We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Indian meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of India Village

India Village
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in Dundas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Indian meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Found the food too be excellent and beautifully presented. Would definitely go back there again. Staff were very friendly as well. Lots of vegetarian selection and for those that have gluten issues there are many gluten free options

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    26
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We usually get takeout. It's always prompt, very hot, great prices and very nice people. Delicious food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rpadrunner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very tasty and surprisingly healthy north Indian Curries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very tasty and well cooked curries. Surprisingly healthy. Great and friendly service from owner and chef extraordinaire.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KelvsNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best Indian meal since moving from the UK!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had lunch at the India Village in Dundas today - we should have eaten at the Ancaster site with a friend currently living in Ancaster, but sadly they'd had a problem and had to close. A very friendly staff member directed us to this second site, and because of our friend's recommendation we chose to drive to Dundas rather than eating somewhere else locally. And we're very glad we did! Very friendly service, and a menu that shows a lot of thought rather than being just the typical collection of Indian dishes you find everywhere.

To start, we shared onion bhajis and potato and spinach pancakes. The bhajis were fresh and delicious (and plentiful!), and the pancakes came with chick-peas on top and were also very yummy. The meat main courses are served as a platter, unless you request otherwise; my chicken jalfrezi came with rice, a small side-salad and a small mild vegetable mix on the side. There was enough rice to share with my husband, whose vegetable curry came as a stand-alone dish. We also ordered naan; very fresh and crispy, with a delicious texture and taste. We were all asked how we would like our dishes cooked, which is an excellent sign. And we all left with food to take home.

Price-wise, the total bill was no more expensive than Indian restaurants we've tried in London, and the difference there is that we don't tend to have leftovers.

Excellent service as well, and the owner chatted with us for a while afterwards, which was even nicer. I just wish we lived closer to Ancaster/Dundas, so we could visit more frequently!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaWideTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freelton, On
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved by the kids as well!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a great restaurant. The staff is really nice and the food was really good. They even made JJ's entree really spicy, as he had requested. Most indian restaurants don't think that JJ can take the heat, so he's normally disappointed. The girls love the butter chicken as well!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Village also viewed

 

Been to India Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing