We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel with a stunning view.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with a stunning view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Located in a historic building right on the edge of Ronda cliff with an amazing view. It is quiet and peaceful, with tasty food and outstanding service. Not very luxury, but a very charming and pleasant place to stay. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    335
    69
    25
    10
See reviews for
166
656
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Pros:

Great location just 10 min walk to the center of Ronda. As it's located outside the city center makes it very quiet.

Rooms are very nice and furnished in a tasteful and modern way. Bed is very comfortable. Balcony was huge. Room has minibar. Very powerful AC.

Outdoor pool is lovely (although a bit cold). Views from the pools are stunning.

The SPA is really nice. It contains a small indoor pool for 4-6 people with different areas with bubbles and showers, as well as a hamman/sauna area. It also comes with a very small but adequate gym/fitness center.

Several very tasteful lounge areas indoors and outdoors. Great for having a drink.

Superb views over the valley from the room, outdoor pool and the SPA. You should pay a few bucks extra to get the rooms with valley views and balcony. Rooms facing the parking are not recommended as they have no views.


Cons:

Toilet, shower and the bathroom sink are all separated from each other in the rooms. Fun in the beginning but not convenient at all.

Staff in the reception is not too friendly and lacks knowledge of the area.

Wi-Fi didn't work at all. This was unacceptable for a hotel of this standard.

Outdoor pool area is not too inviting. Small and not well-maintained. Also, they have had the bad taste of placing a childrens playground just next to the pool area so if you're planning on relaxing by the pool, be prepared for kids running around and screaming like mad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biff-Maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was nervous about booking this hotel because the website said they were undergoing a refurbishment which was due to finish in August - our trip was in September but refurbishments have a habit of getting behind schedule. However, a phone call assured me it was only the garden that was left to be completed. I'm so glad I didn't look elsewhere. The hotel has been beautifully rennovated giving it a very classy, modern, airy feel. Behind the reception area, the rooms open out onto a veranda with wonderful views of the surrounding hills and countryside. Our room was spacious and well appointed with separate walk in shower room (how I wish more hotels would do that instead of trying to cram in a bath that you have to clamber into just to use the shower head). The hotel is a little bit out of the main part of the town but its really only a short walk of about 10 minutes to the famous bridge over the gorge.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the countryside - not at the front of the hotel - otherwise you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MercuryWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarifa, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

If we had known before our visit what a great place this is we would have booked for the whole weekend. It has been beautifully refurbished and the design of the bedrooms is innovative, attractive and practical. Hopefully they will get their website up and running soon. The setting is wonderful with stunning views across the valley to the mountains beyond from every bedroom balcony. There's an array of reasonably-priced massages and beauty treatments available at the spa which I would have indulged in with more time. The breakfast buffet is plentiful, varied and delicious. Staff friendly and welcoming. Guests who had dined at the restaurant had high praise for the menu - again not enough time to sample. Sufficient to say we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaP330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk near The Hague
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel is recently completely renovated, refurnished and restyled, from 19th century (English origin) to 21st century modern (but not too modern, if you know what I mean; it kept a classic, stylish feeling). It looks beautifull and classy. Rooms have all the amenities you need. Splendid shower. Balconies at the backside have marvellous views from the Tajo over the valley of the Gualdelevin river to the mountains of the Parque Natural Sierra de Grazalema.
Staff is friendly and helpfull. Receptionist Jorge speaks Spanish, English, German and Dutch.
On arrival we were told that unfortunately the rebuilding wasn't finished completely, due to some delay. It should have been ready on August 1st, but .... A.o. the bar and the welness & spa were not functioning. The management apologized firmly and honestly. We got a fair discount. The result however, was some noise of the constructors during the day (hammering, sawing a.o.).
We had a wonderful breakfast every day (we stayed for five days). We had fabulous dinner twice in the restaurant of the hotel. The first time inside, the second time on the beautiful terrace that was just open for the first time. This restaurant deserves wider recoginition. But apart from hotel guests, I think nobody knows it is there. So put a sign on the street and let people know that it is only 7 minutes walking from the centre of Ronda.
As soon as the building is ready (planning is end of August), the pool area needs attention. It looks somewhat neglected. Now it is not a swimming pool of a 4-star hotel. My advice: start cleaning the pools and the toilets every day. Some parts of the lawn needs new grass.

Room Tip: Rooms at the backside (Tajo-side) have the splendid view over the valley and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earlybird46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.4 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
1.5 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montelirio
Hotel Montelirio
#7 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa

Property: Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Address: Calle Jerez 25 | Ronda, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, totally renovated in 2012, is settled in a unique environment, between a lovely pine forest in the middle of the town, very close to Ronda's landmarks and the famous Tajo de Ronda. Around the hotel, which has 95 fully equipped rooms, there's an amazing 3,000sqm garden in which our guests can enjoy our swimming pool and our terrace. Hotel Ciudad H-MA-00042 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing