We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and exceptional with delightful proprietors,comfortable rooms and delicious food in a beautiful environment.”
Review of Osler House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Osler House
Ranked #2 of 3 Dundas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique and exceptional with delightful proprietors,comfortable rooms and delicious food in a beautiful environment.”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

I can recommend this place with real enthusiasm. We've been to some lovely B and Bs but this is truely in a class of its' own.The owners are helpful, cheerful and welcoming and have put so much thought into creating a really 5 star service for their guests. Osler house is truely impressive and is furnished with lovely antiques and sumptuous fabrics. The bedrooms and ensuite facilities are stunning to look at and comfortable to sleep in. I felt like a queen, but cosy too! Everthing is spotlessly clean and sparkling, toiletries are all provided and the towels are thick and plenty. Each reception room is elegant with a billiards room and lovely outside seating in the beautiful, tranquil gardens. "Delicious food" doesn't begin to describe the eating experience here! Gary is a gourmet cook who presents his creative dishes in exquisite bowls, plates and goblets. Every day he created fresh delights and my mouth still waters at the memory! He clearly enjoys preparing these treats for his guests and this adds to the pleasure when eating them. As for things to do, Dundas is a quaint historical town surrounded by beautiful countyside, spectacular waterfalls and interesting trecks. Niagara Falls is a quick train journey away as is Toronto. We really loved our stay at Osler House and can't imagine anyone being disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belindawilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
37
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This beautiful and quite grand house has been immaculately renovated with all the modern fixtures and fitting, and furnished in keeping with its original style using wonderful antiques and sumptuous drapes. The grandeur of the house belies the warmth of welcome from the owners, Gary and Sara, and the relaxed atmosphere that they generate. Breakfast is taken in the classic dining room and the food produced by Gary is both beautiful and delicious.
Osler House is set in a wonderful large garden and is a stone's throw from the centre of the small town, Dundas. The town is old fashioned and charming with a variety of interesting shops and eateries. It is also close to lovely walks through woodlands which lead you to nearby waterfalls.
Osler House is situated roughly half way between Toronto and Niagara Falls - under an hour's drive from each.
It was a treat to stay they and give it my highest recommendation.

(Ask them about the cottage that is available to rent on the Lake of Bays, Muskoka.)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucylu56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We had a small (50 ppl) wedding (ceremony and reception and overnight) in august of 2009 at the Osler House. I had no doubt in my mind that Gary and Sarah's B&B was exactly what I pictured for my wedding; Large and lushious grounds full of greenery; private and away from the road; fabulous victorian home and furnishing; lots of different seating areas inside and out; open and airy rooms throughout; separated private and public residences; and obliging and courteous owners more than willing to meet the requests of the bride and groom.

My wedding day was everything I wanted it to be: unique, intimate, private and elegant. my wedding pictures are so beautiful and elegant; all made possible by the fabulous backdrop of Osler House.

I can't say more about this home and it's owners; they raise the bar on all elements of a B&B. . In addition I concur and share every positive sentiment of all other reviews on this site (especially on the amazing breakfast) !!!

Ashleigh and Caleb

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleigh_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2009

A very beautiful, private B & B with elegantly furnished rooms. Ours was a very large corner room, with high ceilings and tall windows, filled with comfortable antiques--the vibe is elegant English country manor-- very grand--lovely armoire, very comfortable king bed with luxurious linens, big private bathroom with heated tile floor. Lots of special touches--a tray of china tea service (electric kettle, little fridge and TV hidden in large closet), fluffy robes, bubble bath, decanter of sherry.) Hosts Gary and Sara could not have been nicer. Breakfasts were wonderful, served in elegant downstairs dining room. Best of all, the owners live in a separate apartment so there's tons of privacy. Our second stay--this time we were celebrating an anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2009

My friend and I have just completed our annual November B&B sojourn and this year chose Osler House as our getaway destination. Our host Gary was attentive, cordial and clearly pleased to share his beautifully renovated home with guests. Our room, the Osler, was nothing if not luxurious coming complete with silver tea service and home made shortbread, a welcome comfort on a cool, gray November afternoon. The heated floors in the resplendent, marble ensuite had us feeling quite pampered as did the well appointed king sized bed and two cosy arm chairs in which we spent several hours over the weekend, reading and conversing. Breakfast was a feast for all the senses. A colourful compote of perfect, mixed fresh fruits and berries (we counted eight varieties), orange juice, steaming hot coffee, delicious artisan bread selections and tastey hot entrees greeted us in the dining room each morning. All in all, a most delightful time away. Thank you Gary.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaKosloski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

My friends dropped me off for some R&R while they went off to do some other traveling. And even though I was without transportation, it was a great location. The bus stop is right there, which I didn't use. Since I was able to take the short walk to Dundas and enjoy the quaint town with wonderful shops. There was also the trails that Gary directed me to and I was able to see so much of Hamilton that way!
Gary and Sarah were wonderful and their B&B is gorgeous. So many beautiful rooms! I spent my evenings on the comfy couch in the front room, relaxing and reading. And my bedroom had a huge bed, the bathroom heated floors. And the breakfasts - fantastic!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmp523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Osler House is a gem. Old world charm and elegance. The home is warm and inviting. Rooms are beautiful. Gary Fincham is a charming host and his breakfasts are not to be missed. I travel to the area often to visit with friends and would return again to this wonderful spot.

There is plenty to do in the Dundas and surrounding area. Having grown up in the area it is always a delight to return. Osler House is an oasis for sure.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celticangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundas
The Barracks Inn
#1 of 2 in Ancaster
84 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Visitors Inn
#5 of 20 in Hamilton
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
225 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osler House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osler House

Property: Osler House
Address: 30 South St W, Dundas, Hamilton, Ontario L9H 4C5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Dundas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dundas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Osler House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osler House is an historic and elegant Victorian mansion built in 1848 that has been meticulously restored. Once the home of the famous and illustrious Osler family, including Doctor Sir William Osler, it is now operated as an exclusive boutique inn and has hosted many VIP guests including royalty on two occassions. Situated on a 1 1/2 acre quiet and private oasis on the most prestigious street in Dundas, it is just a 5 minute walk to the many shops and restaurants of quaint downtown Dundas; the ideal blend of country quiet and city convenience. Guests are treated to the elegance and pace of a bygone time, from the giant and rare Magnolia tree by the front door, to the house tastefully furnished with a heritage of antiques. Accommodations include exclusive access to the front parlour, billiard and garden rooms,as the owners live in completely separate quarters. Deer and other wildlife are often seen grazing on the lawn while relaxing on the front porch. Yet the house features modern amenities and communications. The complimentary breakfast also evokes a more elegant time; gourmet meals served by candlelight in the formal dining room on fine china and silverware, with pressed linen napkins. McMaster University and medical centre are 5 minutes away, downtown Hamilton is 10 minutes, and both Toronto and Niagara Falls are an hour away. Trails, parks and dozens of waterfalls are all within minutes as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Osler House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing