We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We very much enjoyed our stay at the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel El Poeta de Ronda
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Ronda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and we highly recommend it.

1. The location is excellent. Right at the center of Ronda. Very easy to get by car.
2. Unloading and uploading our luggage was very convenient as there is a dedicated location near the hotel for doing it.
3. The staff was super friendly and helpful.
4. Our room (No, 1) was clean and comfort. A very big bathroom.
4. Breakfast was very good.
5. There is an arrangement with a nearby parking lot for discount parking prices.

The only con was that the WiFi signal in our room was very weak and we sometimes had to go out of the room to gain connectivity.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeniRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel A, General Manager at Hotel El Poeta de Ronda, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado BeniRef,

Muchas gracias por sus buenos comentarios acerca de su estancia en nuestro Hotel Poeta de Ronda durante el pasado año 2013. Nuestro objetivo no es sólo hacer que nuestros clientes regresen, sino que se sientan más a gusto cada vez y puedan notar las mejoras en nuestros servicios.

Gracias de nuevo y por favor, no dude en contactar con nosotros para su próxima visita con el fin de otorgarle la mejor de las atenciones por parte de todo nuestro equipo.

Reciba un cordial saludo,
Director Residente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 373 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

The weather was unusually foul: heavy rain, extreme winds and v.cold. We 4 friends were the only guests. The hotel was initially cold throughout (including luke warm showers/baths) - we slept in our clothes on the first night! The staff did all they could to warm the place up and were extremely helpful and sociable. It was a shame the rooms and hot water (at least) had not been prepared in readiness for our arrival.

Nevertheless we recommend this hotel as an ideal place to stay to see the numerous delights of Ronda.

Visit the Museo Lara museum just 50m along the road from the Hotel. Its the best 2 Euros we've spent for a long time. Its a private collection of a wide variety of items that will interest/amuse all ages and tastes, eg clocks, arms, photography, cinema, science, witchcraft, inquisition .........

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the hotel will be quieter than those opening onto the gallery and main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_helen_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This a very lovely small hotel in an excellent location. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are generous and delicious. The only thing missing is a view from the room but it ticks all the other boxes to perfection. I am smiling now as I remember it and would dearly love to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just returned from Ronda. Stayed a couple of nights here. Good location about 50m from the old bridge. The staff are very friendly and helpful . There isnt a lot of them but they work hard and seem to do everything, probably as its quiet now and low season.
Our rooms were fine -room 2- top floor corner/front. Traffic is not really a problem as it goes quiet at night. Very clean and tidy, good breakfast.
No parking at the hotel but a lot of hotels dont. Parking on any streets is tricky. We used the multi storey --through the hotel 10 euro a night instead of 18 euros at the car park.
Not far to the shopping area, restaurants,etc
All in all very good

Room Tip: Room 2 is a front corner room, decent size,tv in wardrobe..didnt watch it anyway. A little traffice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northwesthombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I were visiting the Costa del Sol and decided to take an overnight trip to Ronda. I arranged a one-night stay at El Poeta, solely based on availability and reviews on TripAdvisor. After a very long and horrible bus ride from the coast, we landed in Ronda. (Important tip: Do NOT ride the bus into Ronda if you're hungover, it will be tortuous!!!!) We had a general idea of the layout of the town but didn't realize just how great the location of El Poeta is. The hotel is located just over the south end of the new bridge. You cannot beat the location. We had pretty low expectations of the hotel because we really didn't have any idea what we would find. Boy were we surprised!

Hotel El Poeta is a wonderful hotel. The entire hotel (lobby, staircases, hallways, rooms) are all very ornately and very beautifully decorated. There are stained glass pieces, original artwork, tile mosaics, etc . . .found around every corner. I could not stop taking pictures of the interior of the hotel! After checking in (which was very easy, even with a language barrier), we headed to our room. We found it to be the perfect size for 2 adults. It was spotlessly clean and was very beautiful. The bathroom was amazing. Our room had a great view of a charming street and the restaurant below.

After settling in, we wandered around Ronda and quickly realized we wanted to spend more time there. We were OK with the fact that we'd probably have to find a new hotel. However, much to our surprise, the Hotel El Poeta was able to accommodate us for one more night, in the same room, with no advanced notice, in the busiest time of the year. We could not have been happier! This was a great experience and the Poeta served as a great, centrally located hub in Ronda, which we could easily go back to if we were tired. Our breakfast was included each morning and it was pretty good too (one word of caution: the "sausage" portion of the English Breakfast is actually just a hot dog, so that was kind of different for us Americans). We did have a bit of difficulty communicating with the staff but I would lay that blame on my wife and I for not doing our due diligence and learning their language.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Ronda. It's perfectly located in the old part of town, it's clean, beautiful and staffed very well. If I ever return to Ronda, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel A, Director General at Hotel El Poeta de Ronda, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Madam Tammy B,

Thank you very much for all your positive reviews about your holidays in our Hotel. It's a pleasure to see how our dedication is rewarded. It's great make our guests feel like home and see how they have good memories about their stay.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require any further information, and special offers in our rural complex finca los pastores, in ronda.

King regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed four nights in this hotel just after Easter 2012. I was very nearly the only guest, which I thought a terrible shame because this is a lovely hotel

Beautifully decorated in a Moorish style, extremely well-situated (a few metres from Puente Nueve), with kind staff. Although I was the only guest at breakfast, they laid out for me a fine spread of high quality meats, cheeses, fruit and pastries.

The other reviewers' comments abut noise seem quite over-stated (perhaps because there's not much else to complain about). Yes, the road is outside; and, yes, you can hear vehicles rattle along the cobbles; but I'm a light sleeper and I slept very well here.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here overnight whilst visiting Ronda for the day. This was a bit last minute and my preferred hotels had no availability so chose this hotel for the location having read other reviews. I hence was aware of the comments about the traffic noise and I did not really sleep well, although my husband did as he was very tired. Perhaps a second bottle of wine would have helped me sleep.. the room we chose was the junior suite which was charming, the staff were wonderful and the English breakfast was ok. Location was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ronda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#5 of 40 in Ronda
1,368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maestranza
Hotel Maestranza
#21 of 40 in Ronda
408 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Ronda
Catalonia Ronda
#2 of 40 in Ronda
208 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bodega El Juncal
Hotel Bodega El Juncal
#29 of 40 in Ronda
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#10 of 40 in Ronda
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Poeta de Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Poeta de Ronda

Address: Calle Tenorio 1, 29400 Ronda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ronda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ronda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ronda
Price Range: $77 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Poeta de Ronda 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the old town of Ronda, this restored Andalucian mansion of the famous poet “Pedro Pérez Clotet” offers all the comforts of a quality hotel and the additional charm of its classic decor. Its 12 fully equipped rooms give a real home comfort right in the heart of Ronda - all the attractions are just a few meters from the hotel. Enjoy not only the hotel service, but also the restoration, its authentic local cuisine, where you can taste delicious classic dishes with a very personal touch. We invite you to spend a memorable stay in the heart of Ronda, allow us the pleasure of serving you personally; we are sure you'll feel right at home. “Hotel El poet de Ronda”, in this dream city, is located just 30 meters from the Tagus, the old bridge and its viewing points, the Alameda del Tajo, 2 minute walk from the amazing “Plaza de toros”, and the Arabic baths. Ronda is simply surrounded by monuments... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Poeta de Ronda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poeta Hotel Ronda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing