We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for a relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Mahindra Cherai Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ideal for a relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. This is amongst the newest properties of Club Mahindra. The property is picturesque and well laid-out, with cottages and rooms. I stayed in a cottage. The room and bathroom are very spacious. The private verandah at the rear overlooks the lake and is a soothing space to relax in.

Being a new resort, the quality and upkeep of the rooms and furnishings is very good. The rooms are thoughtfully equipped with a tea/coffee maker, a mini fridge, toiletries, the newspaper every morning and an umbrella too. There wasn't too much teething trouble, but, the staff happily sorted out a few issues we had.

The resort is located next to the relatively-unknown Cherai beach, which gets crowded with locals, especially in the evenings and on holidays. Early in the mornings, you can have the beach almost to yourself.

Check-in and check-out were smooth and quick. The staff at the resort is very helpful and friendly. There are many activities within the resort for those who do not want to step out. We took a private houseboat ride which we enjoyed. However, it was sold to us as a 2-hour ride by an overzealous staff member, but was actually just an hour long; something we didn't appreciate. They have a spa, but I didn't try it out.

The resort has a restaurant serving buffet meals. The variety of the spread is good. But, the local cuisine lacks a bit of authenticity. However, when we told the manager that, he ensured we had a good experience with local food the next day. All other food was tasty, though. I also had dinner at their a-la-carte restaurant one day, at a table overlooking the beach. The local cuisine here, though expensive, was much more authentic than at the buffet. Room service is not great and the food is almost always cold; there seems to be a shortage of staff. There aren't any other restaurants around the resort but since the food here is good, you will not miss the lack of other options.

Overall, a great place for a relaxing, 'do-nothing' type of holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlust1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Cherai resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and hope you enjoyed the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    205
    45
    14
    12
See reviews for
276
93
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We visited here with our two children last week. Though we could not get a single bedroom, we were given two adjacent hotel rooms sharing a common balcony.
The day we reached was my wife's and daughter's birthday. I was wondering what to do for celebrating. But to our surprise, the manager Aswathy prepared two birthday cakes as a pleasant surprise. We celebrated it in the beach (just across the beach road in front of the property).
The backwaters are so calm and serene, it is blissful to sit and watch endlessly. The property has some nice places to sit and relax with coconut palms. All the staff are smiling at you all times including the person who helps you with your luggage (I think his name is Alphonse.. smiles all the time).
The pool water is very clean and very well maintained. The pool care taker (Madhavan) treats as his personal property and gives detailed care. Food tastes great in the restaurant ... even the vada was fantastic. But the spread is not great for the money they charge.
Our only disappointment is that not many indoor activities to keep children engaged.
However, if you would like to have a great leisure and laid back holiday, this would be a great place.
Tip: Don't go to LuLu mall in Kochi, it takes 30 minutes to park and 30 minutes to get out. Way too crowded and not worth the visit.

Room Tip: Choose back water rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZulfikarDeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience. Additionally, our resort staff will be delighted to receive your compliments. Furthermore, your points regarding the indoor activities have been duly noted and will shared with the resort management on priority. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

A truly outstanding resort built with a lot of care, on a strip of land straddled by serene backwaters on one side and Arabian sea on the other. To get to the beach all one has to do is to cross the road in front of the resort and climb a slightly formidable tsunami protection wall. A more active part of the beach is just a short walk away.
Stand alone cottages in single bedroom configuration( four of the premium ones have private pools; but very small ones!) located close to the back waters, are great places to stay. Hotel units, in cottages located away from the water body are another option.
The resort has a private boat jetty and a house boat available for hiring (alas somewhat expensive at Rs 2000.00 per hour). The main restaurant serves good buffet.There is also a restaurant for la cart meals.The staff is very friendly.
Being a relatively new Club Mahindra resort, it is short on interesting programmes/activities for resort guests. Hopefully this shortfall will be addressed in the coming weeks.
For Club Mahindra members, who live at a distance, a good option will be to combine 2 or 3 days here with an equal stay at the Munnar resort, to get the best of beach and hill station experience in one go.

Room Tip: cottages close to the back waters are preferred accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viju1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Cottages designed in traditional old charm with modernised amenities, The rooms are tastefully decorated, luxurious and comfortable. Cottages overlook the backwaters giving a feeling of being in the midst of a serene quaint slow paced village. Taking a leisurely boat ride in the backwaters gives you a feeling that time has stopped and it gives pleasure to stand and stare at nature and drink in the beauty. Accompanied by the pampering melted by the courteous smiling staff and delicacies served you bounce back truly rejuvenated. The Tradition Kiri Kerala Massage further relaxes you and all the aches and stress of our fast paced life are left behind.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phgidwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Cherai resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

A quick weekend break took us to Cherai. Well appointed cottages which overlook the backwaters make the resort liveable and cozy. The beach however is accessible by crossing the main road across the entrance and is not a private beach as propogated. The staff is very friendly and engaging. However the spa has a lot to be desired and needs to improve for the money it is charging. The other downside of the place is that unless transportation is owned , it becomes very expensive or difficult to venture out . A good place if you just want to hang up your boots and relax. The activity centre most of the days did not do anything for lack of participation and this definitely should improve

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gawruv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Gawruv,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Cherai. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Club Mahindra Cherai is beautifully located resort with back waters at back side and beach in front of the resort. This experience of being there in between is awesome ...!. Great place to lost yourself. We celebrated OnamSadya during Onam in the resort in more traditional way and come to know about that festival.

We stayed in both the lake view cottage and studio. Cottage is fully wooden and antique way whereas studio is ultra modern with smart electric switches.

Kayaking in backwaters is a must do activity.

Food is delicious not to miss fish curry marinated in local style.

Moreover staff is very pleasing and responsive.

Note: No bar facility in this resort

Room Tip: Choose lake facing room to get the amazing view of backwaters
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amarbabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Amar,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Cherai resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and hope you enjoyed the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This property is situated on back waters. With across the road sea and a backwater view from your room balconey. I was there with my family for week end and specially during onam so resort and entire kerala was in festive mood. I have booked studio and got it with excellent view of backwaters. Rooms are designed beautifully with traditional feel of interiors and modern comfort.
Food served is good specially at breakfast. Service by F & B team needs to be appreciated. Special thanks to Tandooria from Gwalior (MP) for serving us great indian bread. Reuse of food observed from lunch to dinner or dinner to lunch of next day. Sheffing dishesh always observed empty. No varity in salad, snacks and desert. Some times there is nothing in live counter (snacks items) even after charging heavy amount for lunch and dinner. But interaction by kitchen staff needs to be appreciated. Ambience of restaurant is nice.

One must appreciate swimming pool maintaining staff who used to encourage everyone to enter in pool. Helps childrens to learn swimming and also he maintained pool very well.

Pathway lighting needs to be improved. Also room no plate should be highlited with light as at night it is difficult to see the room no plate as light in veranda did not focused on room no plate. Also direction signages needs to be placed wherever necessary.

Overall good holiday experince.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing back waters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atulpendse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Cherai Beach, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Atul

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherai Beach
1.5 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#1 of 7 in Cherai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Waters Cherai
Blue Waters Cherai
#3 of 7 in Cherai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
#7 of 7 in Cherai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
12.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cherai Beach Resorts
Cherai Beach Resorts
#4 of 7 in Cherai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Cherai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Cherai Beach

Property: Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Address: MLA Road, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683 514, India (Formerly Indriya Beach Resorts and Spa)
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Vypin Island > Cherai Beach
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Mahindra Cherai Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indriya Beach Resort and Spa consists of secluded luxury cottages, sumptuously appointed executive suites, banquet areas and a state of the art spa set on an elegant landscape dotted with palms and tropical plants. Nestled between the Cherai beach and lagoon, serenity is the order of the day. Lulled by the hush of the lagoon, the calls of tropical birds, canoes sending soft ripples through the water, the muttered voices of fishermen and in the background the muted growl of the sea, the hiss of waves descending on the beach - you are in the realm of forces primal and sensual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Club Mahindra Cherai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing