We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family feeling”
Review of Hotel San Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Gabriel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family feeling”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great hotel, nice architecture, clean and beautiful rooms with classic details. Friendly staff with a family feeling, all the best parts with a bed & breakfast concept combined with a cozy hotel. Just great Spanish living quite simply!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    275
    36
    6
    5
See reviews for
153
884
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
München
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here 2 days in a junior suite and we loved it. Best location in the old town due to the fact that it is very central and at the same time extremely quiet as it is located in a side street. The gorge is only a few minutes away and all the rest you might want to see is within easy walking distance.

Hotel is a renovated historic Spanish mansion with tons of classic things, like paintings, furniture, books…. You feel like 100 years ago in this unique atmosphere. You have lots of common places to spend your time: Patio, Salon with library, a mini cinema for 5 people (bring your favorite DVD!)...everything made to feel like at home.

Our room was spaceous had a twin bed, a nice bathroom and a small balcony facing to the Patio. Everything was clean and in good shape. Wifi was excellent. Unfortunately breakfast was not included in the price and for 5 € had no great variety. British/American people might love toast with ham and bacon but I prefer more the cereal & fruit combination which was not really existent at that day. Well there are lots of other possibilities in the old town. Staff was super-friendly and very helpful with recommendations. For parking the hotel can offer you a discount which I highly recommend.

We had a perfect stay at San Gabriel and would definitely come back again

Room Tip: spend 10€ more for a Junior Suite with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suparichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is a bit dark, but very eclectic. The hotel staff was forthcoming and accommodating. Location is nice too. The only problem was that the room we stayed in had a draft, so the door kept knocking all night long.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 69sealyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our first stay at the Hotel San Gabriel .. but it certainly won't be our last!

The room was superb and everything we could have wished for in a traditional, family run hotel.
Immaculately clean, spacious and very original, and even though our room was directly above the front door to the hotel it was beautifully quiet.

The hotel staff are fantastic, they are very attentive, knowledgeable, courteous and obliging.

As we were only on a short stay we didn't get chance to make the most of the hotels facilities but will be making amends for this on our next visit (I can't wait to enjoy a bottle of wine in the hotels cool wine cellar!)

Location wise the hotel is perfect, there are numerous bars and restaurants within two minutes walk through some beautiful cobbled streets, or turn left from the hotel and cross the Puente Nuevo bridge (check out the padlocks left there as romantic mementos of couples in love!) and you have as many shops cafe bars, restaurants, tapas bars, banks, etc as you could need!

My girlfriend and I adore Ronda and all it has to offer and staying in a wonderful hotel such as the San Gabriel only heightens the experience.
Some of our favourite restaurants and tapas bars are Bar Faustino on Calle Santa Cecilia (great in the evening for a few drinks and some excellent tapas), El Campillo on Plaza Maria Auxiliadora (perfect for a cool drink in the shade on a hot afternoon) and Bodega El Sacristan next to the church on Plaza Duquesa de Parcent, the last two are literally 2 minutes from the hotel!

The San Gabriel is one of those places that once you've found it you'd like to keep secret but that wouldn't be fair on the hotel or anyone travelling to Ronda, stay here and you'll be in good company and great surroundings in an amazing location

N.B. Whilst writing this review it occurred to me that clicking on "excellent" when rating the hotel just doesn't do it justice ..you won't be disappointed with your stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
284 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nothing new to add, except another five-star rating: Hotel San Gabriel provides the perfect Ronda experience: lovely inside and out (see the pics); located in the best part of this picturesque town; reduced-rate parking nearby; friendly English-speaking personnel; fine continental breakfast included, or something more substantial at a small additional cost - can't imagine that there's a better place to stay here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beautiful and charming hotel in the older part of Ronda. Although we had a bit of a cold welcome from the person that was there when we arrived in the evening, the people working the next day more than made up for it. They were kind and very helpful. They made parking our car easy and provided us with lots of helpful information, even when we left on how we best to get to the next town we were heading to. The rooms were charming, full of character as well as very clean, nice size and comfortable. The common areas were really nice and made you feel like you were staying in a little historic palace. Breakfast was good. Location was great, close to the new bridge and restaurants although quiet at night. Ronda is a beautiful city with welcoming people. It was really worth the 2 day stop and I would go back in a heart beat and stay at San Gabriel again!

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor near the front door can be noisy when other guests come in late so best to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missaab93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved our stay at the Hotel San Gabriel in Ronda. It was truly wonderful.
The service you get from a family run business compares to none. Ana was extremely knowledgable and gave us great recommendations for restaurants and walks. We especially loved Los Casadores seafood restaurant. It had the best seafood we tasted on our whole trip to Spain, Delicious!!!

Thanks you Hotel San Gabriel for pampering us and making us feel so special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TeresaMotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
1,774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
2.7 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
0.4 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#13 of 39 in Ronda
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gabriel

Property: Hotel San Gabriel
Address: Calle Marques de Moctezuma 19, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ronda
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
#3 Family Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored building dates from the 18th century and lies in the most historic district of Ronda, surrounded by ancient monuments.Retaining much of its original charm, the San Gabriel still displays an attractive stone façade and the coat of arms of one of its former owners. Spend a quiet moment in the library corner or in the typically Andalusian courtyard, full of plants and a trickling fountain. Here you can start the day with the hotel’s delicious breakfast. You can also enjoy a film in the intimate cinema room, which includes red velvet seats taken from the city’s old cinema. Combined with its privileged location, the hotel facilities make this a truly authentic Spanish setting for your holiday in rural Andalusia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gabriel Hotel
San Gabriel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing