We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,459)
Filter reviews
1,459 results
Traveler rating
1,095
310
41
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,095
310
41
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townwine cellarmovie theatersmall cinemacinema roomjunior suitecharming hotelfamily homecommon areasthe hotel staffpublic roomslots of characterold world charmold housesitting roomperfect locationyour luggage
Filter
Updating list...
590 - 595 of 1,459 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very lovely cosy manor house. Noisy between rooms - they need better insulation. Helpful friendly staff.
Main problem is that a lot of rooms in manor houses are off small enclosed courtyards. Big mistake. No fresh air or view. When booking this sort of accommodation in Spain make sure you ask for a room with a window to the outside world.

Room Tip: Make sure yo book a room that does not face/open onto a courtyard.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel San Gabriel in October 2013, my two sisters, mom, and me – and we wished we had stayed longer - much longer! Not just in Ronda, where we could have hiked the gorge, visited the caves, and spent more time in the charming town. But at the Hotel San Gabriel. First, the location is phenomenal - in the middle of or walking distance to everything wonderful, yet far enough from the actual city center to be peaceful and charming. We took our time to get lost in the maze of cobblestone streets and discovered restaurants with outrageous views of the gorge! No matter where you are you can easily find your way "home" again. The staff was overall very professional and helpful - at first upon arrival there were no smiles, and no offers to help us with luggage from the gentleman at the desk – but upon dragging our luggage inside I realized he was the only person on staff with a full house and could not leave his post due to other activities. From that point on the staff was immediately attentive , and we quickly realized that the initial chilly welcome had nothing to do with their desire to offer assistance-as the desk manager then ran to the rescue and extricated my oversized car for me when I couldn't navigate the small, slightly awkward, medieval "intersection" in front of the hotel (due to oncoming horse and buggy traffic!) Parking is off site, about a ¼ mile down the road, but we almost did not return to the hotel we got so distracted by the church and square and myriad of shops that are on the way to and from the parking. The whole place is magical from the time you approach to the wonderful old entry door to the lobby and sitting areas filled with wonderful furniture and décor – even the stairs up to the rooms were filled with antiques, decorative items, all making us feel like we were staying at the small palace of well-off friends or family in Ronda. We had booked two rooms for the 4 people, and when we arrived they showed us to our original rooms (one had one large bed for two people, and the other had two large beds for two people) but then advised us (voluntarily!) that upon seeing we were not two married couples that we "might like something else better" - and offered another adorable room with two separate beds- it had the most charming romantic balcony overlooking a small interior courtyard below, and the room had moorish décor accents. We accepted the offer at the same rate and my sisters stayed the night there, while my Mom and I stayed in a wonderful room that appeared to have been an old chapel with gothic wooden arches, wooden beams and a picture window that overlooked the Ronda rooftops. That room was a little bit noisy in the morning as a steady stream of cars passed by on nearby main street to get to work, but we would not have traded it! We did not partake in the breakfast, as we wanted to get more of Ronda in the morning before we departed for Seville – but the staff locked our baggage away safely and brought it out again for us when we left – at which point the now friendly and not so busy desk manager again helped me navigate my way back out of the drive and safely onto the road. All in all the stay here was magnificent and we would stay again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: I wish I could remember the room numbers - but the one with the little romantic balcony overlooking the interior courtyard was amazing!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsygirl1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Hotel San Gabriel is a very nice location. Located directly in the old center of Ronda its historical character gaves us the feeling to be hundreds of years away from our hactically world. On the other hand side the equipment is modern and the service is very good. If you like castle hotels or similar you should stay there on a trip through the wonderful countryside of Andalucia!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hans-Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This one has it all -- good location (walk to all the points of interest including the stairway down to the postcard view of Ronda), great service and great rooms. The service in particular was outstanding - upon checkin I asked if the room would be small for a 3rd bed and the lady showed us all 3 possible alternatives so that we could choose the one we like. I chose a bigger room, she did not charge me extra except the cost of the 3rd bed. At check-out the lady also asked me if she could help me with my drive to Sevilla (possible routes, etc), and we enjoyed our scenic drive via Arcos. Breakfast was great. We had very good tapas at Tragatapas (do try it!). Overall we would recommend this without reservation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Although the weather during our April stay in Ronda was akin to a British November we enjoyed our stay in this spectacularly located town and our hotel was perfectly located although with not with views over the gorge it was only a short stroll from the cliffs. The hotel is like a beautifully furnished traditional Spanish home.
it has a small court yard and a tiny cinema. Reception staff is friendly and helpful and the bedrooms, although short of daylight [which in hot weather is probably a boon] are beautifully clean and quiet. The only disappointment was the breakfast which had limited choice of boring bland food –this was probably a deliberate ploy and breakfast choice “B” included the option of a hot dish but cost considerably more. Breakfast was also by an appointment made the previous evening which left little or no flexibility for an oversleep or change of plan. Despite the many pluses are disappointment with the breakfast would mean that if we did return we would not use the San Gabriel again. The hotel recommends a number of restaurants but our research established that they were either very expensive or in unexciting locations - surly if eating in Ronda visitors would want locations with views overlooking the cliffs. I have reviewed the locations at which we ate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilReed186386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana A, Propietario at Hotel San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your review for us is very important to know the experience of our guest to work everyday to be better.

We are very happy that you enjoy our hotel and your stay in Ronda and we are passionate to work to meet your expectations for this reason we are very sad that you didn´t like the breakfast, we are an small hotel and for this reason we decided to make hourly reservations for the breakfast, like in a Restaurant, to be sure that when you will arrive you will have your table available. You can have breakfast at any time but we cannot guarantee a table available ( as we are also travellers, we have suffer the annoying experience of not finding a available table so we thought booking table for breakfast could be a good idea). We will love if you could recommend us with type of food you will like to have in our breakfast for 5 €/ person we are very gratefull for your help. We have clients of all the nationalities and is very dificult to match with all the preferences.

About our recommendations for Tapas Bar and Restaurants, we give you options from 15€ / person till 35 € / person, we know that all of them have a good quality-price rate, most of this places are recommend it in Trip Advisor. We personaly make this selection of Tapas Bar and Restaurants because we personaly use this places and we know the good quality in the food and the good service that they offer and of course all of them exist, is a pity that you could´nt find it

We hope we can see you in again in your next visit and we can be again “ Your House in Ronda”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews