We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming! The perfect Ronda experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hacienda Puerto de las Muelas
Ranked #16 of 23 Ronda B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Charming! The perfect Ronda experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place is the perfect get away. If you've been traveling a lot or just need to stop and breath in fresh air...this is your place! This quaint B&B makes you want to stop and relax. It's a bit off the beaten path, which we loved! Maria is the PERFECT host...so sweet and lovely! The rooms are exactly what you would hope for in a hacienda! Beautiful, clean, with a balcony to a tremendous view...must be one of the best views in the area!!!

There are stables you can walk up to, pet the horses...they have tons of dogs, which I loved! (They are very conscientious as to whether or not you are a dog person, so if you prefer no dogs...don't worry).

Ronda is a small, sleepy town. I'm so glad where we stayed felt just as charming and relaxed! My husband and I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    5
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Splendid views over the surrounding countryside. Our bedroom had its own little balcony from which to enjoy these views and the room itself was very invitingly decorated with a well appointed ensuite showeroom. Alfresco breakfast in the courtyard was a lovely relaxing start to each day. After a day out it was very relaxing to come back and enjoy the peace and quiet and take drinks from the bar before going into Ronda for the evening. They make a great cup ot tea here as well as excellent coffee. Even though we didn't speak spanish and neither did our hosts speak english we managed to communicate all we needed too. Excellent value for money. We have fallen in love with the Ronda mountains and will be back to explore further. We will definitely sat here when we do.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely but a little on the smaller size for a double. Not sure what the other rooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JQDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the very favourable reviews and were still surprised by how nice it is. It has a beautiful rural setting and we had a very nice view of the rock on which Ronda is built. The place is a restored hacienda. Because it is located in a Natural Park restrictions applied, but the restoration is done very tastefully - all in a horses-inspired style. The owners train horses and you can make horse rides yourself (which we did not do). The rooms are individually and beautifully styled. The walk to Ronda (which we preferred over the car) is a beautiful one. The staff/owners are very friendly and helpful. If you are interested they will tell about their passion for horses, things to do, or history and manners of the region. Some say it is difficult to find, but with a bit of Google Maps it gets easy. The best stay of our holiday.

Room Tip: I think all views are nice, but the view to Ronda is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wim314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

After staying at all sorts of hotels in various cities we needed a break from the hustle. This place is a classic Andelucian hacienda nestled in the valley at the foot of Ronda Gorge - you can see the gorge and city from the hacienda.

The walk into town (if you don't have a car) is only about 30 mins, but lovely. We ran to city walls in 20 minutes.

The stables and horses were great, Juan is an accomplished Cabellero, trained at the Royal Riding School in Jerez and the hacienda is a working equestrian school. We went trail riding for two hours and recommend it strongly.

The rooms are bright, clean and decorated with an equestrian flavor. All the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful despite our meagre Spanish.

If you miss the sign off of the A374 this place can be hard to find, but believe me, when you do find it, it's worth it.

Yes, we still want to buy it!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

This place was FANTASTIC. We had trouble finding it, but we called and they helped us eventually find our way. Located just outside Ronda, this is a delightful place to stay and get a good night's sleep. The lady (owner?) who greeted us was kind and friendly, as was the gentleman who showed us up to our room (her husband?). The rooms are tastefully decorated with a horse motif as this is a working horse stable/hacienda. The view from our room was to die for - looked like a beautiful painting of the Spanish countryside, except that it was THE REAL THING! The gentleman working in the bar downstairs also appeared to be the caretaker at night, and he was also kind and accommodating, serving us beer on the patio in the late evening. The wi-fi worked just great and they serve a simple, Spanish breakfast in the morning. I really wished I'd booked this place for another few days - it really was that wonderful. I was SO glad we stayed outside of Ronda at this hacienda - so peaceful and relaxing. Definately one of the highlights of our Spain trip!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed here for two nights with my fiance. The hacienda is a bit difficult to find if you drive from Ronda's town centre (I'd recommend that they use more signs throughout Ronda), but when you find it, it's worth it!!! A beautiful old property, lovingly restored inside and out - with lots of attention to detail. Amazing views, beautiful walks, wonderful routes for riding. Maria and other staff were amazing - nothing was a problem, nothing was too much to ask. The team were very nice, hospitable and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful if not particularly exciting (but it was not a problem at all). A lovely place and the best welcome we received in Andalucia! many thanks!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllaMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

This lovely little gem is tucked away at the bottom of some cliffs. GPS didn't really know how to get us there because to get into it, you need to go on some unmarked roads so do look out for the sign by the road to tell you where to turn off.

I knew it was a Haicienda but because it was so clean and smelt of soap, I didn't know that it was actually a working stable with about 10 horses on it. While we were there, there was a handsome 4 month old colt and its mother placed on a field. That and the stunning cliffs with the city of Ronda on top of the cliffs, formed the backdrop for our 2 day stay.

The room was decorated most charmingly with horse and riding motifs. For example a horse shoe was used as a clothes hook. I wasn't sure how to switch on the light in the toilet because the switch was disguised as a wooden knob with a porcelain holder. Really quaint.

It is about a 10 minute drive into town for food. We were told that it was possible to walk for about 40 minutes to reach town but since we didn't speak any Spanish and are not the best at directions, we thought it safer to drive to town.

On the farm, however, it feels very far away from the city and the whole place is so peaceful and quiet at night. In the day, we enjoyed walking around the stables accompanied by a friendly little Jack Russel. There were about 4 or 5 dogs in all and all equally friendly.

The owners are very friendly but speak mainly Spanish. We somehow still managed to communicate. A "continental breakfast" was included in our rate which we thought would mean some bread and coffee but we were pleasantly surprised by a very local breakfast of toasted bread with a tomato paste, some local pate, a plate of sliced sausage and cheese, juice and coffee.

A truly restful experience and a must do for horse and dog lovers.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VQuek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
7.4 mi away
Hotel El Horcajo
Hotel El Horcajo
#34 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Molino del Arco
Hotel Molino del Arco
#13 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Puerto de las Muelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Puerto de las Muelas

Property: Hotel Hacienda Puerto de las Muelas
Address: Partida los Molinos 24, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ronda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda Puerto de las Muelas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural hotel with 8 decorated double rooms, where yoy can enjoy beautiful views to nature. A perfect atmosphere for healthy life and rest. And just 10 minutes from the historical center. Our rural house is perfect for desconnecting from city, and for nature and horse-lovings. Lodging includes breakfast to begin the day plenty and enjoy natural surroundings and Ronda city. We have a inner court, a wide entrance, green open air areas, and very soon, a swimming pool. Next to the Hacienda, you can visit a riding school to have some lessons, enjoy a trip or participate in different activities. Besides, you can also enjoy different sports: we're on a trekking and biking route. Most of our guests, sportmen and sportwomen, move aorund on a bike or trekking. If you decide to move on your car, you're just 10 minutes to Ronda center. We give good discounts to groups and we organize personnally every stay with activities and special proposal for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Puerto de las Muelas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing