We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away.”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tucked away.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is situated down a small winding road, tucked away from the main town. The town itself is within easy driving distance. Right opposite, just 2 steps over the road is the beach with a lovely sea view. The staff are exceptional, very friendly & polite, making you feel very welcome. The hotel is not modern by any means and perhaps could do with a little updating, eg, the shower only produced a dribble, however, it is cosy and comfortable, rather like a village inn. The food is superb, a wide choice available and beautifully cooked. I chose the carvery and the leeks in cheese sauce were fabulous. I am a big fan of the Toby Carvery, but the vegetables at The Commodore were super tasty. All areas were spotlessly clean. It was very pleasant to sit outside after a long drive with a cool pint listening to the birds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel and staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. It was also good to read that you took the opportunity to dine with us and enjoyed your experience of our Carvery and restaurant.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    105
    65
    35
    39
See reviews for
88
157
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Me and my partner booked this hotel on a whim for a quick mini break. We were hugely impressed with it all. Our room was on the small side but accommodated a comfortable double bed, tea and coffee facilities, cupboards and en suite bathroom. The cleanliness was impeccable, everything has that "just-washed" feel our bathroom was well cleaned and filled with lots of helpful notes. (Note: putting the shower head in the bath for a few minutes before you shower DOES help boost the water pressure)

If you're a beach lover this is an absolute gem of a hotel, A quick walk across the road and up a sand dune takes you to the sand bay. It's beautiful, plenty of parking, benches and local shops. A quick 5 minute drive away from the town of Weston-Super-Mare along beautiful coast line and forestry. You can supposedly walk into the town but it would take you a good hour up a hill.

We did not take advantage of the food served from the Commodore as It was very busy on our day. We we're informed on arrival that the onsite carvery was fully booked in the evening but we would have priority entrance once a party had left. However I am vegetarian so we decided it would be best to eat somewhere else. Breakfast will set you back and extra £8/per person. Rather costly so we did not go for it.

Overall we had a wonderful time. it was incredible value for money. the staff were friendly and welcoming. We would highly recommend it to anyone for a short break

Room Tip: Rooms with a coastal view will cost extra, Our room was above the carvery and there was live music u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you would highly recommend the hotel to others visiting the area.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This Hotel was a real surprise, all the staff were very friendly, we were shown to our room which was of a high standard and very clean, and the room had a sea view. The location was excellent and we enjoyed walking along the sand dunes. The catering was first class, and was served in a lovely restaurant, as for the breakfast it was out of this world, we ate in the restaurant in the evenings the Carvery and the meals from the menu were excellent with lots of choice. We found Weston super Mare to be a bit outdated, but the Commodore Hotel made up for its shortfall. We shall return one day.

Room Tip: We asked to be upgraded to a room with a sea view and were more than pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the opportunity to dine with in our restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. I have passed on your kind comments to all that helped make your stay so enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

stayed at the commodore hotel in the easter hols , when we arrived we were welcomed by very friendly staff .with the weather being so cold the hotel and rooms were very warm and cosy. The rooms were very clean and spacious bed excellent very comfortable good nights sleep.We ate in the restaurant the food was excellent good portions and good value for money lots of choices and there was also a carvery available reccomend the beer battered cod and also the plaice once again the staff we so friendly.in the restaurant and also the bar staff. .After a good evening and a quiet nights stay .The breakfast was excellent cereals toast and a full english breakfast was brilliant lots to eat The hotel was in sunny bay Kewstoke it was very quiet and clean and had a very large beach it was about 10 mins from weston super mare.We will return again this year we had a really good time. at the commodore hotel ITS .A MUST..TO STAY .

Room Tip: All the rooms looked spacious and were sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your Easter Break with us and that you found the hotel and restaurant excellent and the facilities very comfortable. Our staff pride themselves on their friendliness and attentiveness and they are always happy to help.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Upon walking in to check in, I wanted to walk out but my shoes were already stuck to the carpets! I was taken to my room for the night overlooking the mud (beach) where i instantly had to switch on the poorly wired electric heaters to save myself from hypothermia. Looking like something out of a 1980's horror movie with the bathroom decor to match, I could only have wished that Doc Brown was there to take me back to the future to see if it ever did or would look like a suitable establishment to stay in? I was travelling alone but not for long as the guests next door arrived and I could hear every word they said and felt like I had enjoyed there 1 minute of passion as much as she did! I went to the bar, it was dreary, scary and filled with some of Britains finest from the local caravan park that were ravenous for an all you can eat carvery, they were in heaven, i was in hell!

After venturing out, I got myself extremely intoxicated so that upon my as late as possible return I would sleep straight through to enable me to get up and run home as fast as my car would take me! £80 for that,........... I have stayed in better B&B's!!!

Room Tip: Yeah,........ choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foodylover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. As you can see from our latest reviews 19 out of 21 have rated the Commodore hotel at 4 stars or higher, which are all unbiased and based on the service and facilities the hotel has offered and supplied to past guests.

We operate an on-going commitment to the refurbishment of the hotel and the level of customer service we offer, which is accepted and appreciated by the many patrons of the hotel and local residents alike. With regards to the Beach (mud, as you proclaimed) I would just like to point out that Weston Super Mare hosts the annual Sand Sculpture festival with a wide variety of displays and complex designs which is a must see for anybody visiting the area and also Sand Bay Beach is made up of sand and shingle, with a saltmarsh at the northern end, adjacent to the National Trust headland at Sand Point which is very popular with all visitors.

I would also like to point out that like all commercial properties we have an annual PAT test on all electrical equipment and every item used or available for use by our guests is fully compliant, if we find any issues we rectify them immediately or dispose of the faulty item.

This is the first instance I can recall where a guest has commented on any noise disturbance from another room and I can only apologise if this was the case during your stay.

We always extend our hospitality to all who choose to visit the hotel and make use of our facilities and offers, such as our very popular Carvery which is open all year round and available in addition to our other many menu items. Should you have chosen to dine with us I am sure that you would have commented favorably on the quality of the dish and service you would have received.

I would like to take this opportunity to say that we take all guest feedback seriously and always take into consideration any constructive comments in order to maintain and improve our standards.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kewstoke hotels

Folkestone
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We wanted somewhere that would take Superbreak vouchers, which we had received as a Christmas gift, and also within reasonable distance of Wells Cathedral, which we were anxious to see. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, breakfast was excellent and the evening meals very good in quality and price. We needed a walk-in shower, which was duly provided, and the bedroom was of adequate size with twin beds. Only downsides we found were dust on pipework in en-suite, and a grubby backside to the shower mat. Would certainly revisit this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 5, no knowledge of other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and would certainly revisit in the future. I have passed on your comments to the housekeepers and also all members of staff that helped make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at this hotel. The rooms are comfortable and warm. The breakfast was good and evening menu had a good choice at a reasonable price. The staff were friendly and were a credit to the hotel. Would stay here again and would recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beve123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff friendly and a credit to the hotel. I was also glad to read that you took the opportunity to dine with us for both breakfast and dinner. I have passed on your kind comments to the hotel manager and all the staff that helped make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewstoke
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston super Mare
415 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston super Mare
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston super Mare
805 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston super Mare
244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston super Mare
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: Beach Rd | Sandbay, Kewstoke, Weston super Mare BS22 9UZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare > Kewstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weston's highest rated hotel, the Commodore, is set in sand bay, only a stones throw from the beach. Ideally situated on the beautiful coastline overlooking the estuary towards the Welsh coast with local woodland walks nearby.All bedrooms are furnished to a high standard with the majority offering sea views. All rooms have private facilities, hospitality tray, radio, colour TVs, direct dial telephone and complimentary WiFi. The Commodore Lounge Bar and Carvery Restaurant offer a variety of home cooked dishes and daily specials including 2 for 1 main meals and combines a friendly and efficient service with a warm hospitable welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Weston Super Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing