We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, really lovely.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio
Ranked #1 of 1 Medlow Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Walking through the house and into our room, I said to my partner, "This is exactly what I was looking for." It's a beautiful, comfortable house and is chockfull of art (not stuffy, but interesting). We ended up spending several hours reading and working on a jigsaw puzzle in the lounge / dining room with the fireplace. Our hosts were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChaletGuesthouse, Owner at The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Derrick. Thank you for such lovely comments about The Chalet. It is always a pleasure knowing guests have enjoyed looking at our art collection and I find it rewarding to know guests feel at home here, spending some time relaxing in the public areas. Regards. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 137 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Highest Regards to David, for our wonderful one night stay at The Chalet Guest House and Studio, full of old world charm, you could feel the history, the room was comfortable, functional and the ensuite bathroom was to die for, and what a magnificent dining room, breakfast really enjoyable, absolutely no pressure, we had the whole place to ourselves. This truly was a fantastic birthday present for me We are going to make the effort to have a break away and stay here again. You get an A plus from us and highly recommended as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of excellent quality, I could not choose, we had # 3, but all the others are super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChaletGuesthouse, Owner at The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Hi John.
Certainly glad to know you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Chalet. It was a pleasure to look after you and I hope we get the chance to be of service again some time.
Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Beautiful location, kind, helpful hosts and a truly inspiring art collection. I feel lucky that I was able to spend some time at the Chalet. The historic house is full of lovely period features, whilst being comfortable and functional. It is obvious that a lot of care and thought goes in to the cleaning and presentation of the rooms, whilst not slipping in to the uninviting, impersonal realm of many accommodation providers. There's always classical music playing in the house, which adds to the charm and general historical feel of the place. One of the things I enjoyed the most was the perfect quiet that settles over everything at night. Plus, if you manage an early wake up, there's beautiful bush to walk through right down the road.
Oh, and the large sculptures in the garden by Michael Garth are a must see!

The Chalet is one of my favorite escapes and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missmarykatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChaletGuesthouse, Owner at The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Mary.
It is great to know you enjoy your visits to The Chalet and our wonderful Blue Mountains. I appreciate you taking the time to write a review as it is important in helping us to understand what our customers are looking for when staying at The Chalet.
Kind regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on 23rd December and what a great little place. The owner was really helpful with lots of local knowledge and helpful hints. The rooms were old fashioned but that was the charm. Little touches like Christmas chocolates left on pillows made our stay very enjoyable. Breakfast really good. We would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in the mountains but away from the tourist trail.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowhedgeRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio for two nights. Very comfortable. An older place with a history. David was a gracious host. When entering from the parking area, looked like an art sale was in progress, as there was artwork all over the place. Found out it was normal. Far enough into the Blue Mountain Area to get a feel for the area. Glad we stayed there and recommend it for a quiet, peaceful stay in that area.

Room Tip: Our Queen Room Standard was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked this charming guesthouse for a 60th birthday celebration and invited 6 other couples. The rooms were delightful, clean and possessing an old world charm. The manager/owner David was a welcoming and helpul host who allowed us to set up a room for a slide presentation. We virtually had the place to ourselves except for dinner when another group arrived. The gardens are lovely to sit in whilst having afternoon drinks. David organised a delicious appetizer platter for us before dinner.
Unfortunately the meal we had ordered for dinner was a disappointment. The entrees were heavy and lacking in taste, the main meals were again heavy and unappealing and many of the creme brulees were not cooked.Maybe the chef was having a bad night.
David cooked us breakfast in the morning and everyone enjoyed his skills in the kitchen. Despite the disappointing dinner we really enjoyed the chalet and David's hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChaletGuesthouse, Owner at The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Hello,
Thank you for your kind words about The Chalet and the service provided. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the meal. The menu selected by you had previously received many positive comments from other groups about the flavours (including a food writer) and this is why we provide these meals as choices for group bookings. After your function we did feel that perhaps I should have advised to not have an entree as the pre-dinner platter was quite extensive and by the time the main course was served the guests were quite full. We did have a problem with the creme brûlée that night and I did offer to replace these and a few of your group did take up the offer. Thank you for the feedback as it is important to us so we can continually improve our standard of service.
Regards
David Scotman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at Chalet Blue Mountains, not our first visit to the Blue Mountains, we have in fact travelled a lot of the world and Australia and have never been so compelled to write a review. The Chalet was amazing, it's charm, atmosphere and personality was only surpassed by it's proffessional and ridiculously accomodating manager, David.

It's setting and surroundings are exquisitely removed from the usual touristy areas of the mountains, and it's little personal touches made you feel like a house guest, not just another hotel customer. The management genuinely wants it's guests to be happy and satisfied, the amount of effort put in and the consideration shown makes you feel like a child again, staying with your doting grandmother. The suggestions for dining out and sightseeing were honest and very valid, and the essentials (bed, bathroom, coffee) were exceptional.

I HIGHLY reccommend staying at The Chalet, and will definetely be going back.


  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTraveller678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChaletGuesthouse, Owner at The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for such a delightful review. To have read this before anything else this morning has put a smile on my face all day - although I assume I am younger than your grandmother :)
I do like to know my guests enjoy their stay and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback.
Kind regards.
David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medlow Bath
0.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
2.8 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
976 reviews
2.6 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
596 reviews
2.1 mi away
Secrets Hideaway
Secrets Hideaway
#1 of 7 in Blackheath
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio

Address: 46 - 50 Portland Rd, Medlow Bath, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Medlow Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Medlow Bath
Price Range: $106 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1892, The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio is a luxury accommodation venue of 4 star quality set in extensive private gardens in the quiet village of Medlow Bath. The Chalet is only minutes from the major attractions of Wentworth Falls, Leura, Katoomba, Blackheath and Mt Victoria. It is close to the historic Jenolan Caves and is an ideal base for bush walking, sight-seeing, boutique shopping, fine dining or exploring the complex diversity of the Blue Mountains and its environs. Our restaurant can be available if booked in advance. The interior is a private art gallery with an extensive private collection on display. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Chalet Guesthouse and Studio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing