We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place”
Review of Le Castel Enchante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Castel Enchante
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing place”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I was a long weekend with a friend of mine in this lovely place. Julie, the owner is a very nice persone and talkative. We really appreciated her advices. A wonderful house with a british wellcome. On top of that... The breakfast!!!! We always wanted to wake up just to have breakfast. She cooks very well. I strongly recommend this place, besides, it's extremely clean and well decorated. If you are a couple, she has special rooms, very romantic. It's strategically located, near carcassonne but also other interesting places. Good luck and enjoy it!

Room Tip: Just talk to Julie. She will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniBCN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliecarolsmith, Owner at Le Castel Enchante, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I hope to see you again soon. Regards Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
26
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bend, Ontario
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This B&B is up a steep hill, and has a lovely view of the valley below. Julie the owner is an expat Brit, and has two nice dogs, Rosie and Charlie. Julie was a wonderful hostess and provided an enormous self-serve breakfast in the sitting room area for €6 pp. The sitting room area also had a free computer for the use of guests, which was very helpful.

My husband and I had the Rose Room. It was a huge room including a bathtub and sink area in a step-up section cordoned off with sheer curtains. There was also a bidet. We had a large balcony for private use which overlooked the parking lot at the back.

The bathtub had the shower installed at the side of the tub, so it was impossible to use it without getting water on to the floor beside the tub. Also there was no effective separation between the bed area and the bath/shower area ( just the sheer lace curtain) so that the entire space filled with steam.

The toilet was in a room off the corridor outside the room, which was shared with other guests using the sitting room at the front of the house. The toilet didn't flush and we were told it was broken by the little boy of one of the previous guests - but while we were there for 3 days, it wasn't repaired. We had to take the top off the tank, and put our hand in to lift the plunger each time to flush.

Julie, if you read this please don't be offended, but the Rose Room needs an ensuite toilet. Take out the useless bidet, install a proper toilet, and put sliding doors across, instead of the silly lace curtain!

Julie was a great hostess, however. She took all our dirty clothes ( we'd been travelling for 2 weeks!) and washed them, then hung them outside to dry. I had to iron them myself, since she has no dryer and they were rumpled, but at least we had clean clothes. So that was great. Julie charged €25 for the washing. My husband was sick with a bad cold while we were there. Julie was most solicitous,and quiet & he was able to sleep one day and rest.

We were there on the Royal Wedding day and what fun we had. Julie had invited a bunch of friends, both English and French, to watch the royal wedding on BBC via satellite TV and have a real English tea. Everyone arrived all dressed up with enormous crazy hats, and much laughter was had by all. One lady had a lampshade upsidedown for a hat all festooned with Union Jacks and photos of William and Kate. The local newspaper reporter arrived and took everyone's photo. We drank Pims and had champagne and watched the wedding. Everyone chattered in English and French altogether. What a great memory! Thanks, Julie.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

loved our stay with Julie at La Centenaire. The B&B is very close to Carcassonne which is a wonderful place to visit. Julie is a great host and the rooms are very comfortable and breakfast was enough to feed twice as many people. There is a computer avaiable and a very comfortable lounge which guests can use.

Great value for money and would recommend to friends, would even stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We were seven people from Barcelona and we would like to visit Carcassonne and some Catar castles. But the weather was incredibly wet and our plans completely failed.
But not everything went bad, the place where we stayed turn out to be an excellent one. Charming, quiet and with the kindest person -Julie- to deal with the rainy weather. Our friends and us felt like being home and we left with the promise to come back, if it is possible with a bit os sun!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agutroig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed for 3 days. The house is conveniently located near Carcassonne (~ 10 min drive). The house is nicely looking and common area with kitchen is very nice - it was a pleasant respite after the hotels. We were fortunate enough to be alone during our stay. If all the rooms were books it would, probably, be crowded but we had all the common area to ourselves....
Breakfast is nice and we especially liked homemade preserves.
On the other hand the room we stayed in was pretty shabby and the bed uncomfortable (it was one of the more expensive rooms on the ground floor). Anyways, we did not spend too much time there and were mostly driving to different places.
Julie was most helpful and welcoming. Otherall it was convenient and a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leoasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Stayed here for a few days and was slightly disappointed to be honest. The 'castel' is in a lovely location looking out over the valley and the mountains in the distance but is very remote and if you don't have a car you will struggle to get out and about to see the sights. Luckily, this wasn't a problem for us. Old Carcassonne in particulcar is not to be missed. The swimming pool was great to have as it can get very hot here - the pool area is sheltered and so is not as windy as the verandahs of the castel itself. We were disappointed with the interior though. It's quite shabby and could do with a bit of a face lift, and the rooms upstairs are a bit on the small side. There are also not enough toilets/bathrooms for the number of people that are accomodated in the house. The cleanliness of the castel was also not as I would expect either - lots of cobwebs. Whilst I appreciate that it's difficult to keep something impeccably clean I did expect it to be cleaner than it was. Saying that, bedding and towels are impeccably clean. Overall, it was a good stay but unfortunately the accomodation did not live up to expectations.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyWotLunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slough
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We stayed with Julie and Malcolm for 10 days and as soon as we walked in we were made to feel like we were at home - and it was like that - except we don't generally have champagne at home !
Julie offered and made us aware of all the local attracions and even offered to set some of them up for us. The house has spectacular views and Julie keeps it very nice, you are welcome to use the kitchen to make tea/coffee/snacks and there is even Sky TV and a wireless network, you can ask Julie for a 3 or 4 course evening meal. It's a little off the beaten track and you will need a car but it is ideally placed to visit southern France. Go enjoy and say Hi to Julie from Dave and Gill

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fulhamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fonties-d'Aude
3.0 mi away
Audotel
Audotel
#12 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.6 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure
5.8 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Floreal
Le Floreal
#2 of 4 in Trebes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Castel Enchante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Castel Enchante

Property: Le Castel Enchante
Address: 20 Chemin de Matet, 11800 Fonties-d'Aude, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Fonties-d'Aude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fonties-d'Aude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect place to visit the Cathar Sites of the South of France Le Castel is just 8km from the Medieval Cite of Carcassonne. The nearest village of Trebes is a harbour for house boats on the Canal du Midi town. Le Castel Enchante is a Super homely villa where you can providing a great base for visiting the Cathar Sites or just resting and relaxing on a tour of France. Our famous breakfast and homely cooking are just what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Le Castel Enchante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing