotel San Gabriel
Address: Calle Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#3 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing