We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hosts in a spectacular location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets
kidless in NE Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great hosts in a spectacular location”
Reviewed June 28, 2010

An excellent location for a quiet couples escape. We didnt even miss the kids. The views of Mt Bogong are brilliant and the service was first rate. The wine selection alone is worth the stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bigtrip1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Dear "Bigtrip1957", we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here...and the special views from your chalet. It was lovely to meet you both and wish you safe travels for the rest of your adventure. All our very best, Kent & Sevasti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
91
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bellevue hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We’ve stayed at the Birches Luxury Spa Chalets numerous times over the
past 3 years, most recently in Birches

Over the past few years we've tried numerous accommodation options at
this estate. There are basically 3 types of accommodation on offer:
North Birches & South Birches Spa Chalets and the Spa Villa

We prefer to stay in the North Birches Spa Chalet as we really like
the view of not only Mt Bogong and the Kiewa Valley directly opposite
but also of the township of Mt Beauty below. The chalets are
particularly enjoyable in the mornings, when native birds can be
observed from the deck.

The chalets are certainly very comfortble and reasonably large with a
nice deck (furnished with a couple of chairs and table) overlooking
the Kiewa Valley. The rooms we have had have contained one queen size
bed and side tables. We also had a large flat screen tv, bar fridge,
microwave, and a large table and chairs.

Bathrooms in both styles of accommodation were of a good size, with
the chalet bathrooms being nicely designed and well appointed with
large spa and a great shower. The towels were lovely & fluffy.

The Spa Villa contains 3 bedrooms, which they configure based on guest
needs. We stay there in winter with friends and like the two living
areas, and the open fire. They stack wood on the verandah for you and
if more is needed, all you have to do is ask. The kitchen has a full
oven, hotplates, pots, pan, cutlery, glasses, plates. When staying for
more than a few days, it is nice to prepare food at home. Here they
provide everything you need with the great local supermarket providing
the rest.

The bathroom is nicely appointed with large spa and shower. There is a
separate toilet.

You really notice the furnishings in the villa, the furniture is
stylish and timeless. We really like the art work as well. It really
suits the villa, and the artists are clearly talented.

The breakfast on offer is a little different in that they can do what
ever you want what ever time you want it. As people who don't want to
watch the clock on holidays this suits us really well, and they do
tasty gluten free options.

Over our stays, we have enjoyed dining in the fine dining restaurant.
We have not had a bad meal here. It certainly is a special treat.

We’ve always found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The warm
welcome received on our return visits makes it all the more personal.
It certainly encourages repeat stays.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellevueHillHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Dear BellevueHillHunter, I would like to thank you for your kind review and thoughts on the property here. It is always our pleasure to have you visit. We wish you all the very best for Sydney and look forward to seeing you again at Christmas. All our very best, Kent & Sevasti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This is a lovely property that we enjoy and look forward to visiting each year.
We love the chalet and dinner in the villa was very special.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank monika97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Dear Monika, thank you for your kind review on tripadvisor. We always look forward to seeing you both. We look forward to seeing you again in November and wish you all our very best. Kind regards, Kent & Sevasti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We booked the "elegantly furnished and appointed luxurious spa villa" on their website.

We had high expectations of a "complimentary bottle of French Bubbly on our arrival", a “large and traditional open fire”, floor heating and “original, noteable works of European & Australian Art”.

Rather, we were shown to a run-down, sparsely furnished elevated pre-fabricated building that would be at home in a 2-Star council caravan park in Dubbo.

The "chalet" was filthy, full of cobwebs, had no cooking facilities, and many of the lights were not working. We were told that the heating from the air-conditioner would take an "hour or so" to get up to temperature, and that we should be patient.

There was no telephone to contact reception, and when we did complain the next morning, we were told it was our fault for arriving prior to the check-in time of 2pm, as our "chalet" was not yet ready.

We were also told that we should have complained earlier. It seems that the owner was quite happy to let us remain in the sub-standard accommodation (at the five-star tariff) until we complained loud enough.

We checked-out the next morning, a day earlier than planned.

Be very careful if considering this place. There are much better deals at Bright.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WollongongCoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
This gentleman arrived early ( approx 10am... Check-in is 2pm), He settled into what was "not" his booking. He did not attempt to contact any staff. They refused any contact from staff. He left very early next morning with all French Toiletries, Toilet Rolls...etc... The chalet was left in a terrible state. He photographed a draw with cooking implements in it ( a draw which those implements do not reside in), took a picture of a kitchen bench they stacked high with whatever to make it look very untidy / cluttered... Found and photographed a small hole in a wall which was behind a couch caused by a young couple who had just that morning departed. How did he find that? It was behind the three seater couch? Further, when the business called their home number they had returned to their home base in NSW. They demanded a refund for their deposit, which we granted despite their use of the dwelling and the state they left it in. As soon as they received their refund they then slander us and attempt to damage our good reputation of 11 years standing. This estate is all it portrays itself to be. Surely, had the gentleman been genuine he would of contacted staff, welcomed being located to his "booked Spa Chalet/villa". Not behaved as they did, and return all the way home that morning. In response to the gentleman's "defamatory review" we have contacted some of our repeat and recent guests ( who are all shocked by the review the gentleman had written) The saddest thing about this whole review / episode is that had the fellow been genuine, he would of welcomed his relocation to the luxury villa/chalet he had booked and all would of been fine. Something here is simply just not right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

3 days of quiet! Lovely views and a spa like a swimmingpool!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank veritybrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Dear Ms Brown, Thank you for your kind review. The spa's are great arn't they... We sometime take a chalet for ourselves just for the spa! All our very best, Kent & Sevasti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

My husband and I stayed in one of the Birches Luxury Spa Chalets in July for 2 nights. Firstly we would like to say thank you to Kent for his great hospitality and great local knowledge.

Mount Beauty is a lovely scenic place, with our chalet overlooking Mount Bogong. Being the snow season, you could see snow on top of the mountains. The chalet is set amongst beautiful trees and gardens.

Being a self contained chalet, we would recommend you bring along some food and drinks etc. There is a DVD player and heater which stayed on most of the 2 days (it was very cold).

If you are looking for a quiet and romantic getaway, this is just the place for you.

  • Liked — Scenic location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MIKAAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, August 28, 2010
Thank you so much for thinking to write this review for us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we wish you both all our very best, Kent & Sevasti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tawonga South
2.2 mi away
Mount Beauty Motor Inn
Mount Beauty Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Mount Beauty
23 reviews
12.4 mi away
Trackers Mountain Lodge
Trackers Mountain Lodge
#1 of 3 in Falls Creek
76 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bright Chalet
Bright Chalet
#11 of 13 in Bright
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
QT Falls Creek
QT Falls Creek
#3 of 3 in Falls Creek
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allamar Motor Inn Motel
Allamar Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Tawonga South
70 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dreamers
Dreamers
#1 of 3 in Tawonga South
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets

Property: The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets
Address: 43 Ranch Road | Off top of Ranch Rd, Tawonga South, Mount Beauty, Victoria 3699, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Beauty > Tawonga South
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Tawonga South
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax together in your spacious, luxury spa chalet nestled amongst beautiful Russian birch trees high above Mt Beauty, nearby Falls Creek Ski Resort...and the tourist township of Bright. In the heart of the Victorian Alps. Gazing out to breathtaking, elevated snowy mountain & valley views from the privacy & comfort of your deep couples spa bath, bed with fine linens & high sheltered balcony. Offering wonderful breakfasts at your leisure (delivered to your chalet or villa), private traditional silver service fine dining in the Villas formal dining-room. With a unique, fresh seasonal menu complimented by an exquisite selection of fine wines specializing in rare global champagnes & burgundy. Refreshing European (Moulton Brown of London) soaps, spa cubes & toiletries and late 12 noon check-outs for your day of departure..Perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Birches Luxury Spa Chalets Australia/Mount Beauty, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing