We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Unique Place to Stay”
Review of Parador de Ronda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parador de Ronda
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Very Unique Place to Stay”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We traveled to Portugal and Spain in October of 2001. ( I couldn't submit the review unless I put a more recent date It was just mere weeks after 9/11.
We had booked all the hotels and a car and decided to go ahead and travel. It could not have
been safer. Everywhere we went people were friendly and sympathetic. We stayed four nights
in Rhonda. I booked the Parador on the their website. Our room was two stories with
a living room and a bathroom downstairs and also a terrace. Upstairs we had a huge bedroom
and bathroom with a very large balcony overlooking the ravine. It was the most unique place we ever stayed in. The downstairs area was very large with a balcony where one could drinks. I
don't remember if food was served there. The breakfast buffet was very good. It's a great location. We were able to walk over the city-which is so beautiful. A highlight was touring the bull ring. It was also easy to drive in and out of. We did a day trip to Gibralter-which is well worth the trip. It took about two hours to get there. We dined in very good restaurants in Rhonda. We also stayed in a Parador in Granada which is situated in the garden of the Alhambra. We were able to get tickets to tour the Alhambra at our hotel. We highly recommend
both Paradors.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EvieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María José S, Gerente at Parador de Ronda, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Sir, thanks for sharing your experience of your stay in
our hotel, we'll get the whole team a comment and hope
to see you again soon at Parador de Ronda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    592
    195
    56
    26
See reviews for
352
1,043
47
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great service, room was spacious and clean with fantastic views. Lovely town with lots to see and do. Local bakeries excellent. Food in the hotel superb with excellent attention to detail. Good free wifi service. Easy access to Ascari Race Resort for petrol heads

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterG20140415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María José S, Gerente at Parador de Ronda, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Mr. Peter, thanks for sharing your experience of your stay in
our hotel, we'll get the whole team a comment and hope
to see you again soon at Parador de Ronda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a pretty bad experience at this hotel. First, when we arrived the front desk clerk was extremely surly--as if he was doing us a favor to allow us to stay in his hotel. OK, so we wrote that off as an anomaly. When we got to our room I have to say, we were pleasantly surprised at the fantastic view from our balcony. But then we noticed the amount of noise coming from the -pedestrian mall below. There is a bar there open until about 2AM, with drunk people making a lot of noise almost all night. Plus the service entrance to the hotel is directly below with garbage trucks visiting in the wee hours making an incredible amount of noise. So we had to leave the doors to our balcony closed all night--which blocked out most of the noise. But since the hotel does not turn on the air conditioning until June, it was incredibly hot in the room. So very difficult to sleep between the noise and the lack of ventilation. I expected a lot better for my $233/night.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any good rooms. Ask for a quiet room. Do not accept a room on the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank taarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María José S, Gerente at Parador de Ronda, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Sir. Thanks for sharing your
about your experience in our hotel. The opinions we
help to constantly improve our service. take
account the email we sent thanking your stay
on site and feel free to work situations like the one that tells us not repeated. Again thanks for your opnion. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Parador at Ronda is an experience in itself. We booked a superior room with a view of the ravine and could have stayed a week! The parador is located near the center of town so walking to everywhere is easy, the rooms are well decorated, modern and very comfortable. Our room had a deck and luckily the weather was beautiful. Couldn't ask for more and it was all for less than $200/night. I probably would choose to eat dinner at one of the many restaurants in town rather than at the hotel since it's pricey and not terrific.

Room Tip: Thought it was well worth the upgrade to superior for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur5510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María José S, Gerente at Parador de Ronda, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Sir, thanks for sharing your experience of your stay in
our hotel, we'll get the whole team a comment and hope
to see you again soon at Parador de Ronda and eat at our restaurant, it would be fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The directions to this hotel are appalling. The first time we visited a few years ago we didn't see any sign as we approached the town but on the basis that most Paradors are in the old part of town we headed there. Bad move! We took our Range Rover, not the smallest of cars, through the narrow winding streets of the old town with some trepidation, eventually finding the parador across the famous bridge, at the start of the new town. This time we were better prepared and saw one sign as we approached Ronda from the north which directed us to the newer part of town, thereafter no parador signs we could see at all! We eventually found it but more by luck and memory than good judgement. Follow the signs for Tourist Information, or the Bull Ring (close by the parador). It has an underground car park for which they charge, the entry is tricky for a large car but the exit is on the other side and quite easy. It is a new build parador in a spectacular location, but I have to say not one of the best of the chain.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María José S, Gerente at Parador de Ronda, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Sir. Thanks for sharing your
about your experience in our hotel. The opinions we
help to constantly improve our service. take
account the email we sent thanking your stay
on site and feel free to work situations like the one that tells us not repeated. Again thanks for your opnion. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

It is rather risky to return to a hotel after 7 years, we never planned it but as it came our way we accepted the challenge and returned to the hotel with the most breath taking view ever.
Not only the same hotel-also the exact same room we asked for when booking.
And as luck came our way: we got the exact same room as 7 years ago.
Room 113, on the corner, with 2 balconies, views from both sides: who could ask for more?!
Were there differences? Yes, abslolutely: nature was still green this time- being early Spring, whereas it was Automn 7 years ago, we sat on our balcony terrace once again and gazed at the view, changing gradually as the sun went down, long shades turning into darkness.
The room was the same, curtains were new(er) or at least different from last time, flat screen television instead of the old fashioned small one, yes: clear traces of heavy use on the wooden floor (water damage?) and the window sills, the use of more modest bulbs in the lamps, still plenty of light when curtains were shut.
We did miss the coffee/tea tray, with the water kettle and choice of little bags......so nice and cosy, making you feel at home.
Mini bar bottle of sparkling water for € 2.25 wasn't the end of the world.
Breakfast was exceptional good, a very rich variety to chose from, both local- and overall Spanish specialities, as is known in the Paradores of Spain, staff very friendly and helpfull.
Yes, checking in around 13.00pm is an endless story as every guest has to sign a paper with his/her ID info: for the local police we were told upon asking.
Checking out, early Sunday morning, went very fast: suppose most guests were still sound asleep, enjoying the excellent beds.
We were lucky to find the last possible space in the garage underneath, saw that whoever came afterwards had to park the car at the entrance, outside.
Getting in was a challenge, leaving the garage was very easy: no more winding curves but a straight passage to the street at the back.
Do become ' Amigo de Paradores ' , very simply on-line: it gives you small benefits like a free welcome-drink and reduced parking fee.
At the end we were really glad we returned and who knows: never say never again....

Room Tip: Don't let the number scare you: 113 is a true gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLaibowitzNoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María José S, Gerente at Parador de Ronda, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Sir, thanks for sharing your experience of your stay in
our hotel, we'll get the whole team a comment and hope
to see you again soon at Parador de Ronda in room 113.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed a few years ago and the hotel rooms were in better shape then they were last Saturday.

As another review mentions the room furniture is old and worn and needs some attention or replacement.

Your paying for the view down the gorge if you cant see it from your room you will for sure have paid too much.

Outrageous price of nearly 3 euros for a water from the mini bar.

Excellent breakfast and the Wifi was fast and worked well all over the hotel.

Until the rooms are re done I will give this one a miss next time I'm in Ronda.

There is a good Irish Bar in town called Heaven which is worth a visit.

The train ride down to the Coast was breath taking and cheap too !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María José S, Gerente at Parador de Ronda, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Jon. Thanks for sharing your
about your experience in our hotel. The opinions we
help to constantly improve our service. take
account the email we sent thanking your stay
on site and feel free to work situations like the one that tells us not repeated. Again thanks for your opnion. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
1,298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#6 of 39 in Ronda
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.3 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
678 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Ronda

Property: Parador de Ronda
Address: Plaza Espana s/n, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#8 Family Hotel in Ronda
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Ronda 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Parador de Ronda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Ronda Hotel Ronda
Parador De Hotel Ronda
Ronda Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing