We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good mid-price restaurant”
Review of Puerta Grande

Puerta Grande
Ranked #6 of 270 Restaurants in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good mid-price restaurant”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We had a very good lunch on our first day in Ronda. The food was well prepared and reasonably priced. We were given dessert wine free of charge at the end of our meal. The service was unobtrusive, friendly and welcoming. In a street with several restaurants, Puerta Grande is a couple of minutes from the bullring and new bridge. An excellent choice for a relaxed meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank plantcollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    193
    43
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brookhaven, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Paella”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Amazing restaurant, with excellent food and wine. The owner Carlos pays attention to details and service. The delicious paella for two can easily be shared by three, leaving you a little room to share their wonderful homemade desserts. Lngering over such delicious food at one of their outdoor tables is the perfect way to spend an afternoon in Ronda.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelingteacher74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of the best”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We loved this restaurant. It was good value, really good food, excellent service and a wonderful ambience. We had a vegetarian paella and it is hard being a vegetarian in Spain, but this just hit the mark! Would highly recommend for carnivores and vegetarians alike.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A memorable evening”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our family dined in Puerta Grande last week and it was one of the best meals we had in Spain. Carlos was very attentive and eager to have us try the various local dishes- which he carefully explained- including oxtail. the unique gin and tonics, paella, an appetizer made of bread crumbs, a sweet dessert wine and other tasty items. We enjoyed everything and left in a very contented mood. We would certainly recommend this restaurant to others.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ambushed by Carlos”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife & I liked the look of the window menu. We were looking for a light Sunday night meal and were persuaded to enter by a waiter at the door. We ordered what we thought were four small dishes and were treated to an excellent combination of local dishes. Three would have been more than enough but they were so tasty we pushed through the lot. Carlos provided complimentory chilled wine and a taste of their Iberian ham to finish what was a excellent meal for under E 50. Yes, they cater for the tourist trade (which we were ) but we enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerta Grande also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Puerta Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing