We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't regret”
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Gabriel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night. We found this hotel via Internet (Tripadvisor). It is located in the historic district. Staff was very helpful. If you need rest or planning honeymoon, this is a perfect choice. Small compact town, lots of history, and good food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erkanyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,320)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Gabriel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

I booked this on the suggestion of a friend unseen and untested. the rooms were perfect, the ambiance was lovely - the buffet breakfast is perfect - especially the cafe con leche and the staff were very professional, helpful and very very friendly... I would come back here in an instant.

Muchas Gracias por todo...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lgl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We found the hotel with a little scouting after street parking - the laneway in was horse and buggy clogged as we first approached. This is a gem of a property and the staff at check-in went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Rooms weren't ready (guests late leaving) but our bags were put into the room of one of the other two couples we were travelling with, no fuss. And then, on to touring the town along with some great shopping advice from them!
From all the hotels we've stayed at over the years (Four Seasons to small independents and B&B's) this one was most enjoyable and can be recommended without reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ghostice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

All went very well from the start. We found the hotel easily with GPS and also well signed on local streets,so no need for gps. You really can park outside and drop off bags and settle into your room before leaving car at parking area........very close to hotel. It takes 1 minute at most to walk. Staff extremely pleasant and willing to help on all issues. It feels like a home with touches rarely seen in modern hotels including a cinema, cellar with a welcome drink as you relax and many other lovely touches. My wife thought the coffee the best she had tasted for many a year at breakfast..........The best part was our room. If you can afford the honeymoon suite then book it. Very, very good value. Beautifully relaxing, spacious I cannot say too much about other rooms but those we spoke to were very happy with their arrangements. The town is all on hand to walk and enjoy which you will. My vote for the hotel is 5 star. The reason I give 4 stars is the offer the hotel had at a local restaurant (Michelle Obama was a recent visitor.........her meal must have been better). Sorry the meal was the worst in our 2 week stay in Spain by some distance. Make you own arrangements. But do stay at the hotel, we certainly shall again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nige d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

First hotel we stumbled upon and decided to get a quote. Got a room for 117 Euro included taxes and breakfast. Very cosy room with all you need. Free internet, aircondition etc.
We had a really good stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thomas1986k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary here and the staff went ALL OUT in making our visit a memorable one. Rose pedals on the bed, the whole works. Beautiful old world charm best describes the property with staff tat brings the total experience together. I highly recommend Hotel San Gabriel and ambiance that Ronda has to offer travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Avacados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The staff at Hotel San Gabriel were warm and welcoming during our 2-night stay in Ronda. The hotel is the former family home of the owners and has a very gracious, old world feel (but with modern amenities). Our room was very comfortable and quiet, and the location couldn't have been better - just a few minutes walk across the new bridge to get into town, or a short walk in the other direction to explore the old town. We were in Ronda at the beginning of the Feria, just before the weekend of the bullfights, so it was a great time to be there, lots of excitement and local color - girls in flamenco dresses and everyone gearing up for a good time. A few of the monuments were closed for the Feria or on reduced hours, so the hotel gave us a list of the opening/closings for the weekend so that we didn't have to waste any time being disappointed. They also arranged a fantastic visit to a Bodega (Bodega Joaquin Fernandez, Finca Los Frutales) and had a lot of other connections with restaurants, tours etc. HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 40 in Ronda
720 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
0.4 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#13 of 40 in Ronda
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Address: Calle Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#3 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: $75 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing