We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mysore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A great get away”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

we were there during the sweltering heat. but once at the resort we had many options to cool down. This property is apparently taken on a short lease by Club Mahindra and they still sport the earlier name "Indriya" .

The resort is sandwitched perfectly between the backwaters and the sea.

this was our 5th Club Mahindra holiday and we found many common factors missing but there were much more to compensate. there is no in-house utility/provisional store. and they didn't provide a stamp for the kids' Club Passport. Rooms were spacious and grand Kerala style. The air conditioning was good. The lobby A/c had problems on the third day of our stay and it remained so. Fun dining spread was good. on the last night of our stay we enjoyed the a-la-carte @ The Malabar. great Kerala cuisine. it turned windy and our outdoor table was quickly shifted to indoors.

The swimming pool overlooking the backwaters is excellent and they served us chilled tender coconuts at the pool.

early morning bicycle ride was refreshing. sunset view by the beach is breath taking!

a minimum of 3 days stay will give lots of options. we traveled to Fort Cochin. Our vehicle was transported in a ferry. Visit french palace and Jews street at Mattanchery.

apart from 2 club mahindra restaurants I would suggest 'Chilliout' (its not Chillout, its Chilli-out) a beach shack run by a frenchman Eddie. they have european cuisine like Tuna/Beef grilled and burgers.

A short house boat ride at the Club is highly recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel units are spacious to the 'studio'(cottages). But cottages have excellent backwate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ananth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Cherai resort. Our staff at the resort will be delighted to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also ambience our resort offered. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    212
    49
    16
    12
See reviews for
289
96
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This Club Mahindra property is located between the Cherai beach on one hand and the back-waters on the other side. There are individual cottages that overlook the backwaters and provide a very scenic view.

The Kerala cuisine that we had here was very good. Breakfast is also a large spread that one can enjoy in the restaurant overlooking the backwaters.

It is a good property if you want to relax. The drawback is that this is very far from Fort Kochi and you will end up spending a fair bit of time and money commuting to and from the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monomita_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Monica,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Cherai. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked the food at the resort and hope you enjoyed the various activities our resort offered. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The property is great, but because its a hotel converted property, you may not find the spacious rooms and kitchen facilities that other CM properties have to offer. Cherai as such is not among the best beaches in Kerala. But one thing for sure, you are bound to enjoy the food and the scenic locations no matter which part of kerala you are in ! Small, but good property with options for back water fishing lessons to kill your afternoons !

There is not much Club activity going on for families or kids, but can pass as a decent pick for couples who like to laze around without much activities.. the pool size is just about average !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karth0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi Karth,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Cherai resort. Our staff at the resort will be delighted to know that you enjoyed the dining experience. Additionally the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed in this property in March 2014 along with family and had booked 2 Studio Apartments. The rooms were functional and are large enough to accommodate a couple and 1 kid.

One of the rooms had malfunctioning lights (which was fixed) and the other had a glass slider on the bathtub missing which resulted in water splashing all over while bathing.

Restaurant is good with limited food options, Kerala specialty restaurant was great.

Beach was a disappointment as I was expecting a better beach for kids to play in for which you cannot beat Goa. Other activities around were pleasant.

Beware of mosquitoes and keep additional repellents handy

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are facing the backwaters, Beach facing rooms are only good for a sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CIO-Inverted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi,

Thanks so much for providing us feedback regarding your stay. Having read your review, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The property is 45 mins drive from Kochi airport away from the city. Location of the property is good with backwaters at one end and cherai beach across the road in front. Check in was hassle free and we got early check in on request. We took studio apartment facing the backwaters.There is a lovely balcony attached to studio rooms facing the back waters. Rooms are well maintained as is the case with most of club mahindra property. Food is expensive and taste is ok for the price you pay. There are few restaurants on the cherai beach road which are good. The resort provides cycles on hire and cycling on cherai beach road early morning is fun. Overall a good experience and a perfect place if you just want to relax.

Room Tip: Insist on a room facing the backwaters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rauljain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Raul,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are glad you liked our accommodation and the hospitality our resort offered. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I only stayed here for a few hours but it was enough time to see that this is a nice hotel. Great location, beach on one side, backwaters on the other one. Delicious food, very friendly staff, all good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shavethewhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Cherai. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the hospitality our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raipur, India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We visited this property in february with our 15 month old daughter. This was a much needed break for both of us and our daughter enjoyed sunny Kochi and the property a lot!

First the good points:
Room: We stayed in a hotel unit (the first floor) and the rooms are well furnished and wifey loved the roof!! Our kiddo loved the lighting at the head end of the bed.
Service: Very courteous and eager to help. Our kid broke a plate and everybody except her was all smiles. By the end of our 3 days stay we knew a lot of people at the restaurant by their name.
Houseboat: Though they charge a bit too much, it was a nice experience and the fact that you don't have to go anywhere adds to the charm. Infact we had asked them to cook something for the houseboat and the prawns they made were the best we had in the whole trip.
View from The Malabar restaurant: We spent 2 evenings at the restaurant just enjoying the wind and the view at the outside seating. Terrific!

The bad points:
Room: Did not have a kitchenette which was sorely missed as we had a microwave sterilizer. No view from the room. However the view from the balcony was perfect!
Service: Need to remind a few times occasionally.
Food: Food was not upto our expectation. Should have been better.

Overall the trip was meant to be relaxing trip and we had a very relaxing time. We just went out of the resort on 2 occasions...once to go to the beach and another time to go to a restaurant. So if you plan to just lounge around and relax, its a great place to be!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anupam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi Anupam,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and hope you liked the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Furthermore, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherai Beach
1.5 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#1 of 7 in Cherai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Waters Cherai
Blue Waters Cherai
#3 of 7 in Cherai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
#6 of 7 in Cherai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cherai Beach Resorts
Cherai Beach Resorts
#4 of 7 in Cherai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cherai Beach Residency
Cherai Beach Residency
#1 of 21 in Cherai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Cherai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Cherai Beach

Property: Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Address: MLA Road, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683 514, India (Formerly Indriya Beach Resorts and Spa)
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Vypin Island > Cherai Beach
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Mahindra Cherai Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indriya Beach Resort and Spa consists of secluded luxury cottages, sumptuously appointed executive suites, banquet areas and a state of the art spa set on an elegant landscape dotted with palms and tropical plants. Nestled between the Cherai beach and lagoon, serenity is the order of the day. Lulled by the hush of the lagoon, the calls of tropical birds, canoes sending soft ripples through the water, the muttered voices of fishermen and in the background the muted growl of the sea, the hiss of waves descending on the beach - you are in the realm of forces primal and sensual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Club Mahindra Cherai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing