We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, beautiful hotel in a historic place”
Review of Parador de Ronda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Ronda
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights here on a trip through Spain's Moorish history and the higher than average price was well worth it. We had a beautiful dual aspect corner room on with two balconies giving us views over the famous bridge, ravine, far off mountains and the bullring. Facilities were excellent and staff eager to please.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied buffet style with chefs available for special orders - filled omelettes etc. We did not take dinner at the hotel but the menu looked "interesting" with bulls tail stew and the like.
Whilst Ronda is not a large place, it has sufficient historic interest to spend a couple of nights here whilst travelling between other Andalucian cities.

Room Tip: Go for a higher up dual aspect corner room overlooking the bridge and bullring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbotheBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 1,997 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a standard parador in a great location, the views from some of the rooms, over the bridge and surrounding country side are really great and its well worth paying the extra for them. If you have a car, a must is the garage as parking near by is virtually impossible. the hotel itself is a very busy place and you are just someone in a crowd, so dont expect too much, Ronda is the star attraction.

Room Tip: Book a room with 1 view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WadiMallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

It goes without saying that Ronda is a beautiful place. It has spectacular views and the drive up there is a treat in itself.

The location of this hotel could not be bettered with magnificent views of the gorge. The room and facilities were excellent. I had a little problem with the power shower which needed to be adjusted at arms length to avoid being shredded with scalding or freezing water.

This hotel is not cheap but I thought I had great value for money at a price that included breakfast. I thought the breakfast choice was excellent as long as the hot food was avoided. I didn't even risk tasting this as it was lying in its containers swimming in grease.

The car parking is a bit pricey but I was expecting this as it normally is in tourist towns. To be fair I was warned by reception staff of the price before I left the car there. It is really worth it to park directly under the hotel and go up in the lift and forget the car for the rest of the break.

I had different experiences with the staff as you would expect I suppose. Most including the reception staff were excellent. One member of the staff went out of their way to take us to the terrace and was extremely polite and friendly. The experience was a little spoiled by two surly waiters on the terrace.

We ate a light lunch on the terrace which was fine. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as one of our joys on these trips to try the local restaurants. We were not disappointed as we found an excellent restaurant opposite the hotel.

I actually booked directly through "Friends of the Paradors" and by showing my card at reception I was entitled to a voucher for a free glass of wine for my wife and myself. When I came to change this on the terrace I was told I could only have the free wine in the bar. Only a little thing but why do they need to be so picky. It leaves a bad feeling.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibsandbobs4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

we really enjoyed the town of Ronda and this parador is right in the center of the town... right next to the new bridge and a short walk to explore the town... we enjoyed our stay here...there was a computer that we used to access the free internet which we appreciated....

Room Tip: we were in room 2... it opened out to a grassy area... did not have a view like other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The 120m deep canyon (tajo) in Ronda is truly stupendous. Staying any where other than perched on the edge overlooking it and the Puente Nuevo (new bridge) would be to miss the beauty of the main feature for miles around. The Parador hotel chain is state owned with castles, mansions, and in this case the old Town Hall - a bit like our National Trust, commercially preserving the past. I stayed off season in December but I can imagine that during the summer it would be full of tourists. Off season it was a delight yet busy enough for the restaurant to still be good.

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading to a superior room for the view (unless you don't like heights of cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilJJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

A more modern parador than some of the paradoes we had stayed in during two weeks in Spain. Did not have the historic feel of some of the older paradoes but made up for it with its spectacular view and convenient location and also being in Ronda which is a splendid town with lots to do and excellent places to eat. The parador sits between the old city and the newer city so easy to walk to either in minutes. We ate breakfast and a dinner at the parador and had good but not special meals. There were lots of large Asian groups staying at the parador and they took full advantage of the breakfast buffet making it hard to get to the buffet and find what you wanted. The room were adequate but nothing too special. The internet was very annoying and hard to stay on the internet. But once again the view made up for any problem. The gorge is just amazing and Ronda takes full advantage of the landscape. Find a place to eat with a view. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler6102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had an absolutely spectacular view of the country side from our room. Just wish we'd had more time to fully appreciate it and watch the sunset. If you stay here, ask for rooms 214-219 to get the view. Not sure what rooms you need to ask for on the other 3 floors. Unfortunately the staff didn't live up to the view; just another tourist hotel. We've been traveling around Spain and the only hotel staff less accommodating were the ones in Madrid. The breakfast was very "packaged"--"fresh" pastries were stale and many were packaged; jams, honey, cereal was all packaged; unclear whether you could order fresh cooked eggs; and the worst: coffee was awful even by American standards and tea was lukewarm. Would stay here only for the view and would try to get a lower price by not having breakfast included in room price.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank hammama59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Ronda
Catalonia Ronda
#2 of 40 in Ronda
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#8 of 40 in Ronda
558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#5 of 40 in Ronda
1,374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maestranza
Hotel Maestranza
#21 of 40 in Ronda
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Ronda

Address: Plaza Espana s/n, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#6 Family Hotel in Ronda
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: $96 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Ronda 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Ronda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Ronda Hotel Ronda
Parador De Hotel Ronda
Ronda Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing