We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little to remote”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bali Masari Villas & Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sukawati
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little to remote”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a nice place to visit for only a couple of days. The hotel is quite remote and I felt that they took advantage of that with their cost of the hotel transport . I usually stay in the Tanjung Benoa area, that whenever you needed resturant or supplies, I could just walk across the road from the hotel with plenty of choices. And when I did need transport the price is always negotiable. Not at Bali Masari, It cost $60 for a return trip to Jimbaran Bay and $20 to the local shops for water. The staff were wonderful, especially the resturant staff who were more than happy to deliver food to your room via 60 steep steps. I did feel like John Cleese though in Faulty Towers Trying to expain to Manuel , that I would like a top sheet on my bed. we got there in the end. There is no lift so if you struggle with steps best to avoid this one. The pool area is nice but small and if you`re lucky there was someone to give you a towel. I would`nt recomend bringing children under 5 as ther are a few safety issues like exposed wiring and I personally recieved a electric shock from a lamp. Overall the hotel is worth a look for a couple of days but not quite for me.

Room Tip: The further down the hill you go the more stairs to climb to get back up. Ask for the accomodation w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    33
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This accommodation is small by comparison, thus, it give the niche to the traveller who looks for quiet and tranquil holidays. Staff service were excellent and you really can count on them. Good wifi signal. I will be back..

Room Tip: The double bed room are very good and spacious. Not suitable for traveller who need Wheel chair as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duriandurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zesite
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is certainly not perfect although the staff is doing its best. However it is our second time at Bali Masari and we love it.

Pros:
Some of the reviewers complain that the location is too far away from Ubud or any other village. That is true that you can find very quiet and nice places in the ricefields in Ubud or very nearby.
But I do not like Ubud anymore. It is over-crowed with traffic jam all day long. I feel so happy to find a shelter away from the tourist hustle. This is exactly what makes this hotel so nice: you can drive around without being stuck for hours.
If you are adventurous enough, put your udeng, safari, senteng and kemben and go explore the suroundings to discover Calon Arang, Barong, Gambuh...
And remember that you will find the most exciting meals on the markets: babi guling, pepes ikan, ayam panggang,Bubuh Injin, Jajan Bantal...

Cons:
Unfortunatly, the (expensive) massage was not worth its price. The bath at the end was cold due a technical problem and nobody apologized for that. No one even dared to tell us that there was a problem before I have told them. How could you reasonably call that a spa without hot water?

Good to know: the hotel now mainly hosts chinese travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zesite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore , India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our one-bedroom villa was thankfully on the first terrace below the reception area- fewer steps to climb!
Beautifully appointed- a very well stocked kitchen, a large and comfortable sofa that pulled out into a bed if needed, a very comfortable bed with clean linen, large cupboards, an indoor bathroom with a bathtub, an outdoor shower, a private plunge pool and a bale' out in the garden.
There is so much to see and do in Bali but we found it really hard to tear ourselves away from the resort- it is incredibly tranquil and peaceful, the perfect antidote to our day-to-day stress.
We followed the advice we read on TripAdvisor and tried out the Venezia Spa in Ubud but the resort's River Spa was just fantastic- our couple's room had a wall that opened out to the stunning Petanu river gorge.

Pros:

-the villas are wonderfully spacious, quiet and relaxing.
-the outdoor shower- more of a cataract, really- is a great experience.
-the bathroom amenities are jasmine-scented and really good.
-the kitchen is very well set up- it's a breeze to stock up on food at a supermarket and cook up simple meals if you need to.
-the plunge pool is such a treat!
-the main pool is large and has a truly stunning view over the neighbouring countryside.
-the staff are unfailingly helpful, polite and prompt. We never heard the word 'no'.
-Sukawati has lots of great markets to shop at and is just a 20 minute walk away.
-the spa is spectacular, really is.

Cons:

-it's quite a drive to get anywhere from the resort- Ubud is the closest at 20 minutes.
-the garden and plunge pool are not as private as you would think- gardeners and other staff are often pottering about.
-the restaurant serves good food, yes, but their vegetarian options are non-existent. On day two you would already be on loop! I lived on store-brought veggie ramen and fruit.

Our week at the Bali Masari was a dream- we booked it through RCI and I cannot praise this hotel highly enough- we are already on the wait-list for a future trip!

Room Tip: Villas closer to the reception, which is at the highest level, will have fewer steps to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meerameerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My first day in Bali and this is really good place for couple. The best part is, you can add 2 more people since it can share a big hall with great view.

This hotel is just beside the Telega waja river and you can experience tropic woods and quite morning in your hall, or the private pool. The best part is there is a private shower place open in the air and you just feel in the nature!

The swimming pool is also cool with edgeless to the woods.

BTW: wifi signal is good no matter in villa or open air.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawnzhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The place was very tranquil, quiet. Our villa was spacious, very clean and well-maintained. We were very pleased with that. The sheets were fresh and the complimentary fruits were good. Staffs were all friendly, no complaint at all. Pool was excellent, like other review pointed out, we went to the pool when nobody else did, and the feeling was great!
Villa had plunge pool and outdoor shower.
The restaurant served decent meals, although we waited a very long time for our food to be served. Maybe this is one area that could use some improvement.
We really enjoyed our stay at Masari.

Room Tip: You might need to arrange for transport while staying at Masari.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiaochuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Pros : quite place. excellent service. good facility. good restaurant. nice private pool. huge living room

Cons : in the middle of village. not pleasant to take a walk out of villa. 30 minutes driving to Ubud and 1 hour driving to Kutas and 30 minuets to Sanur. At night we need to take a taxi to go out for dinner. It was a little bit tired. But on full day rent car with a driver was not expensive though, 30-50 dollars. If you have children, it is good location since several zoos are close to the villa.

Our trip was during X-mas, so the traffice to Kutas was severe.

Room Tip: The room number 1 we stayed was the biggest one I guess and very good privacy and nice front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PetitPalois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sukawati
1.2 mi away
Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat
3.9 mi away
Rumah Luwih Beach Resort and Spa
20.0 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#8 of 20 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bali Diamond Villas
Bali Diamond Villas
#2 of 3 in Keramas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.3 mi away
Santi Mandala
Santi Mandala
#2 of 3 in Sukawati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.9 mi away
Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Masari Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Masari Villas & Spa

Property: Bali Masari Villas & Spa
Address: Jl. Saba | Banjar Gelumpang Gianyar, Sukawati 80582, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Sukawati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sukawati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Masari Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Masari Villas is a hotel with a difference featuring four one-bedroom and eight two-bedroom luxury villas each with their own private plunge pool. In a beautiful corner of Bali the hotel overlooks a ravine in the valley of the Petanu River, facilities include a swimming pool, restaurant, spa and cafe. The resort is situated near Sukawati village and is only 15 minutes from the heart of Sanur and 20 minutes from Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bali Masari Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Masari Villas And Spa
Bali Masari Villas Hotel Sukawati
Bali Masari Hotel
Bali Masari Resort
Bali Masari Villas & Spa Sukawati

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing