We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round feel good factor in Ronda!”
Review of Hotel Colon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Colon
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“All round feel good factor in Ronda!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed in Ronda at the quaint little Hotel Colón centrally located across from the "Church of Our Lady of Mercy Round". Enjoyed a birds eye view of the passing Easter Processions from our first floor room Juliet balconies which both faced the street. Hotel staff were all fantastically friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay in Ronda as memorable as possible. The hotel is basic and simple with comfy beds and decent bathrooms. So clean you can eat off the floors!!! Breakfast is typically Spanish. Parking was 10 Euros for 24 hours with hotel concession stamp. If you want unbeatable value with all round feel good factor, don’t look any further!!!

Room Tip: If you are in Ronda to see Processions, ask for the first floor street facing corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    89
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
158
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights and really liked this hotel. As other reviewers have said, the staff are lovely and very helpful, it is exceptionally clean and the rooms on the top floor are really nice, with a view of the mountains. A simple breakfast is included and you get lovely freshly squeezed orange juice and an oddly large piece of toast, plus tea or coffee. The attached cafe is very poplar and we saw council staff in there, so I think it's the equivalent of a workers cafe (but a cleaner and nicer Spanish version!). I didn't find the bells at all disturbing, though I was a bit bemused as to the pattern of the ringing, one night they rang at 10.35pm.

Just to specify where to park, it is the Merced parking on Calle Carlos Cobo Gomez, which is to the left of the convent if you are looking straight at it. Drive in (which is steeply down) and take a ticket at the barrier. There is a staffed booth on the right just past the barriers as you drive in. You pay in the hotel when you leave and they stamp your ticket, which you give to the person in the booth. It seemed a secure car park, but I also found free parking easily enough on the surrounding streets (but preferred to pay the 10€ a day for the parking).

The hotel is an easy walk from everywhere and don't miss going into the park over the road, with it's great views and excellent pond where the pigeons walk in and out of the bird house. There is also a small supermarket just on the left of the park as you go in, which we found useful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZZoee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

No travel writing can do justice to the history and beauty of Ronda. Our one-night stay was far too short. That said, Hotel Colon was a good find. On a corner across from a church and a park that extends to the edge of the precipice that bounds Ronda, Colon is well situated. Our room was modest but clean and comfortable, with a nice bath, comfortable bed, and being one of two rooms on the top floor (elevator available), it had a terrace nearly as big as the room, overlooking the park, church and the street that extends across the “new bridge” to the oldest part of the town. Our room had central heating and individual air conditioning for summer but no minibar and older TV. Old town, restaurants, sights, and lively town life are within minutes walk. Parking is available, for a reduced price in the clearly signed nearby public lot behind the church (10 versus posted 25 Euro per day). The hotel itself has a small café where the included breakfast is served (juice, coffee, toast). We enjoyed Colon and would return.

Room Tip: Try to get a third floor room with terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritzarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Fabulous little hotel just a two minute stroll from the bull ring. The lady who owns the hotel is lovey - she speaks little English, we speak little Spanish but we all still managed to communicate! She directed us to the best tapas bars in town (not surprisingly they were set back from the centre of town and full of Spanish diners) - the food and atmosphere was excellent! We expected little of the hotel due to the low price but we were pleasantly surprised and would certainly stay here again, especially for the traditional bread and olive oil for breakfast! Oh, and for the excellent vino bodega across the street with the most amazing selection of wines!

Room Tip: We had the corner room on the top floor which had a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on a visit to ronda (this gives you a chance to look round once the majority of other tourists have left. The hotel itself is clean and tidy but be warned can be a little noisey, we were lucky enough to get one of the two rooms with a veranda to sit out on. Staff were friendly but spoke little English, but with a little help from a Spanish phrase book you can get by. The hotel has no parking but we payed 15 euros to park in the car park behind the convent for 24 hrs. The bells from the convent were a bit disturbing in the morning but you could buy nice cakes from there so all is forgiven. In short if you want a romantic getaway don't stay here. If you want somewhere that's clean, tidy and well located that won't break the bank this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingmonkey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here for 2 (separate) nights at either end of a short hiking trip in the wonderful Sierra de Grazalema. The hotel "does what it says on the tin". It's clean, well located for both the bus station and the town centre, and breakfast is included. It even has a lift (an "elevator" for the colonials) if needed. The staff are very friendly and accommodating - they allowed me an early breakfast both mornings. I paid €24 a night. Perfect.

Room Tip: Stayed in (twin) Room 104 the first time; nice quiet room (who cares about the lack of a view?). Sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheProfessor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronda
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We were satisfied with our 2 nights at Hotel Colón. We requested room 301 which is the best room in the hotel because it has a large roof terrace-we didn't see the other rooms but imagine they'd be basic, & not as nice without the terrace. Bed was small & pillow a bit crappy, & the odour of cigarettes seemed to pervade the room somehow (maybe up the stairwell?). BUT, breakfast was included, it was a 2 minute walk from the Bull Ring, & has the best tapas bar in Ronda right opposite! Overall, not bad value.
If you're driving, make sure you park in the commercial car park that the hotel has an arrangement with. The hotel stamps your parking ticket & you get the discounted rate of €10 for 24hrs. We misunderstood & parked in a different car park & ended up paying €36 extra!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#12 of 40 in Ronda
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 40 in Ronda
1,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#10 of 40 in Ronda
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,806 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colon

Property: Hotel Colon
Address: Calle Pozo 1, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Colon 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing