We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a stop-over in Cumbria”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Thackmoor Nook

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Some of the original wood beams
The cottage adjoins our barn
Back door to the cottage which leads to a grassed area for guests
The guests bench in the wild flower area and orchard, perfect for an evening
Our garden which guests are welcome to use
Renwick from the path to Thackmoor, looking across the Eden Valley
One of the walks from the cottage, to the waterfall on the right
Renwick Church
The Eden Valley from above Renwick
The bridge at Lazonby
Interior of St Oswald's Church Kirkoswald
St Oswald's Church Kirkoswald
D and K
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Renwick, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cees Z
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect for a stop-over in Cumbria”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed here three times so far. Very well located for a short stay before catching the Newcastle ferry back to Holland. Comfortable and well equipped cottage with bonus swallows in the barn next door.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
190paul58
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spartan accommodations off the beaten path”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Hesitant to review, for lack of accolades. Arriving fairly late, after 930pm, we had no warning that we should have brought any groceries necessary to even make cup of tea, Nevermind coffee. The cupboard was bare, which I suppose is normal for English rentals? Irish rentals, we've done six plus in two years (and consider ourselves easy to please, especially compared to our peers ) and have at least had the basics; sugar, tea, instant coffee, bread, sometimes fresh eggs, scones, you get the idea. Do not expect these niceties at this rental. I'll rap it up with this advice :
If you value remote walks in the country to creature comforts, this may be just the place for you. The owner is an avid walker, and gives wonderful info on local hikes, walks, and attractions, but keep in mind your remote; you can't just pop to the store to get a coffee. I just would have liked some warning, since the owner was away whilst I was there.
This rental is finished to a modest standard: don't expect feather pillows or toiletries; not even a bar of soap. It's not the Four Seasons, kids. Be realistic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2017
I'm sorry that the guest was disappointed. However, in the information sent we make it clear about exactly how far away local shops are and advise guests to stock up before they arrive. So I don't understand the comment about 'I would have liked some warning'. I also don't accept that 'sugar, tea, instant coffee, bread, sometimes fresh eggs, scones' is a reasonable expectation. We dont say this is provided. The accommodation is very reasonably priced, we also stay frequently in similar holiday cottages and would not expect those items listed above to be provided. Great if they are but if not we would not feel that reflects on the accommodation. But sorry about the soap, that should be provided but somehow got missed this time. It's in there now for the next guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bam1423
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT LOCATION”
Reviewed April 1, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Location was idea for us , local walks close to villages to visit just what we were looking for.
Only a short two night stay but had everything you need Owner Richard kept's us well informed on all our needs.
A folder in cottage with all you need to know about area ,walks, eateries , local shops, pubs was very useful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LW55
somerset
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another great find”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Can only echo the previous reviews. The property was exactly as described. We enjoyed our short stay here, the log burner came in useful even in August, for drying out wet footwear. It is a very quiet location, but not that far from Penrith, which we also found to be a very pleasant town. Thanks again to Dick and Kath for all the useful information and maps provided, and also for the fresh veg from the garden. We would definitely stay here again if we are ever in this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious for a two person rental
Liked least: The journey home!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
It was a pleasure to have you stay
Reagrds,
Dick and Kath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchmaid
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chris1231...
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enjoyable stay, lovely accommodation, welcoming and friendly owner.”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great well appointed accommodation for visiting areas in the Lake District. On our arrival the owner Dick was present and was very welcoming and provided us with some excellent information concerning the cottage and the surrounding area. The Cottage is equipped with everything necessary for a comfortable stay, we especially enjoyed the log burner in the evenings after a day out walking and visiting places in the lakes. The cottage has plenty of information in the blue folder on places to visit and walks both local and further a field. The owner Dick is always more than happy to advise with directions or any information required to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We had an excellent four days and even the weather was warm and dry, we look forward to returning again later in the year for another quiet break. Thank you again Dick for a lovely four days stay, will see you soon, Chris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage location
Liked least: Bed mattress uncomfortable.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
Pleasure to have you here and hope to see you again,
Best Wishes,
Dick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing