We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but 4 stars questionable”
Review of Parador de Ronda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Ronda
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Ronda parador is in the most amazing location, not only to explore Ronda (which is a wonderful town), but also to explore the Pueblos Blancos. We loved Setenil with the rock overhangs. We also enjoyed the tour (nice and cool) of cave paintings in the Cueva Pileta and swimming in the pool under the Cueva del Gato.

As far as the Ronda parador goes, its location truly is remarkable. Request a room that's not on the main street. Ours overlooked the bridge and it as so quiet, and the views were spectacular. I do wonder at this being rated a 4-star hotel. It was nice and the sheets were very clean, but it had frayed rugs, stains on in-room rugs, and the furniture looked a little worn.

Breakfast had a large varoety--a lot of scary sausages in juice that were not to our American tastes, but so many choices that we always had plenty to choose from.

We had to pay 22 euros per night for parking, but were glad it was available.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,967)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 1,967 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a Superior Twin which was a corner room which had a huge terrace that over looked the bridge, Puente Nuevo. The room had a very slight problem with ants, but it was negligible. The front desk staff was helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening. The food was good and the staff were accommodating and professional. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AfroTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The view was indeed spectacular and our room was perfectly fine. No real complaints there. The breakfast buffet was not great but did offer some limited fresh fruit that a previous reviewer(Mcguyver) must have missed. Fresh cut oranges, pineapple, and whole fresh fruit like kiwi, apples and nectarines. I too would have disappointed not to have fresh fruit as a part of my breakfast.
I will also echo Mcguyvers caution about the car. Don't think that you can drive an American sized car down these narrow old-town streets. It just won't fit. Also beware of the underground parking. You need a Smartcar to navigate without having to do multiple backing up and adjusting to get into a parking spot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimio52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is surrounded by great view. Unfortunately, my room was facing the street and the noise was just unbearable. The bathroom was another nightmare, the water from the shower dripped non stop throughout the night no matter how you try to turn the tap. Aircon broke down in the middle of the night, leaving the room hot and suffocating. The only reply from the reception was: you could have called the reception. Well, I seriously didn't expect anyone would be picking up the phone call at 2am as the lights were switched off while I was still sitting in the lobby for a drink at 12am.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fera F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Fantastic location with gorgeous views of the cliff..literally next to the bridge..you walk out of the hotel onto the bridge with gorgeous views of the cliff. i got a great room as well with breathtaking views.

The room was top notch and very spacious. The staff were helpful with train schedules etc. Wifi was spotty, but nothing to complain about otherwise. Very impressive breakfast spread, a little expensive though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the cliff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ksing12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went to Ronda for a long weekend away and stayed at this fantastic hotel. The location is perfect and sits above the gorge with excellent views of the surrounding area and bridge. Our room 115 was a superior twin and the view from our room was top class. Walking onto the balcony in the morning and looking at the view was incredible and something I'll remember forever.

Although the building is old, the hotel itself is very modern and the room met all of our needs and was a perfect place to rest our heads after spending the day looking around this beautiful town. The room and bathroom were very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. You also get free wifi in the rooms and there is satellite tv but there are only a couple of English speaking channels. Honestly though I doubt you'll have come to Ronda to watch TV :)

The pool area was quite small but we had no problems getting a sunbed when we went down to sunbathe. Sunbathing at the pool and looking out at the views was very relaxing.

Breakfast for us was the only real bad point of staying here as we didn't really feel that there was too much choice available. Plenty of pastries and fruit though but not enough hot food for our liking, Having forked out something like 18 euro each for breakfast I was slightly surprised that on top of that you had to pay extra for orange juice.

This hotel is a little bit more pricey than other hotels in Ronda but honestly it's worth every penny because of the location and views you get with the hotel. We had no real complaints when we stayed here, all the staff were very professional and we left Ronda having had one of our best weekends away, We will be back to Ronda one day and we would definitely stay at the Parador again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skippy_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Parador because we felt its location would be unbeatable and we weren’t wrong. While our rooms were spacious with huge picture window overlooking a breathtaking view they were let down by a rather ordinary bathroom. A further downer was the staff made us feel we were and imposition rather than patrons. Despite all the shines and sparkles of the lobby Parador is in sore need of a refit. Nevertheless as far as I am concerned it is still one of the best places in town to take advantage of the magnificent scenery and while a little tired still deserving of 4 stars and certainly deserving of recommendation. While picture book Ronda is probably a little out of the way for those visiting Spain it is one of those places where inconvenience should be set aside for one of the most rewarding diversions one might ever experience. Dating back more than three thousand years Ronda perches, sometimes precariously at the edge of a plateau. The city itself is divided by the el Tajo gorge which is spanned by an ancient very sturdily built stone arch bridge. Beyond the cliff of the plateau is what has to be one of the most picturesque valleys in the world. I won’t even try to describe the breath taking panorama rolling down in the valley below. Look around in any direction and you cannot avoid seeing the crumbling legacies of the long forgotten cultures who left their enduring mark on this magical place. Personally I can’t think of a better place to enjoy that view than the Parador.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second or third floor overlooking the Tajo Gorge and the valley below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrewCommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Ronda
Catalonia Ronda
#2 of 40 in Ronda
206 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#8 of 40 in Ronda
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#5 of 40 in Ronda
1,368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maestranza
Hotel Maestranza
#21 of 40 in Ronda
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Ronda

Address: Plaza Espana s/n, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#6 Family Hotel in Ronda
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: $93 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Ronda 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parador de Ronda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Ronda Hotel Ronda
Parador De Hotel Ronda
Ronda Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing