We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

It is a totally gorgeous experience staying here. It is very peaceful and incredibly stylish. The rooms are actually individual thatched bungalows, and each has a veranda facing the backwater lagoon and comfortable wooden planters chairs in the shade. Most rooms seem to have a private outside area behind their cottage with a small dining table, chairs and deck chairs. We stayed in two different cottages and both had different quirks, one had a stunning brass sink with a tap suspended above it, and the other had an outside writing desk. But every room seems to have a unbroken view across the backwaters and it is magical at night when the chinese fishing nets put their lights on.

The staff are friendly and highly competent. The hotel serves breakfasts, light lunches and dinner- the menu changes every day but we tried pretty much everything over a few days and it was all well-cooked and delicious.

The other highlight of this place is that you get the rare combination of backwaters and beach. The top end of Cherai beach is usually nearly deserted and clean, and its about 100m walk from the hotel. If you're staying for a while I'd recommend getting the number of a friendly rickshaw driver so you can be picked up/ dropped off further down Cherai if you fancy exploring- sometimes it can be difficult to find one on the road.

Utterly brilliant place. Definitely going back.

Room Tip: Cottage 1 has a/c but the fans work so well that you would be cool enough without it- but it does ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank g_finknottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Patron,
The satisfaction of our clients is the most important thing in our resort. Having a so nice review is a reward for all the team.
Thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 477 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

The best part of the 3 Elephants is the local Indian staff who are really the core of this place. They are so friendly, welcoming and helpful. I would highly recommend the morning yoga/meditation session in the garden with Harish as the sun rises over the backwaters and the villages come to life. Two mornings of that was a definite highlight of our trip. The food here is also excellent. Management/owners are not the most welcoming or friendly bunch but their staff more than makes up for it. And the location between the backwaters and the Arabian sea is pretty tranquil. The rooms may be a little overpriced for what you get, but the beds are comfortable. Not much else around so bring some books to read and enjoy the relaxation this spot offers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Tonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Patron,
Thank you for your nice review. Be sure that we will improve our welcoming. Hope to see you during your next trip to Kerala.
Sincerly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just spent a most enjoyable four night stay here. The setting is special, we occupied bungalow 1 overlooking the Backwaters and the very spectacular Chinese fishing nets. The Arabian Sea 100 yards in the other side of the hotel is equally spectacular. The accommodation is air conditioned, comfortable with adequate warm/hot showers despite power cuts caused by poor monsoon rainfall affecting the Kerala hydro-electric power supply. The hotel has an efficient back-up generator.

All the staff are particularly pleasant and helpful and go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and memorable; let them sort out a return tuk tuk trip to the Fort Kochi ferry. The driver will wait for you on the return trip some six or seven hours later. Not to be missed, very exciting and a strong message as to why you should leave driving to the locals. Fort Kochi well worth a visit, walk around to get the flavor, e.g. to the Jewish quarter via Bazaar Road (wholesale market area) and the waterfront fishing area.

Suggestions for improvement. Food was excellent although the vegetarian options after a few days became repetitive. Four restaurant tables for ten bungalows is inadequate especially as this is the WiFi hotspot. Expansion of the adjacent library to accommodate more tables is overdue. The manager although approachable and helpful should be more proactive in interacting with his relatively small number of guests.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Bungalow 1 superbly located and air-conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunart6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Patron,
Thanks a lot for your nice review. We noted all your suggestions and will improve our management according to it. Hopr to see you again,
Sincerly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I loved the place and the friendliness of everyone. There is a very good atmosphere that makes you feel from the first moment among friends, the service is excellent. Rooms are original with everything necessary. It is a great place to spend some time relaxing in this beautiful area. Ideal to go wtih your partner or family, but also perfect for spending a few days alone. The food is very good with a wide range of local and international dishes. The beach is very closo, you reach it easily walking across an area of typical houses as you walking under the palm trees. I will come back every time that I will visit this area.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enricrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Patron,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We will be very happy to welcome you each time you will come back to Kerala,
Sincerly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We arrived at 3elephants after a long flight from the UK and realised we had made an excellent decicsion for somewhere to stay to unwind and recuperate for a few days.
PROS

The staff were friendly and attentive. We had arranged a pick-up from the airport but had missed our connecting flight and couldn’t get a message to them so stood up their taxi driver. They did not make a fuss and did not charge us. They arranged a rickshaw for our onwards travel to Fort Cochin.
We enjoyed the tranquillity of the location and the beautiful views over the backwaters. We also took a long walk along Cherai beach which was pleasant. (We didn’t go in the sea due to an abundance of crabs long the shore, of which I am phobic).
We stayed in cottage #4 which I believe is the cheapest. It was attractive inside, clean, the bed was comfortable and there was enough space to unpack and organise our things. We had an outside shower in a private courtyard area which was fun, and there were comfortable chairs on a terrace area which faced onto the beautiful backwater view.
Breakfasts were tasty- we tried both the continental and Keralan options. Evening meals were also good and the little restaurant area is a pleasant place to sit.

CONS
Be careful – with the backwaters location and lots of trees there are many mozzies around. Don’t be stupid like us and take an outside shower at dusk (my husband got 27 bites!)
There isn’t a lot to do within walking distance. This was a big bonus for us as we just wanted to chill out somewhere beautiful

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Patron,

Thank you for your nice review. All 3 Elephants' Team was happy to welcome you. Hope to see you again,
Sincerly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

First of, the place was a bit hard to find, with no driving directions/landmarks given on the website.
When we reached there, we realized it was right next to a local village. Then, when we entered the room, we realized that the bathroom was outdoors. When we had read the description from the website, we had assumed that the showering area was an additional one to wash the sand off after a walk on the beach. There were no towels provided in the room, nor any soap. The staff was courteous and changed our room. This one had an indoor shower, but again not really a 'bathROOM'. It was more like an area of the room had been converted into the bath area with no full length doors! You can't really stay in this room with family as there is no privacy while taking a bath. All these things need to be clearly mentioned on the website.
Also, there was no hot water in the shower. All the light switches were very hard to find and randomly placed. The doors and the roof had plenty of gaps to allow mosquitoes to come in. The bed was more of a raised stone platform on which the mattress was placed. The height of the bed was really uncomfortable. Many times I hurt myself while climbing in/out of the bed because of the jutting out stone edges.
Overall it felt like more attention had been given to the aesthetics than the ergonomics or even the basic expectations one has of a room. The owner have tried hard to give it a resort-like appearance, but the lack of attention to these very basic things is appalling. We stayed here only for a night - may be you grow to like the place once you get used to the weird layout of the switches, and the unconventional bed and bath. For pros, I would say that the beach is really close by, and it is situated right on the backwaters like it promises. The food also is good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alpana_anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Patron,

Thank you for you review. We are sorry you didn't really enjoy the architecture of our resort. The cottage in which you stayed was indeed not a family one but a couple one (with one double bed). We have also family suite which offers all intimacy you need. We decided to build beds in concrete because it keeps the coolness during the night and make your sleep more confortable even without A/C. We made them little high for you to be abble to enjoy the backwaters view even from your bed. We are again sorry you couldn't enjoy it.
Sincerly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

It was wonderful vacations, which we spent in "Les 3 Elephants".
First of all, I should say about people who work there. Since first day they do everything to make our stay unforgettable. Thanks a lot guys.
The second, is the place itself. The hotel is hidden in the far part of island. It's very peaceful territory on the bank of backwaters. Moreover, there's is a desert beach in 1 min from hotel.
And finally, I should say about nature. It's unbelievable! There are a lot of birds around, millions of crabs on the beach and dolphins, which appear very close to coast.
Usualy, we don't return to places where we have been already, but this place will be an exception.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitaln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Patron,

Thanks a lot for your nice review. We will be very happy to be your exception,

Sincerly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherai Beach
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Cherai
Blue Waters Cherai
#1 of 8 in Cherai Beach
452 reviews
1.5 mi away
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
#3 of 8 in Cherai Beach
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sealine Beach Resort
Sealine Beach Resort
#7 of 8 in Cherai Beach
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,094 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.1 mi away
Sea Lagoon Health Resort
Sea Lagoon Health Resort
#4 of 8 in Cherai Beach
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach

Address: 1078 Convent Beach, Pipeline Road, North Cherai, Kochi, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683515, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Vypin Island > Cherai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Price Range: $75 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French owned, designed and managed Backwaters Boutique Eco Resort, 200 meters from the Arabian Sea. Thatched roofs bungalows, with sit-out offering direct view on the backwaters, and private garden. Indo-Mediterranean restaurant. Traditional massage and yoga class available. Free Wi-Fi lounge area. Handicraft and designer clothes Corner Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing