We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous Villa with impressive views near to the...”
Welcome to Villa Casa Sonana - a real luxury villa!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Villa Casa Sonana - a real luxury villa!
Villa Casa Sonana - Andalucian Rural Chic.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
Welcome to Villa Casa Sonana - a real luxury villa!
Villa Casa Sonana - Andalucian Rural Chic.
Picking Apricots from our Orchard.JPG
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ronda, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Angela M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Villa with impressive views near to the lovel village of Arriate”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The hosts for this villa give a very warm welcome and make sure all your initial needs are met. We had requested a small food shop and our evening meal to be prepared making that first night after a long journey very relaxing and easy. It took around 1 1/2 to 2 hours to get to Malaga but it was a fairly easy main road drive all the way until the village when your host meets you to guide you through the village and to your villa.

The villa is very spacious and the garden was perfect for our little 2 year old to run around saftely. There was a stack of toys and cuttlery etc for little ones and we were even able to get a bed guard put up for our son saving on packing a travel bed.

The villa overlooks farmland and is in a really peaceful setting. Although you can walk to the nearest village of Arriate in about 10 minutes a car is probably still essential for food shops and getting around elsewhere. We went to an amazing restaurant next to Arriate train station I forget the name but the owner Frank is an amazing host and the meal was superb. He even took our little boy into the kitchen to fetch his evening bottle of milk.

I'd recommend this villa to any form of group, friends, young family would all enjoy their stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views across the fields from the garden
Liked least: We went out of season so with colder weather the pool is a bit chilly for little ones
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2013
Hola Angela, Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate your feedback and delighted that everyone enjoyed Casa Sońana. The restaurant next to the station in Arriate is called El Muelle - i'll tell Frank that you enjoyed it. It is a great addition to our little Pueblo Blanco. Glad that all the kids-stuff was welcomed at the Villa, I remember how much stuff you had to pack for little ones, so good to know that this helped. Thanks again for booking Villa Casa Sońana and hope we can welcome you all back again in the future. Until then, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Two perfect weeks!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We traveled with our 2 year old son to Villa Casa Sonana in July. It was one of the best holidays we have ever had, the villa was stunning and location simply beautiful. The location was fantastic for travelling around a bit - we did lots of day trips to beaches with our son, and there were lots of toys in the villa to keep him happily entertained for the fortnight. It is so well set up for families, and we also sampled delights of the in house dining to give us a break from cooking for a couple of nights- the tapas was incredible!
Thank you Jill for a wonderful stay - we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Family friendly feel
Liked least: There wasn't anything not to like!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2013
Hola Zoe, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review - most appreciated. We are delighted that you all had on of your best holidays ever - that means so much to us, and so pleased that everyone in the family enjoyed it. It will be a pleasure to welcome you all back soon, (bookings are already coming in for next year now so be quick!) and you know just to contact me personally when you wish to do this. Until then, Saludos:) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena P
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“AMAZING”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Spent a wonderful two weeks at Casa Sonana, what you see on the website is what you get, beautiful house with fab pool in a peaceful area just outside Arriate and very close to Ronda. The views from the house were breathtaking. The information on the house was very useful, top tips from owners. Food and drink was much cheaper than we were expecting esp as we had 4 teenagers with us. Lots of lovely local villages to explore, but for us in July/Aug it was too hot to do anything other than eat, sleep, sunbathe and swim. Can't recommend it more highly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and pool
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2013
Hola Serena. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - and we are delighted that everyone loved Casa Sońana. You are right that food/drink is still much cheaper in this area, especially Arriate, we often find that we can have a super night-out with lots of food and drink still for under 20 euros each - you dont get that in many places now ! We would love to welcome you all back again and please just contact me personally when you wish to do this. Regards to everyone. Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben101Lon...
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome villa”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Stayed with my family for a week in August. Fantastic villa with great luxury interiors, pools, bbq etc, and amazing rural location overlooking hills and olive groves. Remote enough but still close to a traditional Spanish town for all essentials plus only 20 mins from centre of ronda. Golf courses and the coast also within striking distance. Great service from owners pre, during and post hols plus a number of great touches such as doing shopping for you so ready when you get there, in villa wine cellar, kids toys etc, and suggestions for things to do locally, lift this above similar rentals. Can recommend having the in villa dining option via owners friend, was great, plus day trips to surrounding hill towns. You will pay appropriately for this villa but the experience means it is good value. Will hopefully be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2013
Hola Alex, thanks for your comments, delighted that everyone loved Villa Casa Sońana and the surrounding area. It really is a very magical part of the world. Pleased that you also enjoyed our 'additional services'. As the top end hotel/hospitality is my full time profession, then many of these come naturally to me, and we continually try to build on these also, so pleased you enjoyed them. Thanks to you all for booking Casa Sońana, it would be great to welcome you back again, and you know just contact me personally when you wish to do this. Until then, as always, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house in a great location perfect for a family reunion.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at Villa Casa Sonana in early June. The house was excellent - very well appointed and in a beautiful location. The house was spacious, the beds comfortable and the pool excellent. It was also very convenient for Ronda and other "white towns". Don't miss the Cueva de la Pileta, they were one of the highlights of our stay (along with the Alhambra in Grenada).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and location.
Liked least: The stay was too short!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2013
Hola Todos ! Many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted that you loved Villa Casa Sońana. We agree, Cuevas de las Pilatas are wonderful, we have been many times and never tire of them. It was a pleasure being able to host your family reunion at Casa Sońana, it does lend itself well for that, and you are welcome back at anytime. You know just to contact me personally when you wish to do this. Until then, enjoy the rest of this summer, and best regards to everyone. Until the next time, Saludos :) Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam L
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding, high spec and private!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Having booked our stay at the last minute to escape the winter gloom we had no idea about the location or area and took a lucky dip. BOY...did we hit the jackpot!!! What else is there to say that hasn't been said before. This house is fantastic and the photos from the website don't oversell it a single bit....it's a truly luxurious, contemporary and spacious property. I will try and add a few more comment though.

My wife and our three children (twin boys 6yrs and girl 2yrs) absolutely relished the privacy of Casa Sonana. The house isn't overlooked and we felt extremely secure and at home the second we arrived which meant we could slip into holiday and family mode instantly. After rearranging a few of the ornaments to "twin proof" the property we felt perfectly comfortable giving them the freedom to treat it as they would their own home and tear about the house, thankfully it is designed with this in mind. The furnishings are simple but extremely comfortable and practical, the beds are especially comfy and we really appreciated the electric shutters on all the bedroom windows which meant the kids had a good night sleep each and every night. Other highlights were the beautiful, peaceful garden, safe for all the kids and with truly gorgeous views over the valley. Underfloor heating in the entire house...every square inch. It was very welcome on a couple of the mornings as it got chilly through the night (first week April). There was an extremely well equipped kitchen with absolutely everything you could possibly need for all ages of children, also, everything needed for picnics out and about, cool bags, sun hats, sun cream, buckets and spades...even spare nappies. Most of these were obviously left by previous guests, but we weren't complaining as they all came in extremely useful. Great selection of toys for kids 8yrs and younger. The in-house wine selection was very useful and saved us worrying about making good choices in the local supermarket. The local village, Arriate, is a gem...a really unspoilt and picturesque village with a good selection of local shops and a wonderfully typical Spanish vibe, perfect for short walks with the kids and strange looks from the locals. We visited Ronda on several occasions and really fell in love with the town. The in-house info provided by Jill was invaluable and we took many of her recommendations for trips out and were never disappointed.

Extra tips we would both like to share. We made the journey to Del Cristo beach in Estapona on 3 occasions and can highly recommend this for small children. It was virtually deserted in April and was approx a 1hr drive each way.
You can buy huge bags of oranges for next to nothing and there's a very good electric juicing machine in the house so we had masses of fresh juice every day.
The restaurant in the old train station in Arriate (can't remember the name) is brilliant. Frank is the owner and he's from Belgium...fantastic english and very friendly. We left our ordering up to him on two occasions and he selected wonderful, quality food.
The pools were too cold to use in April (other than for bravado) so bear this in mind.
The TV could do with updating...but only a very minor improvement.
Wi-Fi worked perfectly throughout the entire week.

All in all we couldn't have been happier with our stay at Casa Sonana. From the second we booked until the moment we got home it was a seamless and fantastic holiday. Jill really does require another mention as her attention to detail both in the house and within her book of info is remarkable and made for a rich, enjoyable and rewarding visit to Andalusia. We are already looking forward to returning as soon as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious property
Liked least: road to the property is a bit bumpy
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2013
Hola Sam y todos. thank you so much for such wonderful comments. We are truly delighted that you all enjoyed your holiday and found Villa Casa Sońana to be everything (and perhaps more) than you expected. I work in the International Hotel & Hospitality business, so I do run the Villa as I would be running top star hotels, and its great that you enjoyed all of this. We will be trying out the beach you found this summer - thanks for the tip! Hope we can welcome you back again - please just contact me personally when you wish to do this. Until then, Besos a todos. Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean H
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Villa in a quiet area”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

A real lovely villa and so easy to relax at; although we did not have the best of weather we
still had a holiday to remember; just a pity we could not enjoy the outside facilities more; namely
the wonderful pool (because of the cold), but still managed to take advantage of the built
in BBQ. The villa was so well equipped with everything including bathrobes and slippers.
I would not hesitate to recommend Casa Sonana to anyone. Many places to visit in the area and good restaurants; we found the one at the Old Station in Arriate run by "Frank" to be worth a visit, in fact we went back twice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall ambiance of the place and equipment supplied
Liked least: The weather we had
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2013
Hola Todos. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review - most appreciated. Sorry that the weather didnt behave as it should have during your May week, that wasn't normal for that time of year. But good to hear that it didnt stop you all having a good time, and taking advantage of all that Casa Sońana offers and indeed the local area. Hopefully when you come back again, the weather will do as its told and you can enjoy the pool next time! Until then, as always, Saludos. Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing