We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Loaded with Charm”
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Gabriel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Topeka KS
Level Contributor
181 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Loaded with Charm”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Located in old city of Ronda, Hotel San Gabriel is a picture-perfect vision of a grand Andalucian home. If you're looking for charm and atmosphere in this already atmospheric, cliff-hugging town, this inn will warm your heart.

My superior double room was beautiful and spacious, full of antique furniture along with modern conveniences, such as a frig and wifi. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was roomy, and I was delighted to find a "real" hair dryer and plenty of electrical outlets. My window looked out over the front courtyard and a neighboring orange tree -- I was content.

Breakfast is served in shifts, due to the small size of the dining room, but it was not at all inconvenient. Simply reserve your preferred hour the night before. The buffet was simple but tasty, and the service was gracious.

The inn is located right in the center of Ronda, less than a five minute walk from the bridge and the stunning gorge views. Parking is available at a lot just a short walk away. Locating the inn for the first time is a little tricky by car, but it's worth the effort.

I thought the pricing was extremely reasonable for the beautiful environment and the elegant service provided, and I would be delighted to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reefwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    275
    36
    6
    5
See reviews for
153
884
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel , warm helpful stuff, great location , quiet big and comfortable rooms .
Price which is more than fair includes basic breakfast . Turned out to be more than sufficient a and tasty

No doubt one of the best hotels we had in south of spain

Room Tip: We had a back quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avital R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Hotel has an excellent location on a side street in the older part of Ronda. Room was quiet , well appointed and clean. Staff were very pleasant and made helpful suggestions about restaurants. Breakfast was very good. I would certainly stay at San Gabriel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidfallschurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Hotel San Gabriel is a fantastic respite with a vibe that reflects the wonderful Andalucian landscape. The service, rooms, and location were exceptional. The staff was able to point my wife and I to some exceptional eateries that made our time in Ronda all the better. If you're looking for a place to stay from which to explore the beautiful Andalucian countryside then Hotel San Gabriel is for you.

Room Tip: First floor room lets in some of the noise from outside. Consider taking a room on the upper floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 99Luft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My mother daughter and I were travelling in Spain and often found our hotel experiences did not meet all our needs. Hotel San Gabriel was the exception. Our room was spacious and our beds were good. The staff were extremely helpful with advice on walks and restaurants and any other questions we had. The hotel is well located and full of character. It was a pleasure to go back for a break in the middle of the day. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I suspect every room is special. All would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Would it be in Britain, the interior would have given me a motivation to ask if Mrs. Marple is around :-). Well its in Spain and the ladies at the reception were definitly not Mrs. Marple style. Nice atmosphere, location just in the middle of the historic town, car has to be parked max 5 minutes walk away (its worth no cars - in the narrow roads :-) of the historic center. Although Ronda is a quite touristic place its real nice and worth to visit - really.

Yes and the music in the lounge, classical music, its so easy to make a relaxing atmosphere ..... .

We definitely enjoyed our visit

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rainer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed one night here but wished it could have been more. We were welcomed by he staff and given excellent suggestions for local walks and restaurant. The room was lovely and warm and full of Spanish period features (so much nicer than a chain hotel). There is a lounge playing relaxing classical music and the breakfast room is cosy. Great location too!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
1,773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
2.7 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
0.4 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#13 of 39 in Ronda
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Property: Hotel San Gabriel
Address: Calle Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#3 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing