We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a slightly tired hotel.”
Review of Parador de Ronda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Ronda
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed one night here. The hotel is in a great location overlooking the river gorge with a good view of the bridge. We stayed on the ground floor, with a small private grassed area and patio next to the swimming pool. The room was large with a double bed and sofa and free Wi-Fi. Although we were happy with our room, it felt that the décor and fitments had seen better days. The patio door had a faulty lock, and we managed to lock ourselves out of our room when it closed. This we reported and has been hopefully fixed by now. We also noticed an electric socket coming away from the wall. All this being said, we enjoyed our stay, with the hotel’s location being the main attraction. The breakfast was good with a large selection of hot and cold food.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room overlooking the gorge.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downsouth20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,885)
There are newer reviews for Parador de Ronda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,885 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having heard good things about paradores for years, we looked forward to our stay in Ronda. The location on the gorge is truly exceptional but many other features lacked far behind. Our room was nice but had evidence that it needed a more thorough cleaning than it had received recently. The breakfast was by far the least appealing we saw in 12 days in Spain. The service level was what one would expect of any government run entity. If your sole goal is to stay ina unique location, all will be well. If you are interested in more than that, you may be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ledyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The main attraction in Ronda, Spain is its amazing gorge, which runs through the center of town. Parador de Ronda sits right at the top of the gorge overlooking the amazing land and hill side. Our room had a nice view of the hill side as most of the rooms do as well. The hotel staff is nice and courteous (and speak very good english) and answered all or our questions. The breakfast is served in their restaurant and had a nice selection. You can sit outside on the terrace while having your coffee and look at the views. Since the hotel sits at the top of the gorge, right at the amazing high bridge connecting the two sides, its easy to visit all the attractions and sights on both sides. We arrived in Ronda from Seville by bus. The bus station and the train station are not too far from the hotel. We were able to walk from the bus station to the hotel but if you have bags, you'll need a cab to get to the train station. Overall our visit to Ronda was wonderful and we'd stay at this hotel again if we come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joesad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for two days and were upgraded from a superior room to a duplex suite with a private terrace on the upper floor, overlooking the garden, swimming pool and gorge. We stayed on half board and spent much of our time exploring the old town and the gorge area.

The parador is in a spectacular position as many have commented on. Our suite was a real treat, though slightly let down by lack if wifi in the room and the bath did not work as a whirlpool as it was meant to. Service in the main evening bar and lower level daytime bar could have been better and I found myself having to go looking for someone to serve us. Be aware that you will be charged 15% extra for sitting on the terrace, something we have not seen in other paradors. The garage has plenty of space but is no longer free to Amigos, it now costs 22 euros per day, but there are few alternatives if you come by car.

Food in the restaurant was good, though there were a number of large groups staying and the breakfast buffet was not replenished as promptly as would have been wished. Still, all in all, we would recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We only stayed one night bussing in from Seville in the morning and out by train to Granada the following morning. We arrived at the hotel before 12.00 am and the very friendly lady on reception told us our room would be ready by 1.00pm. We were offered safe storage for our bags and went for a coffee and walk and when we returned just after 1.00 pm our room was ready and what's more we had been upgraded from a superior double to a suite. This was a nice surprise and we were sorry we only had the one night to enjoy our two bathrooms and two balconies! The hotel is decorated in a conservative manner and is well worn but not overly tired. It is probably due for a makeover in the next couple of years but don't get me wrong, it is still very comfortable, clean and comforting in the nicest way. We did not eat in house as hotel restaurants are not our thing and we had to leave before breakfast the next day so cannot offer comment on these. As for the views - well from our suite they were fantastic and we will forever have fond memories of the Parador de Ronda.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed for two days in September, got an upgrade from a superior room to a suite with large balcony with wonderful views of Andalusia, staff were friendly and spoke good English. Hotel was comfortable as were the beds, it's well located for all the sights in Ronda and it's got its own car parking. Room was more expensive than the hotel we stayed at in Cordoba hence the lowish value for money score. Wifi didn't work in the room you had to go to the public area to use it so that was a bit of an inconvenience but it was free but would stay here again if we go back to Ronda.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airportblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great location but falls short on atmosphere, service and attitude. Front desk staff on check in was brusque and cool. No wi-if reached our room so had to go to reception for connection. Decor is institutional. Wish we had stayed elsewhere in this charming town.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#6 of 40 in Ronda
527 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 40 in Ronda
1,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
0.3 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 40 in Ronda
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Ronda

Address: Plaza Espana s/n, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#8 Family Hotel in Ronda
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: $116 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Ronda 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parador de Ronda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Ronda Hotel Ronda
Parador De Hotel Ronda
Ronda Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing