We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A succulent find in Ronda” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Almocabar

Almocabar
Ranked #9 of 265 Restaurants in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
La Cala de Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A succulent find in Ronda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We randomly find this restaurant, indeed, thanks to the reviews on the TripAdvisor and we have found a amazing gem : the food is fresh and does the honor of the local cuisine using "terroir" products coming from the Hunt of the nearby big forests so they have a Card with a diversified Prey such as Faisan, perdrix or sweetbread which we took from the first course with a Homemade Pate of Pheasant, a marvel of taste. Not to mention the card of red wine which is in perfect harmony with the type of food they serve. We will come back to taste the "Cote de Boeuf" which as the plates we took, is generously served.! See you soon and congrats because you are all doing a very great job there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PerladeTorrenueva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    170
    33
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the walk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the Parador Ronda and this spot was recommended by the desk person for the best tapas restaurant in town but it would be about a 15 minute walk up the hill & over, thru town in the rain. So we braved the elements and were greatly rewarded for our efforts. This is a small, friendly, warm restaurant with great food and service. Our 15 y/o boy and his school pal were in Spanish language program so we have not problem ordering our dishes also the waiter was helpful as were several of the customers so do not worry about the enjoying the experience and ordering you food and wines.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wjj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
“Just lovely and wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The food here was just great. We tried a melva salad and some lovely hard cheese in oil. The bread, oil and house wine were all excellent - always a good sign! The service was attentive and helpful. We ate probably 100 meals around Spain during our trip and this was one of the stand outs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EMWoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with our 5 year old, we struggled to find decent regional food off the tourist strip. Found this place after a lot of searching.

The food was the best we've had during our 6 day trip through Andalusia. The squid and sword fish were to die for.

Unlike the sad touristy places around the Puente Nuevo,this place was packed -not just with foreign vacationers (like us). Our waiter was wonderful and brought our sons meal -plain pasta -out right away.

So so happy we did our homework and found this place. It's a nice walk through the old city and around the Alcazaba too.

Helpful?
Thank Tippy1781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We ate here both nights we were in Ronda as we liked it so much the first time. We both had delicious cold soups with a scoop of sorbet in the middle (mine was gazpacho and I'm still dreaming about it). There was an interesting selection of main courses and my husband particularly recommends the partridge. The restaurant is small so book in advance or arrive early.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank J1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almocabar also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
 

Been to Almocabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing