We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a total success”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were disappointed that there was no drawer space for clothes.The room was adjacent to a kitchen area and we were troubled with noisy extractor fans. The dining room tables at breakfast had tablecloths but in the evening these had been removed to reveal a very battered table with a sticky surface to which your hands adhered to. The bedside table lamp was broken, the shower door was stuck for most of the week but on the last day it had been freed and was positioned outside the bath which was no good for taking a shower. A very small space between the bed and the wall. Also on consecutive nights two people came in late at about 12.30am and first put on the TV very loudly and proceeded to make loud passionate love that the headboard was banging against the wall. I had to contact the duty manager and on both occasions he sorted out the problems. It's the first time I have had to do this and on this evidence I shall not be going to this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank picassoWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I was surprised to read your comments regarding the Commodore hotel, as you can read from the many previous reviews it is a rare occasion that our guests have anything but positive feedback regarding their stay and the hotel facilities. I can only apologise if this was not the case during your visit.

Should you have bought all of your comments to the attention of a member of staff or the duty manager I can assure you that they would have been fully addressed and rectified as to make you stay more comfortable and enjoyable. I was however glad to read that the duty manager was able to assist with any noise disturbance you may have uncounted during your stay.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 372 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is fabulous, right on the beach. It is a bit run down and tired and could do with updating. However, ALL the staff are superb. Really friendly and professional without fail. If you want three star pristine accommodation, this is not for you but location and great staff make up for it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheltfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you found the hotels location fabulous and our staff welcoming, friendly and helpful.

I would like to assure you that the hotel operates a year round refurbishment program and that any areas requiring attention are swiftly rectified in order to offer our guests a more comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Arrived at the hotel on a cold and wet British summers day, The Commodore hotel offers a warm and welcoming atmosphere, with lovely staff who are more than happy to help and were both friendly and charming.

Hotel is across the road from the beach, and has lovely sea views from most rooms.

Accommodation is a little bit dated, but this is more a minor quibble than a real issue. We had 2 rooms, a double and a twin, both reasonable sized and both en-suite, with good sized bath and combined shower. Rooms where reasonably well laid out only issue in the double room that one of the bedside tables stopped the wardrobe door from opening fully.

Breakfast was everything and English breakfast should be, well cooked, excellent service and lovely atmosphere, with a choice of tea or coffee and three types of eggs, Cereals and juices.

One thing i would like to comment on is that for me the bed was to soft, which was great falling to sleep but i suffered in the morning as my back was very sore, hot shower did however remove any lingering pain - i haven't marked down the sleep quality as it was the getting up that was the problem. :)

Room Tip: Room 9 has views over the sea and woodlands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We were all glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel and staff welcoming friendly and helpful. It was also good to read that you took the opportunity to dine with us for breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed the quality and service.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is wonderfully located with seaviews to the front and woodland to the back. The large free car park provided more than ample space. The drive from Weston Supermare to the hotel was always a treat along the lovely coastal road. On arrival we were warmly greeted and shown to our room. The room was clean and facilities such as tea/coffee were replenished daily. Unfortunately the room we were given did not resemble the room indicated on booking.com which was a little disappointing as it was so small. The decor is definitely in need of an update soon but in some ways the view through the window helped to make up for this. The tv was ok but many channels were unavailable due to weak signal (in this age of technology this shouldnt be an issue), the free wifi was easily obtained but we only stayed connected for 10 minutes maximum - again something which should not be an issue. We also only picked up welsh local news but I am guessing this is perplexing and frustrating for tourists and locals alike in this area!
We dined once in the restaurant which was located in the bar area. We couldnt work out if this was a permanant arrangement or whether it was because ,for the best part of the week ,they seemed to be setting up in what looked like the restaurant area for a function. The tables were quite sticky which would have benefited from a good clean . The food however was very nice and I cannot fault this. I do feel I need to mention that , although someone was there to greet us on arrival, for most of the rest of the time the reception was not manned and we either had to ring the bell or dial '0' for attention. I am absolutely sure this isnt the fault of the staff working at the hotel as they were always very pleasant (and this includes our maid who always had a cheery 'good morning'. They are very short staffed and this is very evident to all guests. This is note to management really - they need more help! All in all we had a comfortable stay with a few niggles which I feel sure can be easily rectified. Thank you.

Room Tip: Perhaps to check first if the room is going to match the picture on the site through which you booke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel and staff welcoming, friendly and helpful.

We take all feedback and customer comments very seriously in order to maintain and improve our standards and services, along with anticipating the changing needs of all our guests to ensure a more comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel was good value for money. Perhaps a little dated but very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was awesome as was the location, it was literally over the road from the beach. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peaches M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel and staff very welcoming and friendly. Many of our guests positively comment on the hotels stunning location across from the beach and local woodland walks nearby.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Excellent breakfasts, friendly staff, good dinner menu, variable standard from night to night. Room had all you would want and nice views, shower was a dribble. An hours walk from Weston pier, but there is a bus service. As we were out of season, we were able to drive into Weston and park in the 24hr car park for £5.50, which meant we could come and go as we pleased, but parking would be a problem when the resort was busier. Value for money 10/10.

Room Tip: Maybe, generally speaking, shower power throughout is low, room 7 certainly was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel and staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. It was also good to read that you took the opportunity to dine with us and enjoyed our extensive dinner and Carvery menus.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is situated down a small winding road, tucked away from the main town. The town itself is within easy driving distance. Right opposite, just 2 steps over the road is the beach with a lovely sea view. The staff are exceptional, very friendly & polite, making you feel very welcome. The hotel is not modern by any means and perhaps could do with a little updating, eg, the shower only produced a dribble, however, it is cosy and comfortable, rather like a village inn. The food is superb, a wide choice available and beautifully cooked. I chose the carvery and the leeks in cheese sauce were fabulous. I am a big fan of the Toby Carvery, but the vegetables at The Commodore were super tasty. All areas were spotlessly clean. It was very pleasant to sit outside after a long drive with a cool pint listening to the birds.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel and staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. It was also good to read that you took the opportunity to dine with us and enjoyed your experience of our Carvery and restaurant.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewstoke
1.4 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#18 of 28 in Weston super Mare
612 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston super Mare
867 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston super Mare
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston super Mare
268 reviews
1.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston super Mare
452 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston super Mare
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: Beach Rd | Sandbay, Kewstoke, Weston super Mare BS22 9UZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare > Kewstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Price Range: $52 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weston's highest rated hotel, the Commodore, is set in sand bay, only a stones throw from the beach. Ideally situated on the beautiful coastline overlooking the estuary towards the Welsh coast with local woodland walks nearby.All bedrooms are furnished to a high standard with the majority offering sea views. All rooms have private facilities, hospitality tray, radio, colour TVs, direct dial telephone and complimentary WiFi. The Commodore Lounge Bar and Carvery Restaurant offer a variety of home cooked dishes and daily specials including 2 for 1 main meals and combines a friendly and efficient service with a warm hospitable welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Weston Super Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing