We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull host and wonderfull place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderfull host and wonderfull place”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We (my girlfriend ,niece and her two children) stayed at the Villa which was very clean and spacious. Kent our host had the fireplace going and was preparing dinner upon our arrival.
We stayed there many times before so we discussed with Kent our prefered cuisine which was game, before our arrival. Whilst he was preparing dinner we had a spa which was huge and my niece and her two children played games. Dinner in the dining room in front of the fireplace with the beautifull dinner setting looked so good that we got Kent to show us his amazing collection of wines from his cellar and lashed out and purchased a bottle to celebrate our family time together. If you know anything about wine or want to know than Kent is your man ! His knowledge about wines is so amazing and his collection includes some very rare and fine wines from around the world . After the sumptuous dinner we relaxed around the table and tasted some of Kent 's port whilst we spent some quality time with my extended family.
The next day , after a scrumptuous breakfast we all went and fed the exotic goats and Yaks and ducks and then went fly fishing. There is so much to do around Mt Beauty that we could have stayed there the whole week. Now that the snow season is starting we have booked and are staying there again on our way up to Falls Creek. It breaks down the journey a bit and the next morning one can get up early and be skiing by mid morning. Everything is planed and we know Kent will look after us like family the only unknown is ...are we going to have a lot of snow !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwidetriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Thank you for your kind words Sir. It is always a pleasure to have you all here and we wish you our very best... and safe travel back to Europe. Kind regards, Kent & Sevasti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
91
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We have been regular visitors to Birches with our family and once again we have had a most relaxing stay. The peace and quiet and incredible views are unbeatable. My boys love the space of the main house and open fire warms the house on those chilly nights. It is so close to town for our morning walks and yet we feel like we are miles from any where. We keep coming back here as it is so friendly, clean and warm. It is difficult to find such a well appointed family holiday location and Kent & Sevasti are always so welcoming and accommodating.

We look forward to our next visit.
Janet & Phil Rundle

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil007Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Dear Phillip & Janet, Thank you for your kind review. It is always a pleasure to see you. Our very best to all, Kent & Sevasti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Birches Luxury Spa Chalets is one of the best styles of accommodation available in Mt. Beauty. This outstanding destination is ideal if you are travelling to Falls Creek for a ski (30 up the road) or for a family summer break. The accomadation is immaculate and always warm upon your arrival. You are always made to feel at home. The kids enjoy playing with the farm animals during the day while the adults relaxed in the court yards sampling some fine wines and cheese.
We have spent many an evening enjoying the company of our hosts and other guests.
Can't wait to do it all again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBV05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Thank you for your kind words... It is always a pleasure to have you visit. All our very best, Kent & Sevasti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed in one of the chalets on our wedding night and I also got ready for the wedding and had photos taken beforehand. We were very well looked after and the chalet was meticulous. The mountain views are just so stunning, there's nothing more relaxing than being in the spa and looking out at the mountains. The hosts went out of their way to make our stay special, they are obviously very passionate about the hospitality they provide! We are definitely keen to return again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Dear Sarah & Rocky, Thank you very much for your kind words... We both would like to wish you much happiness and prosperity for your life together as man & wife. All our very best, Kent & Sevasti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidless in NE Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

An excellent location for a quiet couples escape. We didnt even miss the kids. The views of Mt Bogong are brilliant and the service was first rate. The wine selection alone is worth the stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bigtrip1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Dear "Bigtrip1957", we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here...and the special views from your chalet. It was lovely to meet you both and wish you safe travels for the rest of your adventure. All our very best, Kent & Sevasti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevue hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We’ve stayed at the Birches Luxury Spa Chalets numerous times over the
past 3 years, most recently in Birches

Over the past few years we've tried numerous accommodation options at
this estate. There are basically 3 types of accommodation on offer:
North Birches & South Birches Spa Chalets and the Spa Villa

We prefer to stay in the North Birches Spa Chalet as we really like
the view of not only Mt Bogong and the Kiewa Valley directly opposite
but also of the township of Mt Beauty below. The chalets are
particularly enjoyable in the mornings, when native birds can be
observed from the deck.

The chalets are certainly very comfortble and reasonably large with a
nice deck (furnished with a couple of chairs and table) overlooking
the Kiewa Valley. The rooms we have had have contained one queen size
bed and side tables. We also had a large flat screen tv, bar fridge,
microwave, and a large table and chairs.

Bathrooms in both styles of accommodation were of a good size, with
the chalet bathrooms being nicely designed and well appointed with
large spa and a great shower. The towels were lovely & fluffy.

The Spa Villa contains 3 bedrooms, which they configure based on guest
needs. We stay there in winter with friends and like the two living
areas, and the open fire. They stack wood on the verandah for you and
if more is needed, all you have to do is ask. The kitchen has a full
oven, hotplates, pots, pan, cutlery, glasses, plates. When staying for
more than a few days, it is nice to prepare food at home. Here they
provide everything you need with the great local supermarket providing
the rest.

The bathroom is nicely appointed with large spa and shower. There is a
separate toilet.

You really notice the furnishings in the villa, the furniture is
stylish and timeless. We really like the art work as well. It really
suits the villa, and the artists are clearly talented.

The breakfast on offer is a little different in that they can do what
ever you want what ever time you want it. As people who don't want to
watch the clock on holidays this suits us really well, and they do
tasty gluten free options.

Over our stays, we have enjoyed dining in the fine dining restaurant.
We have not had a bad meal here. It certainly is a special treat.

We’ve always found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The warm
welcome received on our return visits makes it all the more personal.
It certainly encourages repeat stays.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellevueHillHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Dear BellevueHillHunter, I would like to thank you for your kind review and thoughts on the property here. It is always our pleasure to have you visit. We wish you all the very best for Sydney and look forward to seeing you again at Christmas. All our very best, Kent & Sevasti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This is a lovely property that we enjoy and look forward to visiting each year.
We love the chalet and dinner in the villa was very special.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank monika97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Dear Monika, thank you for your kind review on tripadvisor. We always look forward to seeing you both. We look forward to seeing you again in November and wish you all our very best. Kind regards, Kent & Sevasti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tawonga South
2.2 mi away
Mount Beauty Motor Inn
Mount Beauty Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Mount Beauty
24 reviews
12.4 mi away
Trackers Mountain Lodge
Trackers Mountain Lodge
#1 of 3 in Falls Creek
82 reviews
12.3 mi away
Harrietville Hotel Motel
Harrietville Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Harrietville
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dreamers
Dreamers
#1 of 3 in Tawonga South
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allamar Motor Inn Motel
Allamar Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Tawonga South
70 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bogong Moth Motel
Bogong Moth Motel
#1 of 3 in Mount Beauty
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets

Property: The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets
Address: 43 Ranch Road | Off top of Ranch Rd, Tawonga South, Mount Beauty, Victoria 3699, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Beauty > Tawonga South
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Tawonga South
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax together in your spacious, luxury spa chalet nestled amongst beautiful Russian birch trees high above Mt Beauty, nearby Falls Creek Ski Resort...and the tourist township of Bright. In the heart of the Victorian Alps. Gazing out to breathtaking, elevated snowy mountain & valley views from the privacy & comfort of your deep couples spa bath, bed with fine linens & high sheltered balcony. Offering wonderful breakfasts at your leisure (delivered to your chalet or villa), private traditional silver service fine dining in the Villas formal dining-room. With a unique, fresh seasonal menu complimented by an exquisite selection of fine wines specializing in rare global champagnes & burgundy. Refreshing European (Moulton Brown of London) soaps, spa cubes & toiletries and late 12 noon check-outs for your day of departure..Perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets Australia/Mount Beauty, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing