We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a very nice hotel that we stayed at in June 2014 that I would recommend based on the setting and atmosphere. Its a little removed from the downtown area/gorge which is about a 3-6 block walk. The hotel has a superb panoramic view of the cliffs and mountains facing Ronda so if you go, its worth the extra euros to ask for a fourth floor room with the view. The room itself is a tad small and made more so by the fact that the washbasin is strangely in the room. Offsetting that is a good sized deck adjoining the room with chairs and a table. The hotel has an infinity pool that also enjoys the view. The buffet breakfast is expensive - 16 euros per person but probably the best I've had in Europe. The staff was friendly except for the officious front desk attendant who thinks way too highly of himself.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    357
    75
    26
    10
See reviews for
179
698
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed for two nights hotel is in a great location walking distance to all the sights of Ronda. We had a great room overlooking the gorge fantastic views. Most of the staff were very friendly with the exception of one. Jose on the bar was great. Yes shower, loo and washbasin are in the room but lots of hotels do this now and it didn't bother us. Only problem with room was hair dryer wired in and did not have enough lead on it. Breakfast was good but the hot food was cold. Only other thing we didn't like was the plastic lavender on the tables very tacky for a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Have a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisb1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReinaVictoria, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for using your time to give us your impressions about our Hotel.
We are pleased to Know that you enjoyed your stay and we look for a solution for the details that you explain in your kind review.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon in our lovely Hotel.

Best regard from Ronda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Wonderful place to stay in Ronda. We think it is the best! The facilities are impeccably clean, comfortable and attractive. The personnel is polite, efficient, and very professional. The food is excellent! What else can you ask for? Excellent relation between price and quality. Highly recommend it to everybody!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReinaVictoria, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that for you all was excellent and that you recommend us everybody.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best Regard from Ronda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just as you would expect from a 4 star hotel - very clean, modern, good sized rooms, pleasant staff. Good location just off the centre and an easy walk to the main points of interest.
BUT.........the one drawback is what has been referred to by other reviewers - the washbasin is inside the bedroom and the shower and WC are only separated from the bedroom by partially opaque screens. So......if you don't want to see your room partner having a shower or sitting on the loo, it would be better choose another hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthSomersetMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReinaVictoria, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your Stay with us and our apologies for the distribution of the rooms with the bath included on the room.It is a fashion style to give amplitude in the room, but perhaps not very successful by the architect and decorator .
But is a pleasure for us that you find only this one drawback and you like our staff, our rooms and we could exceed your expectations .

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best Regard from Ronda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days at the beginning of June after a visiting Madrid and Seville. This hotel is situated up a slight hill a little away from the main sights of Ronda (the bridge and the gorge) but within easy walking distance of these (10 minutes). It is 5 minutes walk from the bus station.The views from the terrace at the back of the hotel are superb - across the valley to mountains, barely another building in sight. The landscaping of the gardens is great - really smart. The standard double room we had was lovely - large and done to a great modern, stylish spec - though had no view to speak of. The large bathroom, with a huge shower cubicle, and really nice tiles, was great. Our room did not have the same issue with being small or having the bathroom cubicle obtrusively within the room which other travellers have mentioned. This may be because we were on the first floor rather than in rooms in the eves on higher floors.The communal areas (terrace, pool, lounge with large TVs showing sports) are all excellent. You can ask for separate towels for the pool at reception which is useful. The hotel was not busy when we were there (beginning of June) and as such we had a quiet, peaceful and relaxing time. We chose not have the extremely expensive breakfast, but did eat at the hotel restaurant one night which was quite reasonably priced considering, and had nice food. The only minor glitch was that the tap on the sink in our room was difficult to manipulate and leaked down the back of the sink, making the unit beneath it very wet; we did report this problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous_citybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReinaVictoria, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are so pleased to Know that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the recomendations to the rest of users of tripadvisor .

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
187 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 night recently. I agree with other reviewers that the layout of the bathroom and toilet are not ideal...unfortunately many hotels are going this route, possibly to save on space. That said we were not in the room that much. We had a superior double with gorge views......which are indeed stunning and worth the supplement. We had a separate area with a sofa bed and table so overall we felt the room was very spacious and comfortable. The bed was extremely comfortable and we both slept well. The outside corridors have laminate floorcoverings so the early morning departing coach parties pulling their wheelie cases can be noisy. The hairdryer location is an issue and the cord is short, there is also no where to hang towels! All that said you don't visit Ronda to spend too much time in the room as there is so much to do. We didn't eat in the hotel apart from a light lunch which was lovely, particularly when seated outside on the terrace enjoying the stunning views. The Spa facilities are good and the treatments well priced and it is definitely worth a visit. The pool area is good, infinity pool with great views. Could do with some more umbrellas as it is sun trap in that area. Parking is steep at 15E per day especially when you can park safely on the street outside, something I wish I had known beforehand. It seems to be a busy hotel with people staying for a couple of days at a time and coachloads of tourists arriving regularly. It is very centrally located and a pleasant walk uphill after a day sightseeing or enjoying the many excellent tapas bars in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReinaVictoria, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with your daugther in our Hotel.
And we consider all your suggestions about the facilities and services of the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel and although the grounds and view are beautiful, the room function was terrible. We had a superior double room with a gorgeous view of the gorge, but the room itself was form over function. The view did not make up for the room. Besides, we rarely spend time on the terrace and in this case, it could have used an umbrella with the table and chairs. It was too hot to sit on the terrace in the afternoon or early evening without an umbrella and there was no shade. The room was small and had no separate bathroom. While that in itself may not bother some travelers, it was a major contributor to how I felt about this property. In addition to having the sink practically right next to the bed, the sink was a bowl set on a cheap plastic countertop and the bowl wasn't sealed properly. If you splashed water outside the bowl,it leaked down to the shelf below, soaking the towels. There was no place to hang the towels, couldn't even throw them over the shower door. Additionally, the hair dryer was attached to the wall in such a way, that it was not usable. The cord wouldn't even reach someone my height (5'2") to be able to use it. Although the hotel was lovely to look at and the breakfast buffet was extensive, we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to find a room with a covered terrace if any exist or stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerKaren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.5 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
2.1 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
0.6 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa

Property: Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Address: Calle Jerez 25 | Ronda, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, totally renovated in 2012, is settled in a unique environment, between a lovely pine forest in the middle of the town, very close to Ronda's landmarks and the famous Tajo de Ronda. Around the hotel, which has 95 fully equipped rooms, there's an amazing 3,000sqm garden in which our guests can enjoy our swimming pool and our terrace. Hotel Ciudad H-MA-00042 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing