We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick gateaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great place to get away from the city and unwind.
The sunset over the beach was a glorious sight,the backwaters calming and the resort quite tranquil.
The food could definitely be better.
The staff were warm.
Overall a pleasant stay

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank JnKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Cherai resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the amenities, but also the hospitality our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments and we'll certainly pass it along to them. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 482 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

The back waters, nice and clean sea away from city limits are the plus points for the cherai beach.Good ambience and dedicated staff.Nice place to stay for three days.I stayed from 19 Apr 14 to 22 Apr 14 and stay was comfortable.

Room Tip: Backwater view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank col_asokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Cherai resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed your stay, but also the hospitality our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments and we'll certainly pass it along to them. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Cherai doesn't offer much to do - the beach is very ordinary and there is nothing much to write about the views of the back waters too. It is a clean, quiet place - good for a quick getaway from Kochi, provided you want to do just nothing on your holiday.
The resort was good to lounge around for a couple of days between Kochi and Kottayam, where we had been to meet up with old friends. It is picturesque & cozy as it tries to miniaturize the back waters - lagoon, fishing nets, etc within the property too.
Our room at the resort, overlooked the backwaters and one enjoyed the view from the balcony / sit out. The room was comfortable and extremely clean but we missed a kitchenette. The food & service was good all through the 2 days we stayed at the resort.
Overall, It is much like any other Club Mahindra Resort property - good but not great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajiv b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Hi Rajiv,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Cherai resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the overall experience but also the hospitality our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments and we'll certainly pass it along to them. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

i stayed at 27th of may with my family.good property.kind staffs and beautiful view of backwaters.
but avoid eating food inside the resort.more expensive.very very short menu in club mahindra resorts.no taste.not worthful for Rs.1180 per day for a person.

Room Tip: ask of backwater view from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAJA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for the feedback and we are delighted to know that you holidayed at the Club Mahindra resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the hospitality our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed at Club Mahindra Cherai beach resort in the 1st week of April 2014. This is one of the newest club mahindra associate resorts, leased from a 3rd party. The make over to a club mahindra property is almost complete.
The resort is about 25-30km from Cochin Airport and fairly easy to get to. Mind well that the resort, like most resorts is fairly away from anything else. It is situated between a beach and a lagoon and has a few attractions nearby, making it a perfect spot for 2-4 days of perfect relaxation. The resort has 45-50 rooms with HU's, Independent Studio Appartment and 3 1BR units with their private swimming pools.
The property is well maintained and the staff is extremely courteous and friendly. The buffet meals are the way to go, good to taste, decent spread, but a tad expensive. The room service we ordered was extremely expensive and the portion was too small for the price paid. The activity centre, the spa are well staffed, with very friendly staff paying good attention. Attention to detail by Chef Sanjeev Kutty (his fish preparations are a must have) was commendable
We stayed there in the wrong season. 11-4 was strictly indoors, but otherwise, worth a visit. Am planning one in Oct-Feb time frame already.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ash_Askari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Hi,

Thanks so much for writing in and we are absolutely glad to have received your detailed feedback regarding your stay at our resort. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our resort staff will be absolutely thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the hospitality, but also the dining experience at our resort. We'll certainly pass along your compliments to them. Please continue to provide us feedback regarding your visits to our resorts as it enable us to serve our members better. Thanks once again and looking forward to welcoming you at our other resorts soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

we were there during the sweltering heat. but once at the resort we had many options to cool down. This property is apparently taken on a short lease by Club Mahindra and they still sport the earlier name "Indriya" .

The resort is sandwitched perfectly between the backwaters and the sea.

this was our 5th Club Mahindra holiday and we found many common factors missing but there were much more to compensate. there is no in-house utility/provisional store. and they didn't provide a stamp for the kids' Club Passport. Rooms were spacious and grand Kerala style. The air conditioning was good. The lobby A/c had problems on the third day of our stay and it remained so. Fun dining spread was good. on the last night of our stay we enjoyed the a-la-carte @ The Malabar. great Kerala cuisine. it turned windy and our outdoor table was quickly shifted to indoors.

The swimming pool overlooking the backwaters is excellent and they served us chilled tender coconuts at the pool.

early morning bicycle ride was refreshing. sunset view by the beach is breath taking!

a minimum of 3 days stay will give lots of options. we traveled to Fort Cochin. Our vehicle was transported in a ferry. Visit french palace and Jews street at Mattanchery.

apart from 2 club mahindra restaurants I would suggest 'Chilliout' (its not Chillout, its Chilli-out) a beach shack run by a frenchman Eddie. they have european cuisine like Tuna/Beef grilled and burgers.

A short house boat ride at the Club is highly recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel units are spacious to the 'studio'(cottages). But cottages have excellent backwate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ananth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Cherai resort. Our staff at the resort will be delighted to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also ambience our resort offered. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This Club Mahindra property is located between the Cherai beach on one hand and the back-waters on the other side. There are individual cottages that overlook the backwaters and provide a very scenic view.

The Kerala cuisine that we had here was very good. Breakfast is also a large spread that one can enjoy in the restaurant overlooking the backwaters.

It is a good property if you want to relax. The drawback is that this is very far from Fort Kochi and you will end up spending a fair bit of time and money commuting to and from the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monomita_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Hi Monica,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Cherai. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked the food at the resort and hope you enjoyed the various activities our resort offered. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherai Beach
1.5 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#2 of 8 in Cherai Beach
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Waters Cherai
Blue Waters Cherai
#1 of 8 in Cherai Beach
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sealine Beach Resort
Sealine Beach Resort
#7 of 8 in Cherai Beach
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Lagoon Health Resort
Sea Lagoon Health Resort
#4 of 8 in Cherai Beach
123 reviews
12.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,079 reviews
10.0 mi away
PJ Princess Regency
PJ Princess Regency
#1 of 10 in Vypin Island
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Cherai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Cherai Beach

Address: MLA Road, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683 514, India (Formerly Indriya Beach Resorts and Spa)
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Vypin Island > Cherai Beach
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Price Range: $82 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Mahindra Cherai Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indriya Beach Resort and Spa consists of secluded luxury cottages, sumptuously appointed executive suites, banquet areas and a state of the art spa set on an elegant landscape dotted with palms and tropical plants. Nestled between the Cherai beach and lagoon, serenity is the order of the day. Lulled by the hush of the lagoon, the calls of tropical birds, canoes sending soft ripples through the water, the muttered voices of fishermen and in the background the muted growl of the sea, the hiss of waves descending on the beach - you are in the realm of forces primal and sensual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Club Mahindra Cherai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing