We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retreat or drunken Ibiza?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dreamers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dreamers
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Retreat or drunken Ibiza?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We expected a quiet retreat. We arrived to a teenage party of shouting drunk people dominating the pool and grounds. Not so peaceful. And to help us sleep? A thumping baseline. And the source of all this? The owner's friends! Yup. That's right. Her friends had lobbed over for a Aus day party. Bugger the guests!

Room Tip: Ask if they're having a personal party that night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malwendylee, Owner at Dreamers, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
A 4 hour Australia Day celebration for staff and guests is hardly a drunken teenage ibiza!
Other fellow guests enjoyed a drink with staff and a game of pool volley ball, its a pity you didn't follow up the offer of joining in the fun!
All was quiet by 8pm. What time did you go to bed to be disturbed by music which others couldn't even hear from opposite the pool/ function pavilion?
It's quite a way from the other side of the property where you were located.
We are sorry you were put out but we love to celebrate our heritage even if it is only a 4 hour BBQ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    13
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
34
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

My sister and i stayed at Dreamers for 1 night, well worth the 3hr drive from Melbourne. The location was wonderful and the view was AMAZING so close to Falls Creek. We stayed in the Snowgum Chatlet which was gorgeous! We sat watching movies in Perfect outdoor spa with that view! Very private! Bed was soooo comfy and thought the room was spacious for the two of us and nice walk through double shower, bathroom products and robes. Had a very friendly visiting cat that didn't leave us all evening. Wonderful Location and staff. Staff were friendly and helpful, Full of information on things to do in town and very knowledgable of the area. We booked a mud wrap at the local spa which was nice and somewhat relaxing, but not your usual spa retreat but it was nice of the masseuse to recognize this and dropped the price. Everything was great...until checkout somehow we got stung with a $30 booking fee for the spa ($15 each) I understand booking fees but not when the booking is done all at once or agreed upon previously as a "package" you don't even get that ridiculous price at the Hilton! $30 for 1 or 2 phone calls to book! Outrageous, especially when we went to the spa shop, not her coming to us. It just Coincides with the recent "A Current Affair" section on tonight (15/01/13) about customers being stung on little things.
I will probably return again because of the great atmosphere, but book a spa treatment myself, even Telstra on roaming doesn't slug you that much!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malwendylee, Owner at Dreamers, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on our Dreamers property. I am very sorry that you were put out by our booking fee. I would just like to point out to you that on booking you were given an option to reserve treatment direct yourselves but as you opted for us to arrange it for you, naturally a fee applies.
Sorry you were unaware of the rates but they are clearly listed on our website. A discount was also given.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed at Dreamers for several years now and each time is a true delight. We go to Mt.Beauty as part of a running camp so we are up early and hitting the trail runs and it is wonderful to then be able to return and relax in such tranquil surounds. The accomodation is great, the beds are comfortable and the kitchen is well equiped but it is the friendliness of the owners and staff that make it such a memorable place to stay, nothing is too much trouble. The grounds/gardens are beautiful and it is wonderful to just sit with a good book under the shade of a tree and relax, have a swim in the pool, a game of croquet which had us in fits of laughter. . All the local shops and eating spots are walking distance which is great. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a 2 bedroom spa cottage. The units are architecturally designed and beautifully furnished. Unit includes a very well equipped kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine / dryer, outdoor spa, barbecue. Lovely pool area, pond and surrounding gardens. Short walk to local pub, country club and small town. We loved it! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just had our wedding at Dreamers and it was the perfect location for a wedding. The garden for the ceremony, the pool area for drinks and the pavilion room for the reception were all unique and interesting and gave a beautiful flow to the wedding. The grounds and accommodation were immaculate and the attention to detail with decorating and setting up was flawless. Wendy is so lovely and understood exactly what we wanted. We received so many compliments from friends and family about the venue and I would highly recommend Dreamers as a unique, magical choice for a wedding.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeDowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

LOVED the care taken with the Japanese inspired design and decor! Such a surprise!
The rooms while being absolutely beautiful, also felt homelike - no doubt due to the eco credentials.
Staying at Dreamers allowed us to totally revitalise - couldn't get enough of the view.
A river walk suggested by Wendy brought another Zen-like surprise - sculptures had been randomly created from rocks and wood by people using the walk.
Dreamers is a fairy tale place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a cottage for a weekend away as a couple, and it was magnificent. Reception was warm and welcoming, and the cottage was everything which we'd expected it to be.

The cottage is obviously "hand made" with it's very eclectic style, but it works wonderfully. It was clean and well maintained. There were a few small housekeeping issues, such as the tap handle for the bath kept falling off, and we could have asked them to fix it (I'm confident it would have been sorted straight away), but we chose not to.

There is a lot to do in the area, which is stunningly beautiful. The cottage DID have a log fire and there were many options in the area for dining. But the cottage also has a really well equipped kitchen if you fancy cooking for yourself.

I rated the sleep quality as average. This is not a reflection of the room or bed - it's the damn cockerel which goes off about 30 mins before the sun begins to rise!?!?

We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tawonga South
1.3 mi away
Birches Luxury Spa Chalets
Birches Luxury Spa Chalets
#2 of 2 in Tawonga South
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mount Beauty Motor Inn
Mount Beauty Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Mount Beauty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.3 mi away
Allamar Motor Inn Motel
Allamar Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 2 in Tawonga South
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bogong Moth Motel
Bogong Moth Motel
#1 of 4 in Mount Beauty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
10.1 mi away
Abby's Cottages
Abby's Cottages
#1 of 1 in Wandiligong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
11.2 mi away
QT Falls Creek
QT Falls Creek
#2 of 3 in Falls Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamers

Property: Dreamers
Address: 218 Kiewa Valley Hwy, Tawonga South, Mount Beauty, Victoria 3699, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Beauty > Tawonga South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tawonga South
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreamers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamers is a luxury accommodation provider in Mt Beauty. We offer boutique accommodation perfect for a romantic getaway, or a country retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dreamers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreamers Spa Village Hotel Tawonga South
Dreamers Australia/Mount Beauty, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing