We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welle House Self Catering. 8th to 22nd September 2012.”
Review of Welle House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Prawle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welle House
Ranked #1 of 1 East Prawle B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Right, time to put the record straight I feel.

We booked these two weeks back at the end of spring and at the time did not check Trip Advisor. However, a couple of weeks before we were due to leave we did and got quite a shock after seeing some of the negative reviews. (Negative? They were quite nasty!) I am not going to dwell on these but enough said that if you read the web page from Andy and Mo's web site then you get what you see. To coin a fraze "it does exactly what it says on the tin!" The house is a 1930's build and as such if furnished in that style. If you want DFS and Ikea - don't go. If you want nice little nick nacks around the place and chintzy curtains - don't go. If you want an accommodation base which offers an excellent, safe environment for your child and dogs to enjoy themselves, without haveing to keep a constant eye on them, worrying if they are going to knock Aunt Maud's vase off the table ( you know the type? It's the stuff that holiday let owners have been given and can't stand to be in their own houses so they consign it to the holiday home) then this is the place for you. It has a big safe garden for our 2 year old to play in along with our dogs. The house is easy to keep clean and as for area, well if you are into walking there simply is no better base. Dartmouth and Kingsbridge are 35 and 25 minutes respective drive for those who want the high life (?) and the Pigs Nose - doubtless one of the kingdoms most quirkiest pubs - is a 6 minute stagger.

The poor owners Andy and Mo - lovely down to earth folk who make great hosts - have doubtless lost a great deal of business over the negative reviews which are not justified given the description which is on their web site. They did not know anything about these until I informed them upon seeing them on TA. Would I go again? For sure. Would I recommend it? If the folk were like us then yes but if you want Aunt Mauds vase and chintz, no. As I say, read the web site.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welle_House, Owner at Welle House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words – we are really glad that all five of you had such an enjoyable holiday (particularly after the TripAdvisor trepidation!), and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 49 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We must have stayed at Welle house 4 times in the last 3 years, and each time Mo and Andy have made us and our dog feel really welcome. They do all they can to help you enjoy your break. The accommodation is comfortable and the breakfasts superb with locally sourced and home produce. The location is great for walking the fabulous local coastal paths or just escaping the 'rat race'. A great place for animal lovers - I have recommended it to my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welle_House, Owner at Welle House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Many thanks for your kind words. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stays with us and have recommended us to your friends – the best form of advertising!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We arrived terribly late - after midnight - due to cirucumstances way beyond our control, after having already rung twice to change our ETA. But the welcome was genuinely warm and good-humoured, immediately putting us at ease. We were shown to the family room, offered a wide range of choices for breakfast, and had a good sleep in proper crispy cotton sheets in comfortable beds. I liked the little jug of fresh real milk in the fridge, no plastic pots of fake stuff. Lovely sea views out the window, looking out past the chickens which provide the eggs for breakfast. Breakfast was generous and delicious. And the coffee was good! How often can one honestly say that at a B&B? Our hosts chatted to the guests as they cooked and served, all very friendly and informal but quick. I hope I will find myself back in this area again some time, and I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welle_House, Owner at Welle House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Oh wow! That is exactly what we are trying for! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and very much hope that we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have stayed at Welle House three times, and intend to do so many more times. I have no idea what sort of people wrote such unpleasant reviews, especially as Mo and Andy Hort do everything to make their guests welcome and happy. It a lovely, relaxed and friendly place to stay, surrounded by heavenly countryside and coast. The beds are comfortable, the rooms clean and unpretentious, the bathrooms good, and the most fantastic breakfasts where Mo and Andy cook and talk to their guests, Yes, they have their own animals and poultry, and welcomed my dogs, who love it there, and this is made clear on their website.

I have three wonderful stays with them, including with some elderly friends who were making a sentimental journey to East Prawle after many years, and Mo and Andy could not have been kinder or more welcoming.

I have stayed in hundreds of B and Bs in this country and abroad, and Welle House is different, unique and special, so I hope the offensive guests will take themselves elsewhere, as everyone I have met there have been friendly and appreciative.

Room Tip: All the ones I stayed in were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamond069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welle_House, Owner at Welle House, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind remarks. We always enjoy seeing you and your little dogs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A long weekend at Welle House was just what the doctor had ordered. Suffering from insomnia and many stress related illnesses, this B&B was a haven for me and my family. We were made to feel most welcome on our first visit, to the extent I have returned on several occasions now. The breakfasts were first class and made with home grown produce and eggs to a very high standard.This place has a real rural and family feel to it, and has a great little pub not far. If you want R&R with some great walks and to escape the rat race this is a must. With regard to the negative reviews, I can only think they stayed at another Welle House, this isnt the Ritz and certainly has an old worlde charm. We will be returning again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welle_House, Owner at Welle House, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for your very kind remarks. We really enjoyed meeting you and your family, and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We w are travelling around the UK this summer and wanted to see Devon at its best so we came here. Luckily we stayed only for a night. In the great village of east prawle we found this b&b which looked fair enough on their website. We turned into the driveway and we thought we. Turned into a junkyard!!! Putting the first impression behind us we were invited into a horrible house that stank of a cats litter tray that had not been emptied for a decade. We were shown by the owner to our room. There are 3 of us so we stayed in 'the family' room'. We opened the door into a suprisingly large room. We opened the fridge or as we called it the 'death trap' which hadn't been cleaned out in our lifetimes and the milk in it was putrid. Anyway after a great beach day we returned to have a shower. The only problem was that there wasn't one. There was a jug in a 'homemade' bath. We took this as a laugh and had a great night out at the 'pigs nose'. We woke up after a suprisingly good sleep. We went downstairs for breakfast and we all ordered a full English. We sat and ate with cats running over us, the owner with an unbuttoned shirt doing nothing but holding a coffee pot and leaving all the work to his wife. The breakfast was nice as te owners wife was a good cook. We had a walk outside to see the animals but there was however a trek across a junkyard. We decided to pack our cases and head off as soon as we can. Good entertainment and atmosphere but not worth it!!!! Great hosts (well the wife). Will never return!!!

Room Tip: Uh...don't come her
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackkyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welle_House, Owner at Welle House, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Welle House, although we are pleased that you found the room “surprisingly large”, that you slept well, that you enjoyed your breakfasts, and that you had a great day at the beach and a great night out at the local pub (and that at least one of us was a great host).

We are puzzled by your first two criticisms. We own a pair of old kayaks which we keep against the hedge, and there is an old chimney pot by the door which we consider decorative, but junkyard? For us to respond properly, you would need to be more specific.

We do not have a cat litter tray, and our cats are trained to go outside for their needs. If there was an unpleasant smell, we do wish you had mentioned it, so we could locate the source, although no visitors since your stay have mentioned this.

The fridge provided in the family room is admittedly past its first flush of youth, but it is cleaned inside and out after each visitor, and milk is put in it shortly before guests arrival (in your case from the same place as your milk for breakfast). Again, if the milk was off, we do wish you had mentioned it at the time.

We are sorry that you were disappointed by the absence of a shower. When you booked you were given the option of taking a twin room, with en suite shower room, plus a double room with en suite bathroom, as a single room, but you elected for the family room with en suite bathroom as the cheaper option. We are unclear what you mean by “home made” bath – it’s a corner bath, bought from a bath shop, installed by a plumber. There is no shower attachment so the jug is supplied (at the request of a previous guest) to rinse hair.

Andy may well have had his shirt collar unbuttoned at breakfast, but ‘unbuttoned shirt’ makes it sound like he was displaying his torso for all to see. A most unpleasant thought, and Mo would most definitely not allow it! We should make it clear that Andy is not “the owner” and Mo “the wife” – we own and operate the property and business together. We have allocated the tasks involved between ourselves. Mo cooks the breakfast because, as you say, she is a good cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

To quote from a previous review “This place stinks” & “makes the Bates Motel look like a better option” My partner has previously been to East Prawle several times camping with fond memories and wanted to show me around, as I do not do camping he said his Dad had stayed in Welle House a few years back, and had said it was very good, So I booked 2 double rooms, for 2 nights, and paid the full amount up front (back in February) with confidence …………………. When we arrived and saw the outside, and the rooms were so bad, we decided immediately not to stay, and told the landlord so, and enquired re a refund, we were bluntly told “you saw the website” and no refund will be given, in hindsight I should of only paid a deposit (but well worth losing all our monies not to stay here) …..Don’t even think about staying here

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieSmith21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welle_House, Owner at Welle House, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

We are sorry that you did not feel able to complete your stay with us at Welle House.

You booked 2 double rooms, and were told at the time of booking that one had an en suite shower room and the other an en suite bathroom. After checking in, you asked whether we had another room with a shower, and were told that the only other room with a shower was already booked (we were fully booked that weekend). You indicated that that was unacceptable and left. There was no realistic prospect of letting the room at such short notice, so we could not offer a refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Welle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welle House

Address: East Prawle, East Prawle TQ7 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > East Prawle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Prawle
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing