We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,459)
Filter reviews
1,459 results
Traveler rating
1,095
310
41
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,095
310
41
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townwine cellarmovie theatersmall cinemacinema roomjunior suitecharming hotelfamily homecommon areasthe hotel staffpublic roomslots of characterold world charmold housesitting roomperfect locationyour luggage
Filter
Updating list...
965 - 970 of 1,459 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We drove to Ronda from Seville (a short 3 hour trip). We LOVED this hotel. It was lovingly restored and had beautiful woodwork, new plumbing, great breakfast and staff were very helpful. Although we had seen all of the town in one day, I was glad for a second night reservation just to relax in this perfect setting.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Madisongirl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

This is a little hotel in Ronda, which is full of atmosphere and character. Ronda is not very big and the hotel was very conveniently located near everything you would want to see. Our room did not have much of a view - only a small window with shutters, but the room was clean, and had so much character we didn't care.

We had breakfast in the little breakfast room and it was wonderful. There were freshly baked croissants, fresh brewed coffee and squeezed orange juice. Delicious.

The hotel has a little movie theater, which we did not use, but had we stayed longer we might have. There is a computer for complimentary internet connection in the reading room.
Overall, it was clean, the decor was homey, the staff were friendly and helpful, and it was reasonably priced. I was only sorry we could only stay for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KateChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Following the reviews on Trip Adviser my husband and I booked to stay in Hotel San Gabriel for just one night during our holiday in Spain this year.

Neither of us had been to Ronda before, and we would both highly recommend a visit if you get the chance as it is a very beautiful town.

The Hotel San Gabriel is perfectly located for your stay, with everything in walking distance. The hotel itself has a very spanish feel, and our room was fabulous. Although very close to the gorge you do not have views over it, and therefore the price is probably half of those on the edge.

We particularly liked the honesty bar and relaxed atmosphere in the hotel. The breakfast was basic, but lovely.

Parking was as described by the hotel, and we did not have a problem finding the hotel from the directions they provided.

We would highly recommend the Hotel San Gabriel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheba14V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

Beautiful hotel in a great location. Easy to find and free parking nearby with a place to unload just outside the hotel. Amazing pictures on the walls in the breakfast room of past guests - including Ernest Hemmingway ans Bob Hoskins!

Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarahlousielondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

This is a delightful and individual hotel, with a welcoming front desk. The location is excellent, within a short walk of the gorge and all the main sights. We chose a standard room, which was prettily furnished but small. I would recommend going the extra amount for a superior room. Also, be sure to bring one of those battery operated reading lights – rooms in Spanish hotels tend to be quite dark and it’s difficult to read guidebooks by the bedroom lights!
A charming feature is the self-serve bodega or bar which operates on the honour system … a rarity nowadays.
For eating, we would thoroughly recommend the Carmen tapas bar beside the church of St Maria Major a few hundred yards away from the hotel. Also within easy reach is a CD shop named Trudi’s whose management is very knowledgeable on local music especially Flamenco.
Ronda really can be done in one overnight. Other than the Bullring and its museum, the Gorge and the former mosque (now St. Maria Major Church) there is little to see. The other local so-called museums can be given a miss. For a laugh though you could look in on the Museo Lara with its comical Museum of the Inquisition. This is a cut-price Chamber of Horrors with torture machines lovingly reproduced by obvious loonies as a kind of homage to Spanish ecclesiastical sadism.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ireland_member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews