We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful salad lunch out on the plaza”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Maria

Casa Maria
Ranked #2 of 269 Restaurants in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
camarillo, ca
Level Contributor
175 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
“Wonderful salad lunch out on the plaza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our menu said 'Nueva Casa Maria', so perhaps this place has changed hands since previous reviews. In any case, I cannot say anything but good about this restaurant.

It's the perfect spot for lunch if you are in the 'old' part of Ronda: the part where the Palacio Mondragon is. I don't know about dinner, but at lunchtime, food is served out on the Plaza, actually across the road from the restaurant. It was a great shady retreat and wonderfully cool, even in the August heat.

The menu comes on one sheet. If you have been craving something besides meat with french fries, this is the place. They serve a wonderful chicken salad - a full plate of greens with chunks of chicken on top and a yummy balsamic dressing. I also had an incredible, incredible slow cooked pork dish. Sorry, I can't remember the name. Our waitress was very friendly, and helpful, describing each dish. Both my pork dish and the chicken were large enough to share, and they were 10 euros or less, so I don't understand the comments about this place being so expensive.

We loved the food, and the entire experience. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank miznina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,046
    336
    51
    30
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Funky, friendly, but average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

A definite family affair, this little taverna was decidedly not a tourist "trap", oozing with local color (and little, if any, English to be heard). Unfortunately, one needs to have a meat-centric palate to appreciate their locally-sourced, unique cuisine -- my husband does, though, and didn't rave about his meal. I was probably too tired that evening even to do my mushrooms justice. The waitress tried very hard to be helpful, but as we were the only patrons for most of the meal, it was hard to divert her attention from the downstairs family conversations!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and great service but you will pay for it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

We really enjoyed our meal at Casa Maria. We were the only people in the 3 table restaurant. The server was really friendly and helped us choose what to eat. She explained everything. We all had steaks and the side dishes were delicious. The bill was about $130 euros for 3 people with no wine, but we were fine paying that for the meal we had. The chef (owner of the restaurant) and the server chatted with us after our meal and we really enjoyed it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank purple_echo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“RIP OFF”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

This place is a con so beware. I was charged €35 for a huge piece of steak (which no one could hope to eat in one sitting ca. 1000 grammes). Very undercooked so I sent it back for more time in the oven. The bit that they did cook I ate and it was not bad but when you plate has so much cow on it I lost my appetite. The chicken was most probably goose and served in lots of juices. Girlfriend did not like it. I thought it was ok. My own fault as I liked the novel idea of having no menu and the market spiel but was not happy with overpriced bill as others have said. Only went because the other two places were closed. It was an experience

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank chrisp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A small and excelent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

If you're looking for a small and family owned typical restaurant, with a great cuisine at a reasonable price, you must go to Casa Maria while in Ronda. I had one of my best steak ever in Spain. Don't miss it !

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pierre.lima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Maria also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Casa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing