We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Sand Bay Tea Rooms

Sand Bay Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Kewstoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional English Tea Room offering a wide variety of homemade soups, cakes, freshly prepared (to order) sandwiches, toasties, jacket potatoes and specials. Cream tea's with homemade scones. A wide choice of ice creams and ice cream desserts. Large range of hot and cold drinks. Oustide seating area for up to 28 people and we welcome well behaved dogs! Inside has been opened up so kitchen is on full view. Disabled toilet/outside ramp.
Somerset
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My friends and I popped in and had morning tea and toasted tea cakes.

Very nice and one of my friends had fruit tea (from a nice selection) and also tried some of the pear and almond cake. All very good.

Matt and David friendly as usual.

Thanks.

also thanks to my friends for taking me.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAH4390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    96
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best tea rooms in Weston”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I love this place would visit everyday for lunch if I lived closer there cakes are homemade and was made so welcome I could have stayed all day talking to Matt & Dave can't wait to revisit

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute gem of a place..”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We came across these tea rooms while house hunting in the local area back in September. Absolutely amazing friendly, personable service, we were made to feel very welcome and based on that alone we would have come back here again. The food however was also great, good quality, exactly what we asked for and reasonably priced. This is a definite MUST visit place. Infact we are still house hunting and are timing our next trip down there so that we can specifically have brunch here!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Partypenguin2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice, but service very slow”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Lovely food, once it arrived. Cafe was very busy and dirty plates everywhere. Seemed totally overwhelmed for a sunny afternoon. Having waited 25 minutes for toasted sandwiches they were worth the wait. Will go again just a shame not more hands on deck

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pennswood2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt C, Owner at Sand Bay Tea Rooms, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are very sorry you found the service slow. The Tea Room has been there for about 30 years and as far as we are aware, it has always closed for 5 months of the year from the end of September through to March. We are only in our second season and this is only the 2nd time it has opened during the winter months.

It was exceptionally busy Sunday especially for the time of year and we ended up getting in 3 other members of staff to come in and help. This is very unusual for the winter period.

By the time the 3rd person came in we had started to run out of clean plates, cups and saucers. Normally if this was in the summer, we would have the same level of staff in from the offset so we would have the clearing and washing up under control. As Sunday was so unexpectedly busy, we called in help as things were getting more than a little overwhelming.

Thank you very much for stating the wait was worth it.

It makes a change when things are not found to be "excellent", the reviewer has been honest and fair in their remarks, thank you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great little cafe”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Visited Sand Bay yesterday, January 18th.....Fairly late on in the afternoon but we were delighted to find Sand Bay Tea Rooms still open for business. As it transpires both my partner and I know the owners, though this fact in no way reflects on the quality of food/service/cost and the review you read here !!
Ok, I know some will say that this review must be biased and I can understand people thinking that, but IF you knew me you'd soon realise that if I don't like something I'll make the fact well known and vociferously to boot !!
Both my partner and I chose the Chilli Con Carne with rice. It was cooked from fresh and when it arrived on the table I was pleasantly surprised at the large portion in front of me....and at such a reasonable cost too.
Neither my partner or I would hesitate in visiting again, and indeed we fully intend to when the opportunity arises.
There are few establishments in the vicinity of the Weston super Mare area that are worth eating in.....Sand Bay Tea Rooms stands out as one of the best that the area can offer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nickt979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Bay Tea Rooms also viewed

Kewstoke, Weston super Mare
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 
Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Sand Bay Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing