We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovative food and great service”
Review of Almocabar

Almocabar
Ranked #10 of 281 Restaurants in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
South Durras, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Innovative food and great service”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our family group of parents and adult children needed a really good dinner after a long day and a less than exciting lunch. We chanced upon Almodavar and booked dinner, and later checked with our hotel. They recommended the same restaurant!
We found the food light and innovative. Everything very fresh, with interesting combinations of ingredients. We took recommendations from the head waiter and we're not disappointed. The small stuffed calamari with onions and truffle were among the memorable dishes. English was in short supply, but somehow it did not matter.
We ate outside- it was fine, but a little chilly towards midnight.
The bill was a tad high, but then the food was magic!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    185
    35
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good food in good location”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The staff were very helpful and happy to move our table to a more comfortable location where the setting sun did not shine in our eyes. The food was very good and not to be rushed. The quantities were certainly not for the faint hearted. All in all good food in a good location. You cannot ask for more.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Traditional Spanish food, well cooked but not overly exciting.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

It was a warm night and so daylight when we arrived, hoping to eat dinner outside but we're told by the manager that we had to eat inside as it was too cold. Annoying but we went inside. The service was efficient, minimal English but there was a young waiter whose enthusiasm and friendliness that made our night, he was so helpful. I had slow roasted lamb and my partner had ox tail stew. They came with some grilled peppers and unfortunately, some rather dry potato fries, roast or boiled potatoes would have gone do much better with the dishes. The lamb was cooked beautifully, being as delicious as my nanna's slow roasted lamb and the ox tail stew was also good with meat falling apart but could have had a bit more flavour. These were well cooked traditional dishes but nothing exciting. Dessert was a hot chocolate fondant with white chocolate icecream and I loved it! Not the fanciest presentation but soooo chocolatey and satisfying! Given dessert wine/sherry on the house at the end of the meal. We left full and happy but not exciting enough to revisit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GypsyLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch in the barrio San Francisco”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

After taking a walk through the Old Town to the barrio San Francisco and strolling around there, we ate lunch at Almocabar. Other than the front door being open, it really didn’t look open for business, so we walked in and asked, “Abierto?” Si. “Tapas?” Si. We sat in the bar, where we could watch people come and go. We had ajo blanco (cool and creamy garlic and almond soup with a surprise of frozen melon balls) and three open-faced sandwiches (duck with strawberry jam and Pedro Ximénez, pork with piquillo peppers, and sheep cheese with tangerine jam). The sandwiches were all very different, and very tasty. Food arrived as it was ready. So our visit started out on a doubtful note, but ended very pleasantly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Best meal of our trip so far. Had the duck leg and king prawns. They were to die for! Fantastic service from the waiters too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TingtingYew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almocabar also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Almocabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing