We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finca Retama at Easter.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Retama Farmstead
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Ronda
Reviewed May 4, 2014

So 'retama' is Spanish for broom, just one of many lovely flora abundant in the area. We had lovely red roses outside the Casa Abuela front door and bordering the cyprus enclosed pool. The red poppy fields were just starting to fill up. A 5 night stay in this pastoral idyll, was not long enough to enjoy all the possibilities on offer. With walks and cycling locally, and some of Spain's most beautiful towns and cities within a day trip (Ronda, Granada, Cordoba, Sevilla, Arcos de la Frontera) it was hard to decided what to do. We chose local walks, Ronda and a couple of the smaller 'pueblos blancos' Grazalema and Setenil.
Lovely to come back to Finca Retama in the late afternoon for a refreshing swim in the pool and a little drinky before heading out to Ronda for a tapas supper, or to the nearest local restaurant for a typical tasty spanish meal. A slight mistake was to decide to walk back to the Finca one evening after a delicious rabbit and chips supper in the nearest ( a good mile away ) restaurant in the pitch dark. Should have realized this wasn't a good idea when the waitress looked askance as we two foreigners set off into the gloom.
The accommodation was great. Generous space and well kitted out for self catering. There is no local shop within walking distance, so if you arrive late, and don't want to venture out to eat, be sure to arrive with supplies for supper and breakfast.
The Finca is a bit tricky to find first time round. We got lost but the owners Nick and Julia are on hand to talk you in or come to the rescue. They were great hosts, with lots of helpful advice on how to make the best of the time we had. A great holiday. Liz

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lizrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 41 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed 5 wonderful nights at the Casa Abuela, a purpose-built self-catering holiday cottage. The Casa is spacious with a nice open-plan kitchen and sitting area and 2 large double bedrooms, one having a lovely shower room. Just the 2 of us but the Casa has plenty of room for a family of 4. The swimming pool was a standout feature: large and secluded, we spent an hour or two each day lounging beside it or doing some lengths to build up our appetites for the next meal.

The owners, Nick and Julia, are a very friendly couple with two equally gregarious young children. Invisible most of the time, they gave us the privacy we wanted while being just a door knock away from giving advice and assistance on everything from local walks and bike rides to where to park in Ronda.

The rustic location is lovely. A middle of nowhere feel to it, very quiet and tranquil, but only a 10-minute drive to one of Spain's most enticing 'ciudads' and a smattering of good restaurants (the rabbit at El Pelistre is to die for!) within a mile or two. Combine that with the distinctive ambience Nick and Julia have created - upmarket, laid-back, warm and friendly - and for us Finca Retama has provided one of the best self-catering holidays we've ever had.
Tom

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed 10 nights at Finca Retama with our 5-month baby and it was simply the perfect choice! Close to Ronda but still in the countryside with perfect hosts providing lots of support and useful advises. The Case Abuela features all amenities for a truly relaxing vacation! We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Myself, my wife and baby stayed here for 5 nights. The lodgings are very well appointed in a peaceful and rural setting. The hosts were most helpful with suggestions for local walking and eating. The property is very tidy and well kept. I would most definitely like to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepidexplorer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Finca Retama is lovely family base in a rural setting 10 minutes' drive from the medieval town of Ronda
The rooms are traditionally furnished and well equipped. The pool is large and well maintained, the setting is very quiet- surrounded by sunflower fields,

Owners Nick and Julia live onsite and are friendly and helpful while respecting your privacy; and the dogs are great - we borrowed them for walks, great fun for our kids and the dogs

Overall highly recommended- if we return to Ronda this will be our first choice

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal_Hudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent four happy days staying at Casa Abuela. It was comfortable and extremely peaceful.What a treat to open the shutters in the morning onto the surrounding countryside, with the lanes full of wild flowers and the hills in the distance. Nick and Julia are extremely friendly and helpful hosts. There are so many things to do and see in Ronda and further afield are the charming white washed villages of Zahara and Grazalema. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionawillans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were on a two month trip to Europe with our three children, and Finca Retama is a standout location with fantastic hosts. We really enjoyed the area and were sorry to spend only a week there. It is the one place we visited that we wished we would have stayed longer to explore. There are truly amazing places to visit just 20 minutes away, and we loved the peaceful setting of the farm. The pool was fantastic and our children were in heaven. Nick and Julia were perfect hosts and were invaluable to us especially when our baby got an ear infection. They were able to get us right into a doctor, and we felt comfortable asking them for anything we needed. We definitely want to return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Bodega El Juncal
Hotel Bodega El Juncal
#28 of 40 in Ronda
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
0.9 mi away
Don Benito Hotel
Don Benito Hotel
#23 of 40 in Ronda
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
2.2 mi away
Parador de Ronda
Parador de Ronda
#11 of 40 in Ronda
1,913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Molino del Arco
Hotel Molino del Arco
#12 of 40 in Ronda
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Retama Farmstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Retama Farmstead

Address: Camino Fuente la Higuera, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Ronda
Price Range: $198 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful high specification 2-bed 2-bath country villa with disabled access (sleeps 2-6) and a beautifully restored 3bed 2bath farmhouse apartment (sleeps 2-8) with large fenced and landscaped pool. Only 10 min from charming, historic town of Ronda ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Retama Farmstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing