We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Ronda gem”
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Gabriel
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We found this delightful small hotel in the Alastair Sawday guide to special places to stay - and it was.

Immediately upon arrival we were met by the owner who welcomed us warmly, dealt with arrival formalities efficiently and took us up to our room. (Our luggage had been taken up for us while we had been taken to the car park which was a little way from the hotel.)

The room was just delightful, traditionallly decorated, stylish, well designed and had a lovely quiet position overlooking a tiny square.

Everything about this friendly hotel testified to an elegant taste in everything affecting the quality of a visitor's stay. We would have loved to have stayed for much longer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CEJoneses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great place to stay in Ronda. The location is perfect. I much prefer to stay in the old part of town. The decor was well done. It is not my taste (a little heavy and dark) but beautifully done. The breakfast was good. The staff was incredibly helpful to us when we had to contact the bus station and to arrange a trip to the Pileta caves (which I highly recommend!). The sitting areas were lovely and there was access to a computer if you need one. I was a little disappointed that we could not use the movie room. It was reserved for a private screening at 8:45. They don't have any children's movies-just adult classics.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank stacey327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Excellent choice for our visit to Ronda in May 2014. Stayed two nights, would stay again. Historic mansion beautifully converted into small hotel. Impressive decor throughout, paintings, books, furniture, ceramics, woodwork, memorabilia. Staff spoke excellent English and were warm, welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable. Front desk staffed 24 hours. Can park at front door, unload luggage, then drive to attended gated parking at city hall five minute walk away. Great location in center of old city, near the New Bridge, the star attraction. Quiet, comfortable rooms with good twin beds. Nice bathroom, large shower, quality amenities. Minibar, elevator, good wifi. Continental breakfast was ok, but frankly expected more from such a classy hotel. Dining room is small, so you need to select a time for breakfast the evening before. Be sure to accept one of the homemade bottled tomatoes for pasta at another time. On day of departure, staff warned us that main street would close late morning for a footrace, enabling us to leave before being trapped for 1-2 hours.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and this is a popular hotel. Book early for best selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rock56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

What a delightful surprise! We ended up with a superior twin room as the budget rooms were no longer available when we made reservations. The room was very spacious & clean & quiet. The bathroom featured two sinks as well as plenty of counter space. The receptionist whose name I can't recall, was exceptional at helping us with routes to drive...she even printed off a map showing places we might want to park at our next destination.

I definitely recommend both this hotel & a visit to this city!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank hiking-nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hotel is located in a beautifully restored house. Its location is great, in the old city near the bridge. Despite its central location, its very quiet. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly. The Room was clean, comfortably furnished and welcoming. There is even a wine cellar where you can enjoy a glass of wine. My only problem was that Breakfasts could be a bit better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eoinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel has a charm of its own, there is a mild olive fragrance which floats in the air in this place which makes the experience all the more pleasurable :-) we stayed here for 3 nights and we had an excellent experience. The place resembles an old Spanish villa and offers the unique experience of living in a Spanish home with very antique furniture and upholstery.

The hotel is located very close to the city centre on the other side of the new bridge. It is walkable from the city centre and all other places of attraction in Ronda. It is located in very quiet surroundings with cafés and restaurants not too far from this place.

The rooms are very spacious and very clean. We had a double bedroom allocated to us and it had a dressing room, a living room and a bedroom with a very spacious bathroom. It felt as if I were living in our own house. There is a huge collection of books in all different languages which you can read in the living room or reception.

The dining room is very beautiful as well with eating places also put up in the verandah. It offers tasty and variety of breakfast options. All in all, it seemed like an experience straight from the fairy tale! I would highly recommend it to everyone and would definitely like to visit it again :-)

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Spry_2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed overnight in this lovely hotel while visiting Ronda, in itself a magical place. This hotel is perfectly placed to wander round the Old Town with plenty of good restaurants, cafés, bars and shops nearby. The Hotel arranges parking round the corner at a very reasonable rate, provides information on local attractions and also a map with directions for an excellent one and a half hour walk round the bridges, churches etc of the Old Town. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly and are obviously proud of their hotel. Our room was charming and overlooked a lovely little courtyard. We had everything we needed including a well stocked mini bar that was very reasonably priced. Breakfast was simple but good. All in all, we could not recommend this hotel highly enough and will be returning later this year.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#12 of 40 in Ronda
525 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#7 of 40 in Ronda
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Address: Calle Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#3 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: $74 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing