We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and luxurious villa in peaceful...”
Welcome to Villa Casa Sonana!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Villa Casa Sonana!
Villa Casa Sonana - living area. El Salon at Villa Casa Sonana
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
93 reviews
Welcome to Villa Casa Sonana!
Villa Casa Sonana - living area.
El Salon at Villa Casa Sonana
large comfortable living space at Casa Sonana
Choose a book from Sonana's personal library.
Indoor Dining at Villa Casa Sonana
Large, modern and fully equipped kitchen.
A Kitchen with a View.
Bedroom Las Vistas - another large double room - views all around.
Each bedroom has its own unique ensuite bathrooms
Bedroom El Jardin - a large double bedroom with patio doors onto terrace and gardens.
Bright and modern en-suite bathrooms
Bedroom El Rio - a large twin room with balcony and amazing views.
Bedroom Las Salinas - a beautiful twin bedroom with balcony.
Large family bathroom.
Terrace Dining - amazing views all around.
All bedrooms with a View.
Large Pool & Large Casa.
A children's pool & 10m adult pool.
Children love Villa Casa Sonana
Ronda at night.
Picking apricots from Villa Casa Sonana's private orchard.
Villa Casa Sonana - Rural Andalucian Chic!
Bienvenidos a Villa Casa Sonana
Villa Casa Sonana - Rural Andalucian Chic.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ronda, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 93 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Julie M
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and luxurious villa in peaceful Andalucia”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Beautiful, luxurious villa perfect for a large group (we were 8). Isolated location with fantastic views. Very peaceful but close to a large village, and of course Ronda; a great base for exploring Southern Spain.
As it was December we weren't outside much, but the patios/pool/BBQ area look great! Bedrooms very comfortable and ensuite bathrooms to every bedroom.
Lovely touches like a wine cellar to dip into (paid at end of holiday).
Well appointed kitchen- we even cooked a couple of times!
Would definitely come again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious living room area.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2016
Hola Julie. We are thrilled to read your review and delighted that you all had a fantastic Christmas & New Year break at Villa Casa Sonana. Glad you enjoyed the Villa's own little wine bodega, did you know that the wine is now made by the architect that designed our Villa originally! It was our pleasure to welcome you and your friends to Casa Sonana and hope we can do so again in the future. You know just to contact me personally when you wish to do this. Until then, Saludos :) Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smcolling...
Aylesford
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Retreat into the calm of the Andalucían countryside”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We previously visited Casa Sonana on three successive holidays between 2009 and 2011 and then returned again this year.

Casa Sonana is a beautiful and relaxing home from home; one that all my family adore. We all have wonderful memories of the house and have seen the gardens flourish over the years. Over the years we have also had grandparents and friends staying too.

The villa is in an idyllic position looking across the valley to the Sierra de las Salinas dotted with olive groves. It is secluded and yet within easy reach of the lovely village of Arriate with good tapas restaurants and shops selling local produce. Ronda is also a short car journey away.

All the rooms are lovely and the kitchen is well appointed with a great built-in charcoal grill and bread oven outside. The pool is large and refreshing - the children have particularly enjoyed this over the years!

We appreciate Jill and Callum's vision and commitment to creating such a wonderful place.

There is a palpable sense of calm here which allows you to immerse yourself in this part of Andalucía: the beautiful landscape, rolling hills, food, wine and the gentle breeze across the valley. At any time of day you never tire of sitting on the terrace, or beneath the shade of the willow trees, and looking across the valley. Morning, midday and evening are all special times.

Highly recommended and we will return.

¡Fantastico!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Hola Shaun y todos! it was our pleasure to welcome you all back to Villa Casa Sonana for the 4th time, and delighted to learn that it continues to captivate you. It truly is a very special part of the world. Hope we can welcome you again next year. Until then, as always, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Andalusian Luxury”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our fourth visit to Casa Sonaña, but we hadn't been for nearly six years. We had forgotten just how beautiful the house and the location are - stunning. We rent many properties in Spain and elsewhere, without doubt this house is by far the best equipped of any we have been to. We experienced a heat wave (yes even for Spain in July!) when we were there but it was wonderful to have the lovely house garden and pool to relax in. Jill and her team facilitate the whole experience to make your stay perfect, nothing is too much trouble. Having renewed our acquaintance with Casa Sonaña, we hope to return soon. I would have no reservations in recommending this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2015
Hola Jim y todos! It was our great pleasure to welcome you back to Villa Casa Sonana again, thank you for returning and we are delighted that we continue to exceed your expectations. The Villa flourishes every year as we continue to develop our garden and all our services for our guests - so pleased it hit the mark for you again. As always, please just contact me personally when you wish to return, Casa Sonana will be waiting for you! Until then, as always, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbs3000
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful family villa”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We visited the villa in late May / early June and had an absolutely fantastic time. The villa certainly has the "wow" factor, it's stylishly designed and also very well appointed with everything we needed. It felt like a real home from home and there were plenty of things to keep our two year old daughter entertained! Our local contacts were also very helpful whenever we had any questions or needed advice.

Not a fault of the villa at all, but we did find that the pool was a little chilly for our daughter since it was quite early summer, but we bought her a cheap wetsuit which helped a lot. Overall it was a great time of year to visit since the weather wasn't oppressively hot - presumably July/August are a different story!

Although the villa is not far from Arriate do be prepared to drive everywhere if you have young kids since the walk into the village is too far for little legs. Also be prepared for the fun and games of negotiating Arriate's very narrow and hilly streets - which we found a little daunting at first but got the hang of using the convex mirrors to spot approaching traffic!

Arriate itself is a lovely little place, off the tourist track. Embarrassing we didn't speak Spanish, and English isn't widely spoken, but we got by ok in the shops and restaurants with some improvised miming and pointing. We had an amazing meal at Restaurante El Muelle de Arriate, the owner, Frank, was very welcoming and helped us choose some delicious dishes - a visit there is highly recommended!

We also made several trips into Ronda, which is a must!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2015
Hola Nick y todos. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. Delighted that you all enjoyed Villa Casa Sonana and our local Pueblo Blanco of Arriate and Ronda, it really is a special part of the world that is still unspoilt by tourism, so you can really get to experience the 'real Spain' right on the Villa's doorstep. Sorry the pool was a little chilly for your daughter, its temperature at that time of year is really dictated by the preceding weather so it can be variable, but often is very usable at that time of year. Good to hear this didn't deter her! Thank you again for choosing Villa Casa Sonana, our Team on the ground and ourselves enjoying having you stay with us. Until the next time, as always, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M
1 review
“A blissful week in a fantastic location”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From the first contact with Jill I knew we would have a wonderful week. When we arrived the villa was spotless and so well equipped. The kitchen cupboards were full of the basic ingredients and there were even two little bottles of home grown olive oil.
The views are fantastic and lying by the pool watching and listening to the birds was so relaxing.
There is plenty to explore in Ronda and the nearby villages. We had a hire car but in the end decided that we all wanted to sample the local wines so ended up using taxis a lot. Jill has written heaps about what to do locally, where to eat and drink which made it very easy for us.
Thoroughly recommend the villa to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views across and along the valley
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2015
Hola Diana. thank you so much for your review, and delighted that you loved Villa Casa Sonana and the local area. We are very excited about our very first pressing of our olive oil - isn't it tasty! By next year's harvest we will have labels made, currently we are wondering what to call it and how to design a label - so any ideas, please let me know! I was quite jealous reading how you enjoyed the birdsong whilst lazing by the pool, i can hear them now, it really is quite joyous. thanks again for choosing us, and as before, you know just to contact me personally when you wish to return. (don't leave it too late as we do get booked up very quickly for the main summer months). Until then, as always, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorraineM...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just Brilliant”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a great time at this villa, everything you ever need and more, I don't just mean the villa, location and sun, even within the Villa you want for nothing. Jill organised the delivery of our shopping for arrival, the tapas for our dinner and booked our restaurant for Sunday lunch. All of which helped us relax very quickly. Arriate is a lovely town and the locals are great, nice bars and quite frankly the best restaurant I have ever been to on holiday El Maule. We will be back.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2015
Hola Lorraine. thank you so much for such kind words. We are all delighted that you loved everything about Villa Casa Sonana. As you now know, my full time job is in luxury hotels, so its easy for me just to transfer this experience to Casa Sonana, not just in the hardware of the Villa and the grounds, but also all those additional services which are often enjoyed by our villa guests. Arriate and the local area (and Restaurant El Muelle) do the rest for it with its natural beauty. Great news that you all loved it, thanks for choosing us, and you know just to contact me personally when you wish to return. Until then, as always, Saludos:) Jill,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy F
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Week!”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Villa Casa Sonana in early June and had a lovely week. The villa is beautiful - very clean, light and spacious with lovely furnishings and décor. We like to cook and the kitchen was well equipped with a lovely big fridge and a bbq area. For me, the best thing about the villa was the beautiful view - it's set into a valley and looks out over the most beautiful countryside, and is totally peaceful. Sitting on the terrace and looking out onto such lovely surroundings whilst eating dinner was a real treat. We went on daytrips to Marbella, Peurto Banus and Ronda, all of which are relatively close and worth visiting. We also ate at El Muelle de Arriate a couple of times, which was delicious. Definitely make sure you visit for lunch or dinner, Frank is a wonderful host. Booking the villa was very easy and Jill is so helpful and very accommodating - we had a couple of queries and special dietary requirements and she couldn't have been more kind. Also, the people we met who look after the villa locally and greeted us on arrival were so friendly and more than happy to be contacted at any time. It really does make a difference to know that if you have any issues at all there are people you can ask and they will come back with helpful solutions! All in all we had a really lovely relaxing week, so thank you to everyone at Villa Casa Sonana for looking after us so well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Having to drive to most places although I was fully aware of this
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2015
Hola Lucy,
Thank you for your kind words - most appreciated, and we are delighted that you all loved Villa Casa Sonana and the local area. I agree, the view surrounding the Villa is truly special, and like yourself we have also spent many a magical evening on the terrace enjoying the awesome views. Good to hear that Andalucia catered for the special dietary requirements also, it would have been awful if you weren't able to sample the local wonderful cuisine. Thanks again and hope we can welcome you all back to Villa Casa Sonana sometime in the future. Until then, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing