We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The very best of hospitality in Cherai Beach! And Yummy Yummy Seafood!”

Brighton Beach Cafe
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Cherai Beach
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The very best of hospitality in Cherai Beach! And Yummy Yummy Seafood!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for a great place to relax, chill out and experience an amazing hospitality with the best seafood available then look no further than the Brighton Beach Cafe at Cherai Beach.

Rahul and his team go out of their way to ensure their guests are well looked after and have a great time. And their cooking skills are exceptional….from amazing fresh seafood to one of the best palak paneer (Spinach & Cheese) we have tasted during our time in India to freshly baked roti prata – just delicious!
Really a place not to be missed – whether for lunch, for dinner or to hang out and enjoy the beach for the whole day (what we done for a staggering 2 days – even though we were staying at a different (very awful) hotel).

I work in hospitality and seriously very seldom do you find a place that shows such ability to make their guest feel welcomed and looked after.

Thank you Rahul & team for making our stay in Cherai Beach! And thank you for all your help and support to get us to the airport during the strike (even though we were not even staying with you!!!!!!)

We will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenia1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonbeachcafe_1, Manager at Brighton Beach Cafe, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Xania
Thank you so much that you enjoy with us.
On behalf of all our staff here at Brighton Beach cafe, we would like to thank you for
writing a review about our cafe. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share
your experience. We hope to welcome you again in the future and offer you more tasty
Kerala dishes!
Happy Travels
The brighton Beach Cafe staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Needham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Ok but a bit expensive”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Seems to be trading on its guide book and TA recommendations. All fine, but really not a bargain compared with what you can get just about anywhere. Charging customers for WiFi is also not on in 2013!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonbeachcafe_1, Manager at Brighton Beach Cafe, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Peege

On behalf of all our staff here at Brighton Beach cafe, we would like to thank you for
writing a review about our cafe. We would also like to clear up two of the issues you had
with our restaurant, with regards to charging customers wifi, we have absolutely never
charged any of our customers for this service, we have offered this service free for the
last two years. With regards to our pricing, our fresh fish is based on the daily market rate
and is fairly priced for this area in Kerala. We apologize if you felt dissatisfied in any way
with our cafe but we hope that you may return again some day.

The brighton Beach Cafe staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tasty cafe”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The food is wonderful amazing and really tasty, it is nice to watch the sea, and fishermen while having a fresh juices and lunch. We also had dinner that evening, they have a large variety fresh seafood on offer,tiger prawns, snapper, barracuda. They will also cook it to your taste. we had snapper in lemon garlic butter it was really delicious. We will definitely go back for some prawns !
We highly recommend this cafe

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rahulkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonbeachcafe_1, Manager at Brighton Beach Cafe, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Rahul

On behalf of all our staff here at Brighton Beach cafe, we would like to thank you for
writing a review about our cafe. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share
your experience. We hope to welcome you again in the future and offer you more tasty
Kerala dishes!
Happy Travels
The brighton Beach Cafe staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“SO NICE PLACE IN CHERAI BEACH”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

So nice place to have a so good kerala indian food !
Evrybody is so kindly,warm and so human !
The sea wiew is extraordinary with the beach so near....
We can hear the backwash waves receive fresh water spray...
And for exemlple taste a so good kerala speciality and drink a fresh Kingfidher beer...
You can meet my so kind LIJO friend (PHOTO) He is a so smiling Person...
Hello my Friend
DOMINIQUE FROM FRANCE

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominiquefromfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonbeachcafe_1, Manager at Brighton Beach Cafe, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sir
On behalf of all our staff here at Brighton Beach cafe, we would like to thank you for
writing a review about our cafe. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share
your experience. We hope to welcome you again in the future and offer you more tasty
Kerala dishes!
Happy Travels
The brighton Beach Cafe staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious sea food”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The restaurant has a great view overlooking the beach, either for lunch where you can have a swim beforehand or in the evening enjoying the sunset. They have lovely candles and make it atmopheric. There is a dining area and a relaxing area and in both, it is comfortable and easy to chat to other travellers. Food is great, loads of choice, and very tasty. lovely vegetable dishes and fresh seafood, they will also make it as spicy or not as you want. We noticed plenty of non residants coming for both lunch and dinner as it is one of the more varied eateries in the area. Delicious, Thank you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank orlaghown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonbeachcafe_1, Manager at Brighton Beach Cafe, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Orlagh

On behalf of all our staff here at Brighton Beach cafe, we would like to thank you for
writing a review about our cafe. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share
your experience. We hope to welcome you again in the future and offer you more tasty
Kerala dishes!

Happy Travels
The brighton Beach Cafe staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brighton Beach Cafe also viewed

 
Cherai Beach, Vypin Island
 

Been to Brighton Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing