We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place between Backwaters and the Arabic Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

pleasant people, excellent food and very beautiful location!
I would like to go there again for a longer stay than the two nights we had. We had the no.11 cottage just at the water and enjoyed the view, the sunrise and no mosquitos. A short walk to the Arabic Sea with the beach and easy to get out into the water for a swim.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Eckart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review. Having spent the whole afternoon answering reviews, (I have neglected this duty for a while, due to the incredible amount of various tasks required from an independent hotel owner... Shame on me...) I am short of words to express our gratitude for so many warm compliments. We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Benjamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 475 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

It's beautiful, relaxing, and calm. The staff is amazing and very helpful. The food was always delicious, and the beach really close. Rooms are all different, so choose what you like (for example some have outside shower, and some don't). Loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid_a_Grez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review. I ll convey your compliments to our team. We are all very happy when we receive such a review and it is a great encouragement to keep up the hard work. Hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Benjamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Recently stayed here with my family. Our party consisted of 3 kids my brother my wife and my mum. WOW what can I say such an idyllic setting, lovely staff, great food, beach literally 5 min walk.

It was stunning I highly recommend and if ever I am in Kerala I am definitely staying here!!

Room Tip: Lake front rooms have an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsmailMayat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear guest,

What to say...

Thank you so much!

Hope you visit us again,

Best regards,

Benjamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I along with my husband want to spend some time in Cherai beach and based on TA reviews selected this place.. Tariff per room was high but we thought the great reviews and photos will make up for it. As soon as we reached the place, we fell in love with the beautiful surroundings.. the amazing backwaters.. the beach was also a short walk away. But as we entered our room ( cottage no.3) it was very cramped and small we thought.. and didnt get the idea of a backyard seating rather they could have used that space to increase the room area. It was humid. The fan speed was also not the highest you can get. May be staying in an eco resort means you have to deal with low speed fans and a lot of insects in your room!! As it was only for 1 night..we let it go.. The evening was full of mosquito which is quite natural. We took the ayurvedic massages and it was really relaxing but during the process.. it was so hot and lots of mosquito there too. They arranged our dinner by the backwaters a very good set up for a couple. But the food served was not good as the fish we ordered was total raw from inside. But the staff was kind enough to replace it with another one but this is not expected from a travellers choice resort in the first place!! Also during breakfast they said that sausages got over but we went for breakfast only 20mins from the starting time and only 1 family was having their breakfast so I wonder that was just an excuse of not giving sausages to their guests. The food at chillout cafe was far better and worthy of every penny. Also the staff reminded us of check out way before the check out time which was at that point a bit irritating!!
It was just a one night stay so no regrets but expected much more from the place and at this price(6.5k) the room was not good at all!!

Room Tip: Choose an AC room but then again too expensive as it is not 5 star category!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puja_deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy that you enjoyed our beautiful location, and of course sorry that we could not meet your high expectations.

Let me explain the double purpose of our backyard seat out. On the one hand, having a front and backside sit-out serves a purpose of natural cooling and ventilation. Cross-ventilation is a basic principle of natural cooling. Also, along with the North-East orientation of the cottage, this kind of design prevents the sun from heating directly the room, thus keeping the sleeping area naturally cool. On the other hand, we deliberately optimized outdoor shady private area, as we feel that one like to live mostly outside in our climate. That is why we think that the totally private backside sit-out is a very nice area to enjoy, while the room itself is mainly meant for staying in bed.

About the breakfast sausage matter... After several complains, we decided to add this item to our breakfast options, even if this is very unusual both in French and South-Indian breakfast. To provide proper sausages to our guests (again one unusual item not available in the area), we have to buy them 30 km away from the resort, which we obviously can not do on daily basis, and only in the limits of available stock from our provider. We are sorry that we ran out of stock while you stayed with us, it unfortunately lasted a few days, and is unrelated to the time you had your breakfast. To be honest, we still do not have the perfect solution to this sausages problem, and are still looking for a proper steady supply of good quality products.

Before concluding, I noticed that you mentioned twice in your review that the climate was hot and humid. Even if there are some seasonal variations, I have to admit that Kerala's, monsoon type, tropical climate is generally hot and humid... January, the time of your stay, being actually rather dry and cool.

The experience of an eco-resort brings you close to the nature, a more classical full AC concrete hotel would surely provide a more controlled mainstream experience, that might have better suited your tastes. We offer another kind of luxury, that is probably not everyone's ideal holidays.

As it unfortunately happens sometimes, there have been obviously some kind of misunderstanding from your side about the experience offered at Les 3 Elephants. We are sincerely sorry that we could not fully satisfy your expectations.

Best regards,

Benjamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A journey has no destination, a passage through India is a journey, sometimes the journey finds a destination, a paradise, Les 3 Elephants is one of them.
If you want to experience beauty into detail, then you should stay here.
Excellent Boutique Resort.
No more has to be said, this place is extremely tranquil and quaint. A refuge from the rest of the world.
A lot of love to the detail of Interior Design and an eco friendly architecture that blends into the environment, watch the Chinese Fishing nets from your balcony at night, it's magical

Room Tip: Room number 2 was excellent with a private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yashiheran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an enthusiastic review. We work hard to provide the kind of experience you obviously enjoyed with us, and it is a great reward to read a review like yours. Thanks again for the welcomed encouragement. We hope to see you again.

Warm regards,

Benjamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I spend new years at this wonderful place. It is located far off the main branch of Cochin, but if you seek a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, I can more then recommend Les 3 Elephants!
The hosts are wonderful and are always helpful and forthcoming!
The huts are very well made and very new!
The beach is just a very short walk away and most of the time while I was there, nobody else was at the beach. All in all a very nice hotel with a nice and relaxing atmosphere

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear guest,

I have to confess that I was very busy lately, and thus late in answering to Tripadvisor's reviews. In a way, it is easier to answer when guests express complains, as we have the opportunity to either defend ourselves when we feel that the complains are unfair, to provide explanations or apologies if needed, or acknowledging constructive remarks in order to improve the quality of our resort.

When a review is entirely positive, such as yours, what can I say:

"Thank you so much! Hope to see you again!"

Have a very nice day,

Best regards,

Benjamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We ended our holiday here and were looking forward to putting our feet up and chilling out, and we weren’t disappointed. There are 11 cottages and we had cottage number 1 which was secluded, A/C and looked directly out onto the backwaters and the fishing nets – perfect! Our room was large with a separate bathroom and separate toilet. There was also an indoor garden which was sadly rather neglected and we not quite sure what purpose it serves when you can sit outside and have a view of the back waters. We had a warm welcome and the staff is helpful and friendly and the management is lucky to have such dedicated staff who make sure everything runs smoothly. However, when checking in it would have been helpful if we had been informed about the meal times and also that if you wanted a hot shower, you had to ring reception and ask them to turn on the hot water. The food was very good but rather Europeanised although if you wanted it hotter, it wasn’t a problem. The fresh juices were wonderful (no alcohol) and all freshly made. Don’t miss an early morning boat ride – a perfect way to start any day. Try out the massages on offer too, they are very professional and worth every penny. We spent New Year’s Eve here and the management put on some extremely good live entertainment and a lot of thought went into decorating the tables and gardens. It was delightful and a wonderful way to end the year. A down note was the seating. The easy chairs at our cottage were old and wicker seating half broken and not at all comfortable. Also many of the dining chairs were cheap steel chairs which were very uncomfortable to sit on. A cushion would have been a cheap, easy solution. The beach is just across the road and is wide, clean, and safe to swim in plus there are few people. WiFi is available in certain areas but is no easy to access. Take mosquito lotion – the mozzie are huge and very hungry but only come out between 6.30 and 7.30pm. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found three days wasn’t really enough. We would definitely return.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank zortean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Owner at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review about Les 3 Elephants. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and mainly the New Year's Eve program which was a first for us, this is a great motivation for organizing it again next year, hopefully it will be even better!

About the few down points in your review:

Cottage number one is in fact one of our best cottage, with a very large private sit-out on the backwater. The configuration of the resort allows for almost every cottage to have a private garden at the back. In the case of this cottage number one (and number 11 also facing the backwater), I agree with you that the front sit-out on the backwaters is obviously so unique that the back garden is quite unnecessary (it should not be neglected though and I'll make sure that it is properly maintained).

I personally designed our metal chairs that I been especially made for us in a local workshop. I have to say that I like them very much, and thus can not really agree with you that they are "cheap". Yet plenty of cushions are available on request. However, following your advice, I ll look into ordering weatherproof dedicated cushions in order to provide them permanently.

It is maybe a mistake from my side to point out these little complains in your review, which is for the rest extremely positive. But I don't see the point in bragging about the compliments, and rather wish to leave no problem unanswered.

I'll convey your satisfaction to our team.

Best regards,

Benjamin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherai Beach
0.8 mi away
Sealine Beach Resort
Sealine Beach Resort
#7 of 8 in Cherai Beach
63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Cherai
Blue Waters Cherai
#1 of 8 in Cherai Beach
448 reviews
1.5 mi away
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
#3 of 8 in Cherai Beach
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,076 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
15.2 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach

Address: 1078 Convent Beach, Pipeline Road, North Cherai, Kochi, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683515, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Vypin Island > Cherai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Price Range: $74 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French owned, designed and managed Backwaters Boutique Eco Resort, 200 meters from the Arabian Sea. Thatched roofs bungalows, with sit-out offering direct view on the backwaters, and private garden. Indo-Mediterranean restaurant. Traditional massage and yoga class available. Free Wi-Fi lounge area. Handicraft and designer clothes Corner Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing